e-Textbooks
E-Textbooks at John B. Cade Library
John B. Cade Library is proud to provide our students with a list of e-textbooks and supplemental readings for the Fall 2020 semester.
How to view e-Textbook Titles
To view e-Textbooks, Click on the title's hyperlink.
Off-campus Access- To access e-textbooks off-campus enter the following:
USER NAME= Banner Number (Example: S0123456, or U0123456)
PIN=CHANGEME
e-Textbooks
Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology by Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781635501841Publication Date: 2019-05-01
Class: CLINICAL DIAGNOSTIC METHODS IN COMMUNICATION DISORDERS
Instructor: Dr. Dawn Stanley
e-Textbooks
The Clinical Education and Supervisory Process in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
As with the actual practices of speech-language pathologists and audiologists, clinical education and supervision practices work best when they are grounded not only in concept and theory but also in research. Designed to act as a complete guide to both the theory and the research, The Clinical Education and Supervisory Process in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology provides the most up-to-date information on these crucial topics. Following in the footsteps of their mentor, Jean Anderson, Drs. Elizabeth McCrea and Judith Brasseur have taken on the task of assembling important current research and best practices in clinical education and supervision into one comprehensive resource. With their prestigious team of contributing authors, this text represents the culmination of decades of study and real-world best practices. The Clinical Education and Supervisory Process in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology covers clinical education and supervision across five unique constituent groups: clinical educators of graduate students, preceptors of audiology externs, mentors of clinical fellows, supervisors of support personnel, and supervisors of professionals transitioning between work settings. It also includes the latest information on certification and accreditation requirements for preparation in supervision. Topics include Foundations: Anderson's Continuum of Supervision Components of the Process Expectations for Supervision Practical Research in Supervision Literature from other Disciplines Obtaining Feedback About the Supervisory Process The Ethics of Clinical Education and Supervision Supervisor Self-Study and Accountability Interprofessional Education and Practice in Clinical Education and Supervision Chapter appendices add numerous ancillary materials, allowing readers to easily adopt the most successful processes and strategies the research has revealed. Sample scripts of supervisory conferences, self-assessment tools, action plan tools, and analysis systems can all be found inside. The Clinical Education and Supervisory Process in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is intended as a primary resource for anyone in those professions in any setting who is engaged in the process of clinical education and supervision. With this text as their guide, clinical educators and supervisors will be able to ground their practices in the vast compiled research and study contained within.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781630915292Publication Date: 2019-11-11
Class: SECD 528
Instructor: Dr. Dawn Stanley
e-Textbooks
- Action Research for English Language Arts Teachers by Offering preservice and inservice teachers a guide to navigate the rapidly changing landscape of English Language Arts education, this book provides a fresh perspective on what it means to be a teacher researcher in ELA contexts. Inviting teachers to view inquiry and reflection as intrinsic to their identity and mission, Buckelew and Ewing walk readers through the inquiry process from developing an actionable focus, to data collection and analysis to publication and the exploration of ongoing questions. Providing thoughtful and relevant protocols and models for teacher inquiry, this book establishes a theoretical foundation and offers practical, ready-to-use tools and strategies for engaging in the inquiry process in the context of teachers' communities. Action Research for English Language Arts Teachers: Invitation to Inquiryincludes a variety of examples and scenarios of ELA teachers in diverse contexts, ensuring that this volume is relevant and accessible to all educators. amp;lt;/P>Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781138609099Publication Date: 2019-04-02
e-Textbooks
Nursing Now! by
Encourages a deeper exploration of the issues and analysis of opinions by including multiple points-of-view on policy issues. Provides general and NCLEX-specific smart test-taking tips. Covers the Licensure, Accreditation, Certification & Education (LACE) model that outlines a future plan for advanced practice nursing education. Offers practical information on preparing a professional resume that gets results * applying for a position via an institutional web site; fine tuning interview skills in the chapter, Reality Shock in the Workplace. Addresses conflict resolution, lateral violence and bullying in the workplace. Presents Integrative healing practices reflect current alternative therapy and complementary health practice. Offers teaching and learning resources online at DavisPlus.com
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780803639720Publication Date: 2015-02-05
Class: NURSING 404
Instructor: Dr. Juanita Garner
e-Textbooks
Pediatric Nursing Test Success by
This novel resource for course content review of pediatric nursing and NCLEX-RN preparation features a potent learning technique, the use of unfolding case studies to enhance critical thinking skills and enable students to think like a practicing nurse. Covering both basic and advanced nursing concepts of caring for children and families, this format embeds required content into compelling, real-life scenarios that evolve over time. These unfolding case studies are of particular value because they closely mimic real-life situations in nursing and provide situational mental models that assist students with problem-solving and critical thinking techniques. All content areas required for NCLEX-RN success are interwoven in an enjoyable format that dispels the drudgery of straightforward memorization. A variety of NCLEX-style questions are used throughout the book to familiarize students with the exam format and to help them assess their own learning. The book includes engaging eResources for enriched learning experiences. It will also be of value to faculty as a make-up guide for students who miss clinical hours, and as a reference for scenarios with standardized patients or role-play situations. Key Features: Uses unique unfolding case study method that embeds basic and advanced pediatric nursing care concepts Promotes active learning and knowledge retention Helps to foster problem-solving and critical thinking techniques Provides all types of NCLEX-style questions for exam preparation Includes eResources throughout for enhanced learning opportunities
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780826171368Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Class: NURS FAMILY DEVELOPMENT III
Instructor: Dr. Trudy Williams
eTextbook
Serenade for Strings, Op. 22 by Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780757977459Publication Date: 1985-03-01Antonin Dvor#65533;k's Serenade for Strings, Op. 22 is arranged for String Orchestra.
