Login Information
Login Information
You will be prompted to enter a USER NAME and PIN to view and complete the Learning Modules and to access library databases off-campus. (See the image below). This information verifies you as a Southern University Student and registered library user.
REQUIRED LOGIN CREDENTIALS
USER NAME=BANNER NUMBER (Example: U0123456)
PIN=CHANGEME
Medical Dictionaries
-
Black's Medical Dictionary
by
Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.It contains over 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over 1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations. This new edition contains new material on: - HPV vaccine : the vaccine now given to all young girls to protect against cervical cancer - Monoclonal Antibodies: the `designer' drugs of the future- The new guidelines for fibroid treatment- Endoscopy and laparoscopy - the more and more widely used types of keyhole surgery- Coronary angioplasty: the emergency tretament of heart attacks- The latest on MRSA and stem cell research
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781408145647Publication Date: 2009-09-30 -
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research
by
Designated a Doody's Core Title Praise for the previous edition: This reference is valuable to scholars at all levels of nursing and is especially useful to researchers. . . . With this volume at hand consumers of research and theory will learn more easily and quickly.Molly (Mickey) Dougherty, PhD, RN Professor of Nursing, University of North Carolina Editor, Nursing Research What distinguishes this Dictionary from others are its attention to the diversity in inquiry and distinctively nursing 'takes' on key concepts in theory and research. This Dictionary will be a welcome addition to the libraries of both new and experienced researchers." Margarete Sandelowski Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.Key features: Includes new and updated entries on developing national and international research trends, such as translational research, implementation science, and comparative effectiveness research Contains content related to high-priority research areas, such as biological and biobehavioral research, outcomes research, health services research, and participatory models of research Presents cross-references and citations from relevant multinational nursing and interdisciplinary literature sources Incorporates information based on the scrutiny of students and faculty to ensure utmost clarity
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780826106650Publication Date: 2010-12-01 -
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
by
Understand and correctly use all the latest terminology in today's ever-evolving medical field with the 32nd Edition of the comprehensive, highly respected Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary! Thoroughly updated, this user-friendly reference-trusted for more than a century by healthcare personnel at every professional level-allows you to grasp the meanings of all medical terms in current usage. It delivers more total entries than in any other dictionary of its kind, including several thousand new words, as well as 500 new illustrations to aid your understanding. Plus, with the bonus CD-ROM, you can listen to 35,000 audio pronunciations! And you can consult the dictionary anytime, anywhere online with free access to www.Dorlands.com. Easily stay up with the changing terminology in your field by depending on Dorland's-the most reliable medical dictionary available today! Enhance your understanding of all the current medical terminology in your field by relying on the most comprehensive and highly respected medical dictionary, bringing you more than 120,000 well-defined entries and 1500 clear illustrations. Listen to 35,000 audio pronunciations. Search www.Dorlands.com on the Internet anytime, anywhere for all of the language integral to contemporary medicine. Make sure you're familiar with the very latest medical terms used today with more than 5,500 new entries drawn from current sources. Complement your understanding of new words and ideas in medicine with 500 new illustrations Get more information in a smaller amount of space as the revised entry format includes related parts of speech. Dorland's: The first and last word in medicine for over 110 years
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781416062578Publication Date: 2011-05-02 -
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy
by
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level. Be expertly guided through the choppy waters of medical terminology ... NEW and updated content clarifies medical terminology concepts with clear definitions and illustrations Explains the meanings, roots, and pronunciation of terms as used in everyday practice, including: Names for all major body systems: skeletal, muscular, integumentary, cardiovascular, respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary, reproductive, neurologic, endocrine, blood and lymphatic, and sensory systems Terms and phrases used in maternal health, pharmacology, and mental health Breaks down complex medical terms into recognizable components--common prefixes, roots, and suffixes--to help you identify the meaning of any term Offers a strong anatomy and physiology overview backed by numerous images, including a large image of each organ system Chapter features provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Vocabulary builders --end-of-chapter games such as crossword puzzles, matching roots and prefixes to their correct meanings, and fill-in-the-blank sentences to help you retain learning Pump up your pronunciation --phonetic spellings make it easy to pronounce complex terms Anatomically speaking --anatomy illustrations, with pronunciations of key terms Memory jogger --stories and tools that support retention "Nurse Joy"and "Jake" --explain key concepts and offer friendly problem-solving tips Beyond the dictionary --learn the origins of words, to help you remember word roots and dissect meanings The real world --explains informal terms used in daily practice About the Clinical Editor David Woodruff, MSN, RN-BC, CNS, CNE, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence, Chamberlain College of Nursing, in Cleveland, Ohio.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781496374073Publication Date: 2017-12-19 -
Melloni's Pocket Illustrated Medical Dictionary
by
