John B. Cade Library
Below you will find a complete list of nursing databases available at John B. Cade Library. Each database features the title of the database, as well as a description. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me: Email: maletta_payne@subr.edu
Telephone Number (225)771-2604.
-
Search for an electronic journal by titleUse library publications to search for titles of journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and much more.
-
Databases A to Z ListClick here to view a complete list of databases John B. Cade Library subscribes to.
-
Quantitative Research Synonyms259 other terms for quantitative research- words and phrases with similar meaning to expand your database search strategies.
-
Topics in Nursing and Health Professions ScienceDirect provides coverage of all areas of Nursing and Health Professions including Nursing Procedures, Patient Social Context, Nursing Education, Nursing Care and Nursing Research to help get you up to speed with new and unfamiliar concepts in your area of interest. Browse the Topics list or complete a keyword search to discover more.
Technical Assistance
If you have any problems accessing databases remotely please contact the Ask Here Desk at (225)771-2841, or the Systems and Technology Office at (225)771-2604.
The EZProxy system allows off-campus access to information resources that are restricted to Southern University students, staff, and faculty. If you use electronic resources from an on-campus computer, your computer is identified as being on the campus network and you can access resources seamlessly. EZProxy allows your off-campus computer to be identified as a part of the university network.
If you are not on-campus you will prompted by EZProxy to enter the following:
User Name =BANNER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER
Example: U0123456
PIN=CHANGEME
Technical Support
PubMed
-
PubMed Conduct your search using PubMed from this link.
Core Nursing Databases
-
Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database makes essential age-related content available to gerontology researchers. Those interested in geriatrics will benefit from this resource, which includes records covering areas in geriatric studies.
-
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of approaches to health and wellness. It provides the latest information for the practice of holistic medicine and therapies, with in-depth coverage of complementary and alternative medicine.
-
APA PsycINFO (Formerly PsychInfo) This link opens in a new window
From the American Psychological Association. Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 24 languages. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nursing and allied health journals, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937. Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and most effective treatment options.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a database collection containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library is owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley. See what’s new on the Cochrane Library.
-
Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text offers a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works since 1997, along with selected full text works written prior to 1997.
-
eBook Medicine Collection (SpringerLink) This link opens in a new windowThe Medicine eBook Collection is designed to provide clinically relevant information to all members of the patient-care team, an integral part of delivering first-rate, comprehensive care.
-
eBook Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
eBook Nursing Collection features more than six hundred hand-selected, quality e-books that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks, and professional growth titles.
-
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
HaPI contains a wide range of records that provide comprehensive, accurate information about a variety of measurement instruments: Checklists, Coding Schemes, Indexes, Interview schedules, projective techniques, questionnaires, rating scales, surveys, test, vignettes/scenarios.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides over five hundred scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry and many more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
-
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for hundreds of medical journals. Content Includes: Full-text for more than 2,400 journals Full-text coverage dating back to 1865 Ongoing full text and deep backfile coverage for many key journals Subjects Include: Biomedicine, Pre-Clinical Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Bioengineering, Health Policy Development, Life Science, and much more…
-
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) formerly Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new windowNursing & Allied Health Premium provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 1,200 titles, with over 1,050 titles in full-text, plus more than 15,700 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
-
OvidSP This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly nursing journals. Access Full-text articles that give in-depth research regarding numerous nursing-related topics and relevant medical research.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
-
Science Direct This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is home to almost one-quarter of the world's peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. Over 15 million researchers, health care professionals, teachers, students and information professionals around the globe rely on ScienceDirect as a trusted source of nearly 2,200 journals and more than 26,000 book titles.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a global data and business intelligence platform with extensive statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries. Established in Germany in 2007, Statista operates in 13 locations worldwide and employs 1,100 professionals.
Secondary Databases
-
Academic Search CompleteThis database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. The level and range of content included in this resource fully supports scholarly research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
-
Mental Measurement YearbookProduced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this database provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
-
E-Book CollectionThe eBook Collection provides access to full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers. These eBooks are digital versions of print books from a broad range of subject areas and topics. In many cases, the eBook copy is the only copy of the book owned by the library although in some cases a local print copy is also available.
-
Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new windowEBSCO Discovery Service offers you a single access point to searching a vast range of our library's resources. In addition to the library holdings you can search in thousands of journals and in all EBSCO databases.
-
WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries.
-
Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowSocial Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.