e-Textbooks
Africans in Colonial Louisiana by
Although a number of important studies of American slavery have explored the formation of slave cultures in the English colonies, few books have undertaken a comprehensive assessment of the development of the distinctive African-Creole culture of colonial Louisiana. This culture, based upon a separate language community with its own folklore, musical, religious and historical traditions, was created by slaves brought directly from Africa to Louisiana before 1731. It still survives as the acknowledged cultural heritage of tens of thousands of people of all races in the southern part of the state.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780807116869Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Class: Seminar on Slavery
Instructor: Dr. Charles Vincent
e-Textbooks
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Scholarly Project by
he Doctor of Nursing Practice Scholarly Project: A Framework for Success, Second Edition focuses on assisting students and faculty with creating a system for the completion of the DNP scholarly project. The text provides a roadmap for DNP students to use on their journey from project conception through completion and dissemination. The overall goal of the Second Edition is to introduce a process that will help students work through their project, resolve project variability across programs, and assist faculty and others working with DNP students as they complete their scholarly work. The Second Edition provides an updated historical perspective of the DNP degree and guides students on the development of the scholarly project. Lastly, it focuses on project evaluation and outcomes as well as how the scholarly project contributes to evidence-based nursing practice. This text is intended for practical application and provides the framework for the scholarly work process.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781284079685Publication Date: 2016-03-18
Class: Nurs 746
Instructor: Dr. Wanda Spurlock
Evidence-Based Pratice by
Evidence-Based Practice: An Integrative Approach to Research, Administration, and Practice, Second Edition is an excellent reference for interdisciplinary education and clinical agencies, as well as disciplines focused on translating research evidence to quality practices. The authors provide sound information on the research process and critical appraisal, and use a unique integrative-collaborative approach to apply these principles. They also develop a strong conceptualization of integration of research and evidence-based practice from a clinical and administrative perspective. Learning objectives are included at the beginning of each chapter to identify important concepts and guide readers through the content covered in the text, and review questions and case studies help readers apply what they have learned. The Second Edition will take a more global perspective on health policy and health care.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781284098754Publication Date: 2016-08-18
Class: Nurs 746
Instructor: Dr. Wanda Spurlock
Caring for the Vulnerable by
Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research focuses on vulnerable populations and how nurses can care for them, develop programs for them, conduct research, and influence health policy. Units I and II focus on concepts and theories; Unit III on research; Units IV, V, and VI on practice-oriented measures, including teaching nursing students to work with vulnerable patients and clients; and Unit VII on policy. The text provides a broad overview of material critical to working with these populations, comprehensive treatment of issues related to vulnerable populations, outstanding contributors who are experts in what they write, and a global focus.There's a total of 31 newChapters focusing on new and emerging research on vulnerable populations. This text is generally used as a supplement in a wide variety of courses - from health promotion to population health, to global health. The Fifth Edition will continue to focus more on DNP authors and assess eachChapter for relevance to DNP-prepared nurses.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781284146813Publication Date: 2019-02-18
Class: Nurs 746
Instructor: Dr. Wanda Spurlock
eTextbook
Literacy for Learning a Handbook by
Literacy for Learning: A Handbook of Teaching Strategies for Middle and High School Teachers is a collection of proven, effective teaching strategies to promote content area literacy and help teachers incorporate literacy learning as a means of improving learning in all subject areas. The book presents a concise overview of content area literacy research and a rationale for teachers in all subject areas. Those who teach, or are about to teach, middle and high school students will find a variety of engaging strategies for improving student comprehension and retention of content material. Numerous examples of how the strategies can be used across the curriculum are included. 122 strategies in all are included, plus tips and suggestions for their use. This valuable, handy, and easy-to-use resource contains strategies for teaching reading, writing, and vocabulary. Each section contains numerous strategies for use across the curriculum. An additional section focuses on ways to incorporate technology and multi-media resources into teaching to promote learning. Each strategy presented includes learning objectives, Common Core State Standards connections, a concise overview, and simple, easy-to-follow instructions for implementing the strategies. Teachers can pick up this book and immediately begin using the strategies in their own classrooms. With the implementation of Common Core State Standards, it will become more important than ever for every teacher to be a literacy teacher. This book should find widespread acceptance as a handy tool to help all teachers achieve this goal.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781442226951Publication Date: 2013-12-24
Class: CRIN Teaching Reading in the Secondary School
Instructor: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
What Content-Area Teachers Should Know about Adolescent Literacy by
The goal of this book is to help address middle and high school classroom teachers', administrators', and parents' immediate need for basic information about how to build adolescents' reading and writing skills. Adolescents entering the adult world in the 21st century will read and write more than at any other time in human history. They will need advanced levels of literacy to perform their jobs, run their households, act as citizens, and consider their personal lives. They will need literacy to cope with the flood of information they will find everywhere they turn. They will need literacy to feed their imagination so they can create the world of the future. Despite the call for today's adolescents to achieve higher levels of literacy than previous generations, approximately 8.7 million 4th-12th grade students struggle with the reading and writing tasks that are required of them in school. Ongoing difficulties with reading and writing figure prominently in the decision to drop out of school. These indicators suggest that literacy instruction should continue beyond the elementary years and should be tailored to the more complex forms of literacy that are required of adolescent students in middle and high school. The purpose of this book is to summarise and discuss the most recent adolescent literacy research and to describe promising research-based instructional practices that can improve an adolescent's academic reading and writing skills.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781607411376Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Class: CRIN Teaching Reading in the Secondary School
Instructor: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
Content Area Literacy Strategies That Work by
Content area teachers are now being tasked with incorporating reading and writing instruction, but what works? In this essential book from Routledge and AMLE, author Lori G. Wilfong describes ten best practices for content-area literacy and how to implement them in the middle-level classroom. She also points out practices that should be avoided, helping you figure out which ideas to ditch and which to embrace. Topics covered include... Building background knowledge quickly Using specific strategies to scaffold focus while reading Using small group reading strategies to bring personal response and accountability to the content Understanding items that make reading in different disciplines unique Teaching content area vocabulary in meaningful ways Making writing an authentic process through daily and weekly assignments Planning and teaching effective informational and argumentative pieces Each chapter includes Common Core connections and practical templates and tools. The templates are available as free eResources so you can easily print them for classroom use.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780815375036Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Class: CRIN Teaching Reading in the Secondary School