The Melloni series of medical dictionaries are famous for their concise definitions and detailed illustrations. And Melloni's Pocket Medical Dictionary: Illustrated is no exception. A condensed and portable version of the award-winning and highly acclaimed Mellonis's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, the book features a wide range of beautifully drawn and carefully labeled illustrations to accompany the large number of expert and concise medical definitions. The pocketbook takes the most important qualities of the 4th Edition, reduces its size without sacrificing accuracy and clarity, and adds the most current information. When you can't take the big book with you, this book provides the information you need where you need it.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781842140512Publication Date: 2003-12-02 -
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
by
A reference for health care clinicians and students, that takes account of the integration of alternative and complementary approaches into standard western medical care, defining terms relating to herbal remedies and traditional cures from other cultures.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780803612075Publication Date: 2005-03-17 -
The Words of Medicine
by
Robert Fortuine is currently Professor in the Biomedical Program at the University of Alaska Anchorage and Clinical Professor of Family, Medicine at the University of Washington.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780398071332Publication Date: 2001-04-01
Medical Encyclopedias
-
Encyclopedia of Nursing (6 Volume Set)
by
This six-volume set presents important research on nursing. Some of the topics discussed herein include: advanced practice nursing; the nursing workforce; nurse practitioners; physician assistants; certification and licensure; psychiatric-mental health nursing; rehabilitation; nursing education and nursing students; bioengineering nursing; immunisation for healthcare workers.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781536177978Publication Date: 2020-07-22 -
Encyclopedia of Nursing Education
by
Written by luminaries in the field of nursing education, this is the only current and comprehensive compendium of important topics in nursing education. It contains more than 175 detailed entries, and will be a valuable reference text for doctoral- and master's-level nursing students, nursing faculty, university and hospital libraries worldwide, and hospital nursing departments and schools. The listing of entries has been carefully culled from recent nursing literature and six volumes of the Annual Review of Nursing Education. Each entry follows a standard template that includes definition, application in nursing education, a synopsis including a brief summary of what is in the literature on the topic, and a concluding summary discussing future development in nursing education. Listings are alphabetized for easy access, and are accompanied by a comprehensive reference list. KEY FEATURES: The only current compendium of important topics in nursing education Includes all topics relevant to nursing education based on a review of the literature Alphabetized and consistently formatted for easy access to information Includes comprehensive reference lists per topic Written by expert nurse educators A listing of teaching topics compiled by the editors is available to instructors
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780826120311Publication Date: 2015-01-01 -
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
by
Named a 2013 Doody's Essential Purchase Named a "Choice Outstanding Academic Title" for 2007 and an "AJN Book of the Year The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice. Pithy entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives, and will be a starting point for future content and references. Nurse researchers, educators, students, and all clinical specialties will find the encyclopedia an important introduction to the breadth of nursing research today. New topics include NIH-funded research areas, a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals, addictions care, palliative care, translational science, simulation, trauma care, family-centered care, mild cognitive impairment, active surveillance for cancer care, workplace and empowerment research, nurse engagement, nurse-physician collaboration, CAM and empowerment research, spirituality, synthesis and action research, mixed methods research, systematic review, ethnopharmacology, and more. Key Features: Includes NIH-funded research topics Provides a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals Adds over 20 new areas of research and updates original entries Written by over 200 nursing research experts Organized alphabetically for easy access to information
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780826107503Publication Date: 2011-07-01 -
Encyclopedia of Pharmacology Research
by
This book presents current research in the study of pharmacology. Topics discussed include antidepressants therapy; monitoring antidepressant therapy by using heart rate variability; tianeptine and sertraline; gender differences in response to antidepressants; organotin polyethers as anticancer drugs; geldanamycin derivatives as promising anticancer drugs; design of novel anticancer drugs utilising busulfan for optimising pharmacological properties; advances in drug discovery to assess cholinergic neurotransmission; models of intestinal drug permeability and pharmacopoeial quality of antimicrobial and antiviral formations.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781614703839Publication Date: 2012-09-01 -
Encyclopedia of Public Health
by
Providing context to today's public health practices and broad coverage of topics, this book demonstrates how cross-disciplinary studies are critical to addressing current health issues. The concepts of public health and the methods we use to care for and promote the health of people in communities, groups, and our nation as a whole are of interest to all health professionals. Comprising contributions from historians, scholars, researchers, sociologists, and other public health professionals, the Encyclopedia of Public Health: Principles, People, and Programs offers a firsthand, in-depth view of public health as it applies to everyday life and practice. The encyclopedia contains a wealth of information on critical theories, people, and movements and shows how various disciplines can work together to create healthy communities and practices for many people. As a secondary objective, the book encourages future generations to actively participate in public health. This reference covers the defining moments in the development of public health, from ancient times to the modern day, and offers entries with historical information and examinations of current controversies as they relate to recurring social conflicts. The entries provide a breadth and depth of content that is accessible to a wide readership. Readers will understand the benefits of physical activity and