Archives, Manuscripts and Rare Books Department (AMRBD): History of the Archives

About Archives

The establishment of the Southern University Archives Department epitomizes the lasting legacy of Southern University and its deep-seated commitment to heritage preservation. Established in 1961, under the leadership of the university's Dean, John Brother Cade the Archives Department has remained resolute in its purpose: to gather, protect, and facilitate access to materials that illuminate the history and culture of Southern University. Moreover, it has remained dedicated to capturing the wider African American narrative within the Louisiana context.

The Archives Department was created as part of Southern University's dedication to preserving its institutional memory and celebrating its achievements. Over the years, the department has amassed a vast collection of materials, including documents, photographs, artifacts, and audiovisual recordings, that chronicle the university's evolution and contributions to education, research, and community engagement.

In addition to preserving the history of Southern University, the Archives Department has played a crucial role in documenting the experiences and achievements of African Americans in the Southern region. Its collections include materials related to civil rights struggles, cultural movements, academic achievements, and community activism, offering valuable insights into the diverse and dynamic history of the African American community in the South.

Today, the Southern University Archives Department continues to serve as a vital resource for students, scholars, historians, and community members interested in exploring the history and heritage of Southern University and the broader African American experience. Through its ongoing efforts to collect, preserve, and promote access to historical materials, the department remains dedicated to honoring the past and inspiring future generations.

Our Mission

The mission of The Archives, Manuscripts & Rare Books Department is to serve as the final repository for all the historical records of Southern University and A&M College. 

• Manage information resources created by or written about the University in support of administration, teaching, research, and service.
• assists the University in appraising and managing its records throughout its life cycle.
• collects, organizes, and preserves records of enduring value in all formats created by administrators, faculty, students, and alumni.
• supports research and teaching by making available and encouraging the use of its collections by the Southern University community and the public;
• provides information services that support University administrators in the performance of their duties; and promotes knowledge and understanding of the history, programs, and goals of Southern University and A&M College.

Statement of Purpose

The mission of the Southern University Archives, Manuscripts, and Rare Books Department is to preserve and provide access to the historical records and materials that document the rich history and heritage of Southern University. Additionally, the department aims to support research, education, and community engagement by making these resources available to students, faculty, staff, alumni, scholars, and the broader community interested in the University's impact on the local, regional, and national levels.

Contact Information