Instructor: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
African Traditional and Oral Literature As Pedagocal Tools in Content Area Classrooms, K-12 by Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781623965389Publication Date: 2013-12-01
Class: CRIN Teaching Reading in the Secondary School
Instructor: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
The Music and Literacy Connection by
The second edition of The Music and Literacy Connection expands our understanding of the links between reading and music by examining those skills and learning processes that are directly parallel for music learning and language arts literacy in the pre-K, elementary, and secondary levels. This edition includes two new chapters: one dedicated to secondary music education and teacher evaluation, and another that offers a literature review of latest literacy research in education, neuroscience, and neuropsychology. Readers will find extensive instructional examples for music and reading teachers so that they may enrich and support each other in alignment with current initiatives for twenty-first-century curricula. Instructional examples are aligned with The National Core Music Standards and the Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts and Media Arts. Readers will find an in-depth review of the benefits of music learning in the listening, viewing, speaking and writing literacy as well as comprehensive information for children with special needs. The Music and Literacy Connection is a valuable resource for professional development, college literacy courses, and curriculum administrators.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781475805987Publication Date: 2014-09-24
Class: CRIN Teaching Reading in the Secondary School
Instructor: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
Teaching Dilemmas and Solutions in Content-Area Literacy, Grades 6-12 by
Middle and high school students must become proficient readers and writers to successfully meet the requirements of the secondary curricula and be adequately prepared for college, employment, and citizenship. Literacy Across the Curriculum is a guide for educators who are concerned with how students experience literacy instruction across the secondary school curriculum and need strategies for raising student performance levels. Each chapter of this edited volume is co-authored by a professor and classroom teacher within a particular academic discipline, and provides a set of 4 or 5 provocative scenarios to illuminate the decisions teachers need to make in order to successfully incorporate literacy instruction within that content area.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781452229935Publication Date: 2014-08-27
Class: CRIN Teaching Reading in the Secondary School
Instructor: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
eTextbook
The Newspaper Designer's Handbook by
Throughout the seven editions of this book Harrower has successfully deconstructed the process of laying out newspaper pages. For journalism students and professionals alike countless designers have used this book to learn how to design and improve their skills as visual communicators. Harrower's unique voice and quirky sense of humor are still very much alive in the seventh edition.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780077433918Publication Date: 2012
Class: Media Graphics (MCOM 307)
Instructor: Dr. M. Braima
eTextbook
Culturally Relevant Teaching in the English Language Arts Classroom by
This book is a practical, research-based, classroom-ready resource for English language arts teachers interested in learning how to incorporate culturally relevant pedagogy into all aspects of their instruction, including writing, reading, and vocabulary lessons. It also provides suggestions for building an inclusive classroom environment in which all students' backgrounds are valued. Topics covered: Writing strategies and diverse texts Dialect and student writing Applying reading strategies to texts that represent diverse backgrounds Using reading strategies in out-of-school contexts Considering students' funds of knowledge and language awareness Connecting linguistic diversity to word-root instruction Building an inclusive classroom environment The appendix features several useful tools, including a study guide, a comprehensive list of suggested texts, recommendations for parent communication, and reproducible tools for the classroom. The study guide and reproducibles are available for free download from our website at www.routledge.com/9781138393318.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780429401831Publication Date: 2018-11-20
Class: CRIN
Instructor: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
e-Textbooks
Clinical Research Methods in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
Now in its third edition, Clinical Research Methods in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is a valuable and comprehensive resource for understanding and conducting clinical research in communication sciences and disorders. Graduate students and practicing clinicians will benefit from the text's detailed coverage of various research topics. Specifically, readers will learn the strengths and weaknesses of different research methodologies, apply the results of research to clinical practice and decision-making, and understand the importance of research ethics. Clinical Research Methods is the only text to take into account qualitative research and evidence-based practice, and to provide a detailed discussion of research ethics. Key Features Chapters begin with an outline of covered topics and learning objectives End-of-chapter discussion questions apply concepts and incorporate real-life research situations Numerous tables and charts display critical models and research procedures New to the Third Edition New co-authors, Mary Ellen Koay, PhD, CCC-SLP, FASHA, and Jennifer S. Whited, PhD, CCC-SLP, bring new and extensive research experiences to the team of authors Expanded discussion of qualitative research methods Additional and updated examples of mixed method designs published in speech-language pathology Updated list of databases and sources for research in communication sciences and disorders Updated references throughout, including many ASHA and AAA Codes of Ethics
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781635501025Publication Date: 2018-12-15
Class: SECD 528
Instructor: Dr. Dawn Stanley
e-Textbooks
Research in Rehabilitation Counseling by Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780398091996Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Class: REHAB RESEARCH
Instructor: Dr. Randall Boen
e-Textbooks
Career Development, Employment, and Disability in Rehabilitation by
This text provides, from a rehabilitation perspective, comprehensive coverage of the dominant theories and techniques related to the occupational development, vocational behavior, and the organizational factors that impact the career development and employment of individuals with disabilities. It is designed for the CORE-mandated required course on employment and career development for the Master's Degree in rehabilitation counseling and for Licensed Professional Counselor certification. As the only book in rehabilitation and counseling that broadly addresses career development and employment of individuals with disabilities, it is a major contribution to the literature. Topics covered include major constructs in career development and employment of disabled individuals, theoretical foundations, occupational assessment, information and evaluation, intervention strategies, and populations and settings. To facilitate learning and promote application of theories and techniques, each chapter includes chapter objectives, discussion and review questions, and case studies. An instructor's manual is also included. Key Features: .: The only book in rehabilitation and counseling to provide comprehensive coverage of career development and employment and disability-related theory and research; Fulfills CORE-mandated requirements and Professional Counselor licensure; Authored by respected leaders in the field; Provides chapter objectives, case examples, and discussion questions in each chapter along with instructor's manua