good nutrition as well as the psychology behind the choices that we make and how early life and social experiences can influence behaviors even decades after the event. The wide variety of topics covered includes the life expectancy of Americans at birth, the Tuskegee syphilis study, and marijuana use, and will give readers an informed perspective on past public health successes and likely directions for the future. Presents complex health issues in ways that encourage readers to pursue the many different opportunities in the field of public health Supplies insights from contributors that include experts on diseases such as hepatitis, substance abuse prevention, the history of medicine, and neurology Provides a functional foundation for those working to improve the health of communities or individuals Identifies relevant connections between physical, social, and emotional health and well-being to everyday life Serves as a gateway to additional research and study by providing suggested further readings with each entry
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781610699822Publication Date: 2018-06-08 -
From Anesthesia to X-Rays
by
Easy to read and to use, this A-to-Z mini-encyclopedia covers the most important medical innovations of the last 200 years.Medical innovation is an extremely important topic--and one to which relatively little study has been devoted. This volume is designed to introduce readers to the history and development of key advances in the science and practice of medicine. It explores issues in medical history and provides perspective on contemporary scientific research and innovation. It also provides a backdrop against which to evaluate current headlines, such as the discoveries of live samples of smallpox virus in an unused storage room at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and incidents of bubonic plague in China and Colorado.Although the entries in this single-volume resource describe how each innovation works, this is not intended as a technical text. Instead, the focus is on the context in which each innovation was developed and on its lasting importance in the field of medicine. Through these fascinating accounts, readers will be able to trace the evolution and legacy of key innovations and to see how other sectors of society--such as industry and the military--have affected and been affected by advances in the field of medicine.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781610695732Publication Date: 2016-11-28 -
Human Medical Experimentation
by
Intended for students and general readers alike, this encyclopedia covers the history of human medical experimentation, for better and worse, from the time of Hippocrates to the present.Thanks to medical experiments performed on human subjects, we now have vaccines against smallpox, rabies, and polio. Yet the advances that saved lives too often involved the exploitation of vulnerable populations. Covering the history of human medical experimentation from the time of Hippocrates to today, this work will introduce readers to the topic through a mixture of essays and ready-reference materials. The book covers the experiments themselves; the people, companies, and government agencies that carried them out; the relevant medical and sociopolitical background; and the legislation and other protective measures that arose as a result. The encyclopedia is divided chronologically into six periods: pre-19th century, the 19th century, the pre-World War II 20th century, the World War II era, the Cold War era, and the post-Cold War period to today. Each period begins with an introductory essay and ends with a bibliography. Alphabetically arranged entries in each section cover pertinent people, experiments, and topics. The volume is enriched throughout with a wealth of primary sources, such as physicians' descriptions of their experiments. Medical experiments are not just a thing of the past, and readers will also learn about questions and debates related to contemporary efforts to advance medical science.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781610698979Publication Date: 2017-01-16 -
Medical Tests in Context
by
This encyclopedia examines more than 125 of the most important and commonly performed medical tests, providing readers with information about how and why they are performed and how each test contributes to monitoring health and diagnosing and treating medical conditions.Whether it's to proactively monitor health, diagnose a condition, or assess how well a particular treatment is working, we all undergo a variety of medical tests throughout our lives. While these tests provide valuable information for doctors and patients, they can sometimes carry significant risks, provide ambiguous or incorrect results, or raise more questions than they answer. Contrary to what some may think, medical testing isn't a simple "yes or no" science carried out by computers in a lab--it is a dynamic process that relies heavily on human detective work and interpretation. Medical Tests in Context: Innovations and Insights highlights more than 125 tests performed across a wide range of medical specialties. Each entry in this encyclopedia follows a standardized format that provides readers with information about how, when, and why the test is conducted; the preparation and risks; how results are determined and where errors might occur; and its history. A collection of case studies offers real-world examples of the successes--and shortcomings--of medical testing.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781440860973Publication Date: 2019-10-07 -
Nursing Leadership
by
A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership. This second edition has been expanded to encompass 80 new entries and revisions or updates to all original entries. It provides an extensive overview of current leadership issues including theories, characteristics, and skills required of nurse leaders in today's complex health care system. Highly respected contributors include Claire Fagan, Beverly Malone (NLN CEO), Polly Bednash (AACN CEO), Patricia Benner, and many others. For ease of use this new edition contains both alphabetic and thematic indexes, extensive cross-referencing, and print and web references for each entry. The new edition features: Thematic list of entries in addition to alphabetic index An extensive overview on salient nursing leadership issues, themes, characteristics, and current and future developments A "legacies" section on nursing luminaries throughout history Over 80 new entries and updates and revisions of original entries Extensive cross-referencing and print and web resources for each entry
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780826121769Publication Date: 2011-10-01
