Welcome
Welcome to the Nursing 305 LibGuide!
This LibGuide will help you navigate the library research process by focusing on resources and information that will benefit your research needs. You will gain research experience through tutorials and hands-on activities. You will also have access to scholarly databases and other resources to support your research.
How to use this LibGuide
Use the tabs listed above to access content featured in the LibGuide. Some pages contain additional information. You will see a drop-down menu with the information listed.
If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact me directly at (225)771-2604.
CLICK THE LINK BELOW FOR YOUR NURSING HANDOUT
- Nursing 305 Library Resources and Services HandoutThis handout is designed specifically for nursing undergraduate students giving you a list of nursing databases, library services and other useful information.
Login Information
You will be prompted to enter a USER NAME and PIN to view and complete the Learning Modules and to access library databases off-campus. (See the image below). This information verifies you as a Southern University Student and registered library user.
REQUIRED LOGIN CREDENTIALS
USER NAME=BANNER NUMBER (Example: U0123456)
PIN=CHANGEME
Associate Professor/Head Technology & Information Services Librarian
The Concise APA Handbook: APA 7th Edition
The Concise APA Handbook by
"Most students struggle with learning how to find references, use them effectively, and cite them appropriately in a required format. One of the most common formats is that of APA. The authors all have vast experience teaching writing courses to various levels of students from undergraduates to graduates in other countries. However, there was lacking a book that could explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language, because the information is presented in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that make sense to both native and non-native English speaking student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this important information that is concise and easy to understand."--
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781648021831Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Plagiarism Prevention
Using Sources Effectively by
Now in its fifth, expanded edition, Using Sources Effectively, Fifth Edition targets the two most prominent problems in current research-paper writing: the increase in unintentional plagiarism and the ineffective use of research source material. Designed as a supplementary textbook for both undergraduate and graduate courses, this book will help every student who uses research in writing. Included in this edition are coverage of research strategies and source selection (Chapter 2), a chapter on quoting sources effectively (Chapter 4), and a chapter on sentence patterns (Chapter 10). APA and MLA citation styles have been updated throughout the text. To the student: This book was written to give you the knowledge and tools you can use to make your research-based writing more powerful and effective. Here are some examples: Mini-Research Projects at the end of each chapter to sharpen your research and evaluation skills A set of practical, useful rhetorical devices to help improve the clarity and impact of your writing Increased emphasis on synthesis writing--weaving source use into your own thinking--to give your writing more interest and persuasive power Instruction in close reading to help you better grasp what an author is discussing or arguing Strategies for organizing and positioning your sources to strengthen your central argument.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781351971935Publication Date: 2017-01-20
Library Chat
APA Style 7th Edition
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
APA 7th Edition is located at the Ask Here Desk located on the 1st Floor of the Library.
- Introducing the Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style tutorial Users of APA Style around the world can view this tutorial for free to learn about seventh edition APA Style. All are welcome to link to this tutorial from their own websites or library guides as well. The seventh edition basics tutorial is adapted from the tutorial featured in Academic Writer®, APA’s tool for teaching and learning effective writing. The tutorial is designed for writers who are new to APA Style. It covers the basics of seventh edition APA Style, including paper elements, format, and organization;academic writing style;grammar and usage;bias-free language;mechanics of style (e.g., punctuation, capitalization, italics, and abbreviations);tables and figures;in-text citations, paraphrasing, and quotations; andreference list format and order.
- The Concise APA Handbook by
"Most students struggle with learning how to find references, use them effectively, and cite them appropriately in a required format. One of the most common formats is that of APA. The authors all have vast experience teaching writing courses to various levels of students from undergraduates to graduates in other countries. However, there was lacking a book that could explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language, because the information is presented in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that make sense to both native and non-native English speaking student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this important information that is concise and easy to understand."--
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781648021831Publication Date: 2021-02-01
- APA 7th Edition Resources LibGuideThe LibGuide include handouts, tutorials, videos and more on APA 7th Edition.