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780826195647Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Class: REHAB 571- Sections: 01/02
Instructor: Dr. Randall Boen
e-Textbooks
Nursing by
The key to success in nursing school is effective studying Why not have a concise study guide that conveys all the essential, tested material for each course? Tired of buying study guides for each nursing course? This is the ultimate, all-in-one study guide to the core information nursing students need for success in all of their foundational courses. This is a small study guide that packs a big punch. This guide is also a great tool for new nurse graduates. Presented in a well-organized and easy-to-read style, it contains everything a nursing student needs to know from the first nursing course through the last. The second edition is updated with critical new information about medications, lab values, assessments, emerging disorders, and nursing interventions. It includes three new chapters: "What to Expect in Nursing School," "Decreasing Test Anxiety," and "Emergency Nursing." The guide closely follows the standard nursing curriculum and is designed as a reference for every core nursing course. To facilitate successful exam preparation, the text highlights important material most likely to appear on class exams. Also included are tips on what to expect on the NCLEX-RN√ . NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: New and updated information on medications, lab values, emerging conditions, and nursing interventions A new chapter on emergency nursing A new chapter on anxiety-reducing test-taking strategies A new chapter on what to expect in nursing school
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780826130228Publication Date: 2015-07-20
Class: NURSING 315
Instructor: Dr. Trudy Williams
Nursing Care Planning Made Incredibly Easy! by
Get clear on nursing care planning and map the way to positive outcomes--in the classroom and in clinical practice--with the thoroughly updated Nursing Care Planning Made Incredibly Easy!®, 3rd Edition. Learn step-by-step how to build a concept map, develop a nursing diagnosis, and choose realistic outcomes and individualized interventions. This nursing guide leads you expertly through the care plan process, backed by the Made Incredibly Easy series' trademark humor, plentiful illustrations, and down-to-earth explanations. Master the concepts and process of care planning ... NEW and updated guidance on following the evidence-based standards of North American Nursing Diagnosis Association (NANDA) diagnoses, and Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC) and Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) guidelines Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC), and Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) guidelines NEW full-color design--dozens of illustrations and diagrams that outline the process of concept mapping, diagramming, and intervention planning NEW guidance on creating electronic plans--online access to 166 customizable care plans covering every nursing specialty, including new plans for gastric bypass, preterm labor, and cerebral palsy, plus examples of handwritten care plans NEW Nurse Joy and Jake offer practical advice throughout Breaks down the process of creating individualized care plans into easy-to-follow segments Guides nursing students and new nurses into the critical thinking and planning skills needed to choose appropriate, effective treatments and interventions Case study exercises and clinical tips to help you integrate care plan concepts and evidence-based standards with real-life situations Part I discusses NANDA-I, NOC, and NIC --covers assessment, nursing diagnosis, planning, implementation, evaluation, and integrating the concepts Part II integrates major nursing diagnoses with common medical diagnoses --addresses medical-surgical, maternal-neonatal, pediatric, and psychiatric diagnoses Chapter features include: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Under construction --sample concept maps and care plan components, with tips for creating individualized care plans On the case --visual, step-by-step instruction applied to real-life patient care scenarios Weighing the evidence --the latest evidence-based standards of care, demonstrated in sample care plans Teacher knowsbest --helpful tips and reminders to help you apply what you are learning Memory jogger --techniques for remembering vital content
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781496382566Publication Date: 2017-12-20
Class: NURSING 315
Instructor: Dr. Trudy Williams
eTextbook
The Practice of Nursing Research by
Learn how to properly evaluate and use existing research data and how to conduct your own original research. This authoritative text gives provides a comprehensive foundation for appraisal, synthesis, and generation of research evidence for clinical nursing practice. This new edition also features enhanced coverage of the research methods most applicable to evidence-based practice (outcomes research, intervention research, and translational research), along with a significant increase in the coverage of qualitative research methodologies. Comprehensive coverage of nursing research organizes content into five units: Introduction to Nursing Research, Nursing Research Processes, Tools for Evidence-Based Healthcare, Strategies for Analyzing Research and Building an Evidence-Based Practice, and Writing Proposals and Obtaining Funding. Rich and frequent examples from the literature demonstrate the importance and immediacy of research in nursing practice and bring principles to life through the context of actual published studies. Strong coverage of quantitative and other clinically-applicable research methodologies gives you a solid grounding to conduct, appraise, and apply research evidence to the realities of clinical practice in today's healthcare environment. NEW! Enhanced emphasis on evidence-based practice equips you to generate research evidence and to appraise and synthesize existing research for application to clinical practice. Using the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program criteria as a point of focus, this book prepares you for today's emphasis on evidence-based practice in the clinical setting. NEW! Expanded emphasis on qualitative research addresses phenomenological research, grounded theory research, ethnographic research, exploratory-descriptive research, and historical research to support the development of nursing. NEW! Updated coverage of digital data collection guides you through use of the internet for research and addresses the unique considerations surrounding digital data collection methods. NEW! Pageburst ebook study guide gives you the opportunity to fully master and apply the text content in a convenient electronic format with integrated interactive review questions.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781455707362Publication Date: 2012-08-31
Instructor: Dr. Trudy Williams
eTextbook
Class: MUSIC 315B
Instructor: Dr. Patrick Lavergne
eTextbook
Transcribing the Sounds of English by Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781107000193Publication Date: 2011-08-11
e-Textbooks
Medical and Psychosocial Aspects of Chronic Illness and Disability by
Medical and Psychosocial Aspects of Chronic Illness, Sixth Edition is intended to teach students, counselors and other medical professionals working with the chronically ill and disabled how to better understand the manifestations of common chronic illnesses and the disabilities among their clients. The text also serves as an important resource to help medical professionals gain an awareness of the impact of these conditions on their clients' ability to function physically, psychologically, socially, and vocationally. This text serves as an important resource to assist students and professionals in understanding the manifestations of common chronic illnesses and disabilities. The goal is to bring awareness around the impact of chronic illness and disability to clients through a discussion around symptoms, diagnoses, treatments, and prognoses.The Sixth Edition has been updated to include new content based on the updated Diagnostic and Statistical Manual and features new and more detailed case studies.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781284105407Publication Date: 2017-03-20
