Archives, Manuscripts and Rare Books Department (AMRBD): Digital Online Collections

The University Archives preserves official institutional records, documents, publications, photographs, and audio-visual media that intricately document the history of Southern University and A&M College. Within the Southern University Archives reside rare and distinctive materials, encompassing records chronicling the history of Southern University. Additionally, there are unique manuscript and digital collections, each offering valuable educational resources on specific and relevant subjects.

Records of The Past

The collection comprises photographic prints and negatives, spanning a diverse range of images. These photographs, primarily taken by the Office of Communications, Department of Athletics, and other campus departments, have been featured in numerous university publications over the years, often captured by staff photographers.

Student Life & Culture

This curated reference collection comprises materials from Southern University's Division of Student Affairs and Student Leadership & Engagement, spanning from around 1924 to 1960. Included are profiles, handbooks, correspondence, clippings, flyers, newsletters, composite photographs, and miscellaneous writings, providing a glimpse into student life within Greek letter societies at Southern University. General topics explored encompass rush activities, alcohol policies, hazing, critiques of the Greek system, and issues related to chapter establishment and governance.

• The Southern Digest, managed by students, serves as the newspaper of Southern University and A&M College. Initially dubbed the "Southern University Letter," its inaugural edition was unveiled on March 23, 1927. Since then, it has been officially titled "The Southern Digest."

• Founded in 1880 in New Orleans, Louisiana, Southern University relocated to Scotlandville, Louisiana, in 1914. The Southern University's yearbooks made their debut in 1928, showcasing three distinct Iterations over time, including "The Cat," "Jaguar," and "The Jaguar."

Manuscript Collections

The Manuscript Collections of the Archives department include an original series of Slave narratives compiled by John B. Cade, as well as a Louisiana Works Progress Administration compilation of Slave narratives, historical materials, presidential papers, and a variety of political materials such as public official correspondence, pamphlets, and clippings. To View the Manuscript Collections on ArchivEra click here.

Rare & Unique Book Collection

The Rare and Unique Book Collections of the Archives Department showcases a wide variety of exceptional items. These encompass publications from renowned presses, signed or limited editions, fine arts volumes or portfolios embellished with plates; historically significant works; items in outstanding physical condition or content; and rare, unique, delicate, or irreplaceable pieces.

• The Book of Kells is an illuminated manuscript and Celtic Gospel book in Latin, encompassing the four Gospels of the New Testament along with various prefatory texts and tables. Regarded as one of Ireland's foremost national treasures, it is renowned for its elaborate artwork, decorative elements, and exquisite calligraphy. Thought to have been created around the 9th century, potentially within a monastery in Ireland, the Book of Kells is celebrated for its vivid colors, intricate interlace patterns, and meticulous illustrations. It stands as a pinnacle of medieval manuscript art and resides within the Trinity College Library in Dublin, where it is publicly exhibited.
• In the 1930s, during a visit to the campus of Southern University and A&M College, Langston Hughes autographed a copy of his book "The Negro Mother and Other Dramatic Recitations."Top of Form

ArchivEra

ArchivEra is an archival collections management and integrated portal application designed to streamline the management of archives. The Southern University Archives Digital Collections include rare or distinctive resources that have been digitized or, are originally in digital format. These materials are sourced from the University Archives Department, its broader collection, or occasionally from community collaborators. They are curated for inclusion in the Digital Collections to enable online access, supporting the research endeavors of academic communities and the wider public. Our Digital Collections encompass a variety of materials such as manuscripts, photographs, periodicals, newspapers, oral histories, sound recordings, and printed materials. To access our digital collections, click here.

HBCU Library Alliance

The HBCU Library Alliance is a consortium of libraries at Historically Black Colleges and Universities. Founded in 2002 by deans and directors of libraries at HBCUs, the consortium comprises over 100 member organizations.

Celebrating the Collections of Historically Black Colleges and Universities is a compilation of primary resources from HBCU libraries and archives. It includes thousands of digital objects that represent HBCU libraries' first collaborative effort to make a historic collection digitally available. Collections are contributed from member libraries of the Historically Black College and University Library Alliance. 

To access the Southern University and A&M College collection click here.

To access collections from all other institutions, click here.

Louisiana Digital Library

The Louisiana Digital Library (LDL) is an online library of more than 400,000 digital items from Louisiana archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories, making unique historical treasures accessible to students, researchers, and the general public in Louisiana and across the globe. The items in the Louisiana Digital Library are as diverse and interesting as the people and places in Louisiana, with photographs, maps, manuscript materials, books, oral histories, and more documenting the state’s history and culture.

Southern University is proud to offer two collections accessible on the LDL.

• The Harper's Weekly, A Journal of Civilization, and The Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper.

The Harper's Weekly, A Journal of Civilization, was an American political magazine based in New York City. Published by Harper & Brothers from 1857 until 1916, it featured foreign and domestic news, fiction, essays on various subjects, and humor, alongside illustrations. In addition to news and feature articles, the magazine's humor column, cartoons, and advertisements illustrate how slavery permeated popular culture. The Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper, later renamed Leslie's Weekly, was an American illustrated literary and news magazine founded in 1855 and published until 1922. It was one of several magazines started by publisher and illustrator Frank Leslie. To access the Harper's Weekly and Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Newspaper collections, click here.

• The Verla Leone Birrell Textiles and Designs

A portfolio containing an original set of plates of Textiles and Designs created by Verla Leone Birrell. To access the Verla Birrell collection, click here.