John B. Cade Library
- How to Find a Electronic Journal This handout will guide you through the steps in locating electronic journals at John B. Cade Library
- E-Journals by Title E-Journals by Title is useful to search for a name of a periodical (journal, magazine, etc.). Enter the name of the periodical and if it's available you will see a link with the title of the periodical, the database in which the full text is found, and the years of coverage.
- Databases A to Z Databases A to Z contain a complete list of databases that John B. Cade Library subscribes to.
Below you will find a list of general subject databases that that can be useful in your research. To begin a search click on the title of the database, when you hover over the title a description of the database is provided.
While searching the databases on-campus no log-in is required. Performing a search off-campus will prompt you to enter a USER NAME & PIN.
See further instructions under Technical Assistance). If you require assistance you can contact your library liaison, or phone the Ask Here Desk at (225)771-2841.
Technical Assistance
Technical Assistance
If you have any problems accessing databases remotely please contact the Ask Here Desk at (225)771-2841, or the Systems and Technology Office at (225)771-2604.
OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS
The EZProxy system allows off-campus access to information resources that are restricted to Southern University students, staff, and faculty. If you use electronic resources from an on-campus computer, your computer is identified as being on the campus network and you can access resources seamlessly. EZProxy allows your off-campus computer to be identified as a part of the university network.
If you are not on-campus you will prompted by EZProxy to enter the following:
User Name =BANNER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER
Example: U0123456
PIN=CHANGEME
Technical Support
General/Multi-Disciplinary Databases (Click database to begin search)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
- Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new window EBSCO Discovery Service offers you a single access point to searching a vast range of our library's resources. In addition to the library holdings you can search in thousands of journals and in all EBSCO databases.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is home to almost one-quarter of the world's peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. Over 15 million researchers, health care professionals, teachers, students and information professionals around the globe rely on ScienceDirect as a trusted source of nearly 2,200 journals and more than 26,000 book titles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science Core Collection is a trusted citation index for scientific and scholarly research. It is a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.
- Databases A to Z List Databases A to Z list all databases available at John B. Cade Library. You will be prompted to enter a USER NAME & PIN to access the databases when working off-campus.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Reference Databases ( Click database to begin your search)
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new window Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with 600,000+ biographical entries — on more than 528,000 individuals — spanning history and geography.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher is your first source for information on American politics, federal and state government, American institutions, campaigns and elections, current events, and world affairs.
- Gale Virtual Reference Center Library This link opens in a new window Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- PrepSTEP for Colleges This link opens in a new window PrepSTEP® is packed with powerful resources that help students succeed in college and the workforce. Targeted learning centers meet the needs of all students learning modules include: College Success Skills, Core Math and Science Skills, Core English Skills, Career Preparation, Placement Test Preparation, Basic Computer Skill, Grad School Admissions Preparation, and Spanish Center.
- Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Literature Resource Center is a database that offers biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Content Includes: More than 2.5 million citations Nearly 5,000 journals & series, 1,000 book publishersOver 300,000 subject names & terms.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online) This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
- Occupational Outlook This link opens in a new window This is a guide to career information about hundreds of occupations.
Theses & Disserations
- Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text offers a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works since 1997, along with selected full text works written prior to 1997.
News
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window This resource provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces. Key resources include newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires, with full-text content coverage spanning over 22 years. Content Includes:Full-text for 106 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications,Full-text coverage dating back to 1990.