Class: REHAB 280
Instructor: Dr. Kacie Blalock
e-Textbooks
A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by
Prepare your students to deliver safe, effective, and informed care for patients who are undergoing diagnostic tests and procedures with the Ninth Edition of A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests . Organized the way a nurse thinks--by specimen and function--this proven book describes an extensive array of tests for diverse populations, providing step-by-step guidance on correct procedure, tips for accurate interpretation, and expert information on patient preparation and aftercare. Featuring additional tests, updated reference values, and coverage of the latest advances in CT scans, nuclear scans, and genetics, this edition maintains the organization and coverage that have made it the ideal reference and point-of-care guide for educational and practice settings. This Ninth Edition is accompanied by a complete online teaching and learning package that includes case studies for application, a wide range of in-class activities and assignments, and Blackboard and WebCT cartridges for course management. Prepare for practice with tests grouped according to specimen, function, and test type (blood, urine, stool, cerebrospinal fluid, etc.). Learn vital information to keep in mind when implementing tests with "Clinical Alerts" that highlight critical safety information. Easily find the test you're looking for even if you don't know the exact name with a presentation that supports the way a nurse thinks. Master key information with helpful tips, inclusion of both conventional and SI units, and coverage of clinical implications for increased and decreased values.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781451190892Publication Date: 2014-02-04
Class: NURSING PROCESS II
Instructor: Dr. Shena Williams
Nursing Documentation Made Incredibly Easy! by
Feeling unsure about the ins and outs of charting? Grasp the essential basics, with the irreplaceable Nursing Documentation Made Incredibly Easy !® , 5th Editio n. Packed with colorful images and clear-as-day guidance, this friendly reference guides you through meeting documentation requirements, working with electronic medical records systems, complying with legal requirements, following care planning guidelines, and more. Whether you are a nursing student or a new or experienced nurse, this on-the-spot study and clinical guide is your ticket to ensuring your charting is timely, accurate, and watertight. Let the experts walk you through up-to-date best practices for nursing documentation, with: NEW and updated , fully illustrated content in quick-read, bulleted format NEW discussion of the necessary documentation process outside of charting--informed consent, advanced directives, medication reconciliation Easy-to-retain guidance on using the electronic medical records / electronic health records (EMR/EHR) documentation systems, and required charting and documentation practices Easy-to-read, easy-to-remember content that provides helpful charting examples demonstrating what to document in different patient situations, while addressing the different styles of charting Outlines the Do's and Don'ts of charting - a common sense approach that addresses a wide range of topics, including: Documentation and the nursing process--assessment, nursing diagnosis, planning care/outcomes, implementation, evaluation Documenting the patient's health history and physical examination The Joint Commission standards for assessment Patient rights and safety Care plan guidelines Enhancing documentation Avoiding legal problems Documenting procedures Documentation practices in a variety of settings--acute care, home healthcare, and long-term care Documenting special situations--release of patient information after death, nonreleasable information, searching for contraband, documenting inappropriate behavior Special features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of each chapter's content Advice from the experts - seasoned input on vital charting skills, such as interviewing the patient, writing outcome standards, creating top-notch care plans "Nurse Joy" and "Jake" - expert insights on the nursing process and problem-solving That's a wrap! - a review of the topics covered in that chapter About the Clinical Editor Kate Stout, RN, MSN, is a Post Anesthesia Care Staff Nurse at Dosher Memorial Hospital in Southport, North Carolina.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781496394736Publication Date: 2018-07-31
Class: NURSING PROCESS II
Instructor: Dr. Shena Williams
Health Assessment Made Incredibly Visual! by
Ready to learn health assessment skills? The fully updated Health Assessment Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition, shows you how--with humor, great visuals, and real-life scenarios. Hundreds of colorful drawings, diagrams, and photos support easy-to-follow, expert nursing instruction on the many skills needed for physical exams and assessments of every body system, from head to toe. Fulfill the requirements of student nursing--and start your nursing practice with a high standard--with this top-level direction on performing solid, accurate health assessments! Benefit from the expert wisdom of this invaluable guide, featuring . . . NEW content on geriatric care from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth and Fifth Edition (DSM-4 and DSM-5) Simple-to-use and easy-to-follow guidance on all aspects of health assessment Fully illustrated examples of best practices - Current nursing standards for each type of assessment Support for accurate assessment - Guides you through the anatomy and assessment processes for each body system or health issue, including skin, hair, and nails; eyes and ears; nose, mouth, throat, and neck; pregnancy, and the respiratory, cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, neurologic, and genitourinary systems Step-by-step guidance on examination skills with photos, diagrams, drawings, and descriptions for areas including : Use of examination tools and equipment Choosing, using, and interpreting assessment test Spotting abnormalities Palpating the nose and maxillary sinuses Measuring diaphragm movement Percussing the chest Measuring vision Assessing eye muscle function Hearing and voice assessments Special Chapter Features: Take Note - Real-life examples of documentation for complex conditions Outside the norm - Photos and explanations of abnormalities Memory board - Memory tricks that help you remember vital concepts and key treatments Symptom synopsis - Symptoms, key facts, and possible causes for numerous conditions Skill check - Expert guidance, backed by real-life photos, on how to examine and assess different body systems and functions Q&A - End-of-chapter quizzes--puzzles, riddles, and multiple-choice questions to help you retain essential information
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781496325143Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Class: NURSING PROCESS II
Instructor: Dr. Shena Williams
Research Skills by
Do you need to conduct or understand research to support your studies or evidence-based practice in healthcare? Ensure that you have all the research tools at your fingertips with this pocket-sized (120x80mm), spiral-bound, quick reference guide in the popular Nursing & Health Survival Guide series, which covers both quantitative and qualitative research.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780273786344Publication Date: 2013-04-25
Class: NURSING PROCESS II
Instructor: Dr. Shena Williams
eTextbook
Differentiated Literacy Instruction in Grades 4 and 5, Second Edition by
Now revised and updated, with many new lesson plans and a new chapter on writing instruction, this trusted book guides upper elementary teachers to design and implement a research-based literacy program. The expert authors show how to teach and assess students in differentiated small groups, and explain how instruction works in a tiered response-to-intervention model. Included are extensive reproducible lesson plans and other tools for building students' skills in word recognition, fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, and writing. The convenient large-size format facilitates photocopying; purchasers also get access to a Web page where they can download and print the reproducible materials. Prior edition title: Differentiated Reading Instruction in Grades 4 and 5. New to This Edition *Chapter on differentiated writing instruction. *New lesson plans for Tier 1 instruction, interactive read-alouds, and narrative writing; new extended sample lessons for building fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension. *Updated with the latest research and recommended teacher resources. *All reproducible materials now available online.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781462540853Publication Date: 2019-10-24
Class: CRIN Teaching Reading in the Secondary School
Instructor: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
Climbing the Literacy Ladder by
Literacy skills are the cornerstone upon which students' knowledge, self-esteem, and future educational opportunities are built. But far too many teachers lack the time, materials, and specialized knowledge required to address these skills adequately. To that end, Climbing the Literacy Ladder is a one-stop shop to help teachers plan and differentiate literacy instruction for all students from prekindergarten through 5th grade.Literacy educator Beverly Tyner presents plans for small-group instruction that addresses elementary students' six developmental stages of reading and writing: emergent, beginning, fledgling, transitional, fluent, and independent. To help teachers support students' literacy development, this book also provides* Characteristics of readers and writers at each stage.* Lesson plans that target each of the research-based instructional components (fluency, word study, vocabulary, and comprehension).* Authentic classroom scenarios and conversations.* Practical classroom strategies and activities.* Advice for when to move students to the next stage.If students cannot read with comprehension by 3rd grade, then their educational future is cast in doubt. Climbing the Literacy Ladder will not only help you grow as a competent and empowered literacy teacher but also ensure that your students continue to travel a clear and unobstructed educational road.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781416627487Publication Date: 2019-08-05
Class: CRIN Teaching Reading in the Secondary School
Instructor: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
Acts of Resistance by
In 1969, Neil Postman and Charles Weingartner published Teaching as a Subversive Activity. Subversive teaching today, however, looks very different than it did in 1969. Teachers today must deliver their instruction in an era of formidable challenges related to curriculum, educational policy, and cultural and political ideology. Students learn in an environment that includes active shooter drills and increasingly violent public policy that assaults immigrants, people of Color, women, and the LGBTQIA+ community. A robust public education is needed now more than ever, though the resources to provide it dwindle daily. Acts of Resistance: Subversive Teaching in the English Language Arts (ELA) Classroomshowcases examples of subversive pedagogy to instruct and inspire teachers and to contextualize subversive ELA pedagogy in the contemporary educational moment. Chapter authors--in-service teachers and teacher educators alike--draw from case studies, narrative inquiry, and other qualitative methodologies to explain how they have variously taken up subversive pedagogy in the ELA classroom. Because teachers and other stakeholders resist oppressive structures--including disciplinary confinements--when they teach from subversive viewpoints, each chapter describes a disciplinary "act of resistance" that illuminates possibilities for countering uncritical, "traditional" handling of ELA experiences. Perfect for courses such as: ELA Methods | Literacy Methods | Social Justice | Critical Literacy | Writing | Literature | Disciplinary Literacy | Curriculum Theory | Pedagogy | ELA Professional Development (Inservice Teachers)
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781975503307Publication Date: 2020-01-17
Class: CRIN Teaching Reading in the Secondary School
Instructor: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
eTextbook
- Teaching Human Rights : Curriculum Resources for Social Work Educators byCall Number: eTextbookPublication Date: 2013-10-01
eTextbook
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by
Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 11th Edition helps practicing nurses and nursing students select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. This convenient handbook shows you how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Extensively revised and updated with the new 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, it integrates the NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to guide you in creating unique, individualized care plans. Comprehensive, up-to-date information on all the 2015-2017 NANDA-I nursing diagnoses so you stay in the know. UNIQUE! Provides care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis plus two unique care plans for Hearing Loss and Vision Loss. Includes pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, client/family teaching and discharge planning, home care, and safety interventions as necessary for plans of care. Presents examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes in each care plan. UNIQUE! Care Plan Constructor on the companion Evolve website offers hands-on practice creating customized plans of care. 150 NCLEX exam-style review questions are available on Evolve. Promotes evidence-based interventions and rationales by including recent or classic research that supports the use of each intervention. Classic evidence-based references promote evidence-based interventions and rationales. Clear, concise interventions are usually only a sentence or two long and use no more than two references. Safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care. Step-by-step instructions show you how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care. List of Nursing Diagnosis Index in back inside cover of book for quick reference. Three-column index is easy to use. Easy-to-follow sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selecting appropriate nursing diagnoses. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. NEW! Includes the new 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, compete with 26 new diagnoses. NEW and UPDATED! Provides the latest NIC/NOC, interventions, and rationales for every care plan. EXPANDED! Additional information on concept based nursing and major nursing theories provides you with the knowledge you need for clinical success. EXPANDED! New content on QSEN, safety, and risk for infection keeps you up to date. NEW! In-depth coverage of wellness and primary prevention stresses the importance of health and wellness. NEW! Appendixes in the text provide you with valuable information in an easy-to-access location. NEW! Revised references in APA style.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780323322249Publication Date: 2016-02-25
Instructor: Dr. Stanley Valentine
e-Textbooks
A Guide to Clinical Assessment and Professional Report Writing in Speech-Language Pathology by
Learning to assess speech and language disorders and write diagnostic reports may be an overwhelming experience, especially when most texts don't cover both topics at once. With that in mind, A Guide to Clinical Assessment and Professional Report Writing in Speech-Language Pathology, Second Edition combines the latest assessment protocols and diagnostic techniques with vital diagnostic report writing tools into a single definitive guide. Cyndi Stein-Rubin, Renee Fabus, and their contributors recognize that clinical assessment is inextricably linked to report writing and have updated this Second Edition to synthesize the two. Following the introductory chapters, which discuss the basics of assessment and report writing, each subsequent chapter focuses on a particular disorder, provides in-depth assessment tools, and presents a corresponding sample report. Key Features: An inventory and explanation of formal and informal assessment measures A glossary of key vocabulary Sample case histories with assessment tools Relevant and useful interview questions Each disorder's background and characteristics Assessment parameters A differential diagnosis section A model report The accessible format of A Guide to Clinical Assessment and Professional Report Writing in Speech-Language Pathology, Second Edition will help students learn how to assess and document speech and language disorders and will also make for a perfect reference for them as clinicians for years to come.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781630913724Publication Date: 2018-02-15
Class: SECD 528
Instructor: Dr. Dawn Stanley
e-Textbooks
Research on Technology in Social Studies Education by
A volume in Research Methods in Educational Technology Series Editor Walter F. Heinecke, University of Virginia Despite technology's presence in virtually every public school, its documented familiarity and use by youth outside of school, and the wealth of resources it provides for teaching social studies, there has been relatively little empirical research on its effectiveness for the teaching and learning of social studies. In an effort to begin to fill this gap in research literature, this book focuses on research on technology in social studies education. The objectives of this volume are threefold: to describe research frameworks, provide examples of empirical research, and chart a course for future research endeavors. Accordingly, the volume is divided into three overarching sections: research constructs and contexts, research reports, and research reviews. The need for research is particularly acute within the field of social studies and technology. As the primary purpose of social studies is to prepare the young people of today to be the citizens of tomorrow, it is necessary to examine how technology tools impact, improve, and otherwise affect teaching and learning in social studies. Given these circumstances, we have prepared this collection of research conceptualizations, reports, and reviews to achieve three goals. 1. Put forward reports on how research is being conducted in the field 2. Present findings from well-designed research studies that provide evidence of how specific applications of technology are affecting teaching and learning in social studies. 3. Showcase reviews of research in social studies It is with this framework that we edited this volume, Research on Technology and Social Studies Education, as an effort to address emerging concerns related to theorizing about the field and reporting research in social studies and technology. The book is divided into four sections. The first section of the book includes three descriptions of research constructs and contexts in social studies and technology. The second section is focused on research reports from studies of student learning in social studies with technology. The third section contains research reports on teachers' pedagogical considerations for using technology in social studies. In the fourth and final section, we present work that broadly reviews and critiques research in focused areas of social studies and technology. This volume contains twelve chapters, each of which focuses on social studies content and pedagogy and how the field is affected and enhanced with technology. The volume includes research and theoretical works on various topics, including digital history, digital video, geography, technology use in the K-12 social studies classroom, and artificial intelligence.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781607522782Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Class: CRIN
Instructor: Dr. Alisa Ross
The Social Studies Teacher's Toolbox by Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781119572053Publication Date: 2020-04-28
lass: CRIN
Instructor: Dr. Alisa Ross
e-Textbooks
- Classroom-Based Interventions Across Subject Areas byCall Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781351690829Publication Date: 2018-11-01
e-Textbooks
Pediatric Nursing by
Pediatric Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! is a handy reference book in the award-winning Incredibly Easy! style—perfect for those entering or needing a refresher in pediatric nursing, a core subject for nurses. This book organizes those developmental concerns and childhood disorders in an intuitive way, while weaving a family-centered approach to practice throughout the material. So, whether she’s a student looking for NCLEX or course help, a practicing nurse needing some targeted information on a difficult topic, or a clinician prepping for certification, Pediatric Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! is the perfect reference for her.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781582553474Publication Date: 2004-07-12
Class: NURSING 315
Instructor: Dr. Trudy Williams
eTextbook
Public Administration by
Marc Holzer and Richard W. Schwester have written a fresh and highly engaging textbook for the introductory course in Public Administration. Their coverage is both comprehensive and cutting-edge, including not only all the basic topics (organization theory, budgeting, human resource management, etc.), but also reflecting new realities in public administration: innovations in e-government, the importance of new technology, changes in intergovernmental relations, especially the emphasis on inter-local and shared regional resources, and public performance and accountability initiatives. Public Administrationhas been crafted with student appeal in mind. Each of the book's chapters is generously illustrated with cartoons, quotes, and artwork--all reinforcing the book's theme that the field of public administration is rooted in the cultural and political world. Each chapter is also supported with a listing of key terms, exercises, and additional resources.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781138579644Publication Date: 2019-08-12
Class: PADM
Instructor: Dr. Donovan Segura
Organizational Culture and Leadership by
The book that defined the field, updated and expanded for today's organizations Organizational Culture and Leadership is the classic reference for managers and students seeking a deeper understanding of the inter-relationship of organizational culture dynamics and leadership. Author Edgar Schein is the 'father' of organizational culture, world-renowned for his expertise and research in the field; in this book, he analyzes and illustrates through cases the abstract concept of culture and shows its importance to the management of organizational change. This new fifth edition shows how culture has become a popular concept leading to a wide variety of research and implementation by various organizations and expands the focus on the role of national cultures in influencing culture dynamics, including some practical concepts for how to deal with international differences. Special emphasis is given to how the role of leadership varies with the age of the organization from founding, through mid-life to old age as the cultural issues vary at each stage. How culture change is managed at each stage and in different types of organizations is emphasized as a central concern of leader behavior.. This landmark book is considered the defining resource in the field. Drawing on a wide range of research, this fifth edition contains 25 percent new and revised material to provide the most relevant new concepts and perspectives alongside the basic culture model that has helped to define the field. Dig into assumptions and typologies to decipher organizational culture Learn how culture begins, thrives, or dies with leadership Manage cultural change effectively and appropriately Understand the leader's role in managing disparate groups The resurgence of interest in organizational culture has spurred an awakening in research, and new information is continuously coming to light. Outdated practices are being replaced by more effective methods, and the resulting shift affects organizations everywhere. Organizational Culture and Leadership is an essential resource for scholars, consultants and leaders seeking continuous improvement in the face of today's business realities.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781119212041Publication Date: 2016-12-27
Class: PADM
Instructor: Dr. Donovan Segura
eTextbook
eTextbook
Intentional Tech by
Chalkboards and projectors are familiar tools for most college faculty, but when new technologies become available, instructors aren't always sure how to integrate them into their teaching in meaningful ways. For faculty interested in supporting student learning, determining what's possible and what's useful can be challenging in the changing landscape of technology. Arguing that teaching and learning goals should drive instructors' technology use, not the other way around, Intentional Tech explores seven research-based principles for matching technology to pedagogy. Through stories of instructors who creatively and effectively use educational technology, author Derek Bruff approaches technology not by asking "How to?" but by posing a more fundamental question: "Why?"
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781949199154Publication Date: 2019-11-01
Class: College Curriculum in Science and Math
Instructor: Dr. Francesca Williams
Developing Teachers' Technological Pedagogical Content Knowledge (TPACK) in the Digital Age by
The impact of digital technologies in education has called for teachers to be prepared to facilitate their students' learning through communication, collaboration, critical thinking, and creativity. In order to create ideal learning environments for their students, teachers must develop a more integrated knowledge for infusing digital technologies as learning tools, a knowledge referred to as TPACK. The Handbook of Research on TPACK in the Digital Age provides innovative insights into teacher preparation for the effective integration of digital technologies into the classroom. The content within this publication represents the work of online learning, digital technologies, and pedagogical strategies. It is designed for teachers, educational designers, instructional technology faculty, administrators, academicians, and education graduate students, and covers topics centered on classroom technology integration and teacher knowledge and support.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781522570011Publication Date: 2018-11-02
Class: TECH IN SMED
Instructor: Dr. Francesca Williams
e-Textbooks
Assistive Technologies by
It's here: the latest edition of the one text you need to master assistive strategies, make confident clinical decisions, and help improve the quality of life for people with disabilities. Based on the Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) model, Assistive Technologies: Principles and Practice, 4th Edition provides detailed coverage of the broad range of devices, services, and practices that comprise assistive technology, and focuses on the relationship between the human user and the assisted activity within specific contexts. Updated and expanded, this new edition features coverage of new ethical issues, more explicit applications of the HAAT model, and a variety of global issues highlighting technology applications and service delivery in developing countries. Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) framework demonstrates assistive technology within common, everyday contexts for more relevant application. Focus on clinical application guides you in applying concepts to real-world situations. Review questions and chapter summaries in each chapter help you assess your understanding and identify areas where more study is needed. Content on the impact of AT on children and the role of AT in play and education for children with disabilities demonstrates how AT can be used for early intervention and to enhance development. Coverage of changing AT needs throughout the lifespan emphasizes how AT fits into people's lives and contributes to their full participation in society. Principles and practice of assistive technology provides the foundation for effective decision-making. NEW! Global issues content broadens the focus of application beyond North America to include technology applications and service delivery in developing countries. NEW! Ethical issues and occupational justice content exposes you to vital information as you start interacting with clients. NEW! More case studies added throughout the text foster an understanding of how assistive technologies are used and how they function. NEW! Updated content reflects current technology and helps keep you current. NEW! Explicit applications of the HAAT model in each of the chapters on specific technologies and more emphasis on the interactions among the elements make content even easier to understand.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780323096317Publication Date: 2014-12-18
Class: REHAB
Instructor: Dr. Yikima Black
e-Textbooks
Counseling Theories and Techniques for Rehabilitation and Mental Health Professionals by
The only text about counseling theories and techniques developed specifically for upper-level rehabilitation counseling students and practitioners, this book is now fully updated with a focus on evidence-based practice. It reflects the great strides made in incorporating research-based knowledge into counseling/therapy interventions since the first edition's publication nearly 10 years ago. The book disseminates the expertise of many of the most esteemed leaders and academic scholars in rehabilitation counseling. These authors emphasize state-of-the-art scientific evidence that supports the effectiveness of various counseling approaches and techniques for people with and without disabilities. New topics include evidence-based practice related to counseling/psychotherapy and motivational interviewing. Methodologies include person-centered counseling, solution-focused brief therapy, gestalt therapy, cognitive and behavioral therapies, psychodynamic therapy, and an Adlerian approach. The book describes basic counseling skills for rehabilitation, including motivational interviewing, group procedures, family counseling, and career and vocational counseling. Also addressed are counseling for individuals with substance abuse disorders, physical disabilities, psychiatric disabilities, and multicultural issues in counseling. Additionally, the book covers such professional issues as supervision in rehabilitation settings and managing risk. Case studies highlight the application of theories and techniques, and each chapter also includes learning objectives and discussion exercises. Accompanying ancillaries include an instructor's manual containing a sample syllabus, an item bank for developing quizzes and exams, and classroom exercises, and PowerPoint presentations for each chapter. The text also serves as a valuable reference for rehabilitation and related health professions such as nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy, speech and language therapy, and social work. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Emphasizes state-of-the-art scientific evidence that supports the effectiveness of leading rehabilitation counseling theories and techniques Focuses on counseling theories and techniques regarding rehabilitation and health and chronic illness and disability Serves as a text for upper-level rehabilitation counseling students and a reference for rehabilitation counseling professionals Includes new chapters on evidence-based practice regarding counseling and therapy and motivational interviewing Instructor's manual and PowerPoint presentations Fong Chan, PhD, CRC, received his PhD in rehabilitation counseling psychology from the University of Wisconsin√ Madison in 1983. He is a full professor and director of clinical training (PhD Rehabilitation Psychology Program) in the Department of Rehabilitation Psychology and Special Education, University of Wisconsin√ Madison. He is also the codirector of the Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Evidence-Based Vocational Rehabilitation Practices. Before joining the faculty at University of Wisconsin√ Madison in 1992, he was on the faculty in the Department of Psychology at the Illinois Institute of Technology for 4 years and the Department of Rehabilitation Counseling Psychology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center for 5 years. He is a certified rehabilitation counselor, a licensed psychologist, and a fellow in the American Psychological Association. Dr. Chan has more than 30 years of experience conducting applied rehabilitation research in the topical areas of psychosocial interventions, demand-side employment, transition and postsecondary education, evidence-based practice, and research methodologies. Dr. Chan has published over 250 refereed journal articles and book chapters. In addition, he is the editor of four textbooks: Case Management for Rehabilitati
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780826198679Publication Date: 2015-02-01
Class: REHAB 510
Instructor: Dr. Derek Ruiz
eTextbook
Medical Speech-Language Pathology by Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781944883768Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Class: SECD 571
Instructor: Dr. Warren Brown
Introduction to Neurogenic Communication Disorders by
Introduction to Neurogenic Communication Disorders, Third Edition introduces students to common adult communication disorders and associated neuroanatomy and neurophysiology in an accessible, practical, and clinical context. This Third Edition emphasizes student understanding of major health trends and continues to provide students with necessary foundational knowledge while highlighting the human element of communication disorders. Illustrative patient profiles provided in online videos demonstrate actual case examples of symptoms, deficits, and pathological behaviors, reinforcing key concepts presented within the textbook.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781284175592Publication Date: 2020-02-05
Class: SECD 571
Instructor: Dr. Warren Brown
e-Textbooks
A Concise Guide to Writing a Thesis or Dissertation by
A Concise Guide to Writing a Thesis or Dissertationprovides clear, succinct, and intentional guidelines about organizing and writing a thesis or dissertation. Part I provides an overview for writing a thesis or dissertation. It describes the big picture of planning and formatting a research study, from identifying a topic to focusing on writing quality. Part II describes the framework and substance of a research study. It models the pattern generally found in a formal, five-chapter research study. Each chapter of a thesis or dissertation has a specific purpose, and this book focuses on each in an easy-to-follow structure. Chapter One reviews the headings and contents expected in the introduction of a study. Chapter Two provides advice for writing a literature review. Chapter Three discusses what to include when describing the methodology. These first three chapters form the proposal section of a study. Two additional chapters present results (Chapter Four) and provide discussion and conclusions (Chapter Five). Appendices offer resources for instructors and students, including a rubric for evaluating writing, exercises to strengthen skills in APA format, sample purpose statements, a research planning organizer, and a guide for scholarly writing. The book is designed overall to be a practical guide and resource for students for their thesis or dissertation process. Note to readers: Due to publishing limitations, some of the titles within the book do not accurately conform with APA format. For precise APA format, please see the APA manual (2010, pp. 62-63), or refer to Table 1.1, (p. 8) or Table D.1 (p. 107) in this book. esults (Chapter Four) and provide discussion and conclusions (Chapter Five). Appendices offer resources for instructors and students, including a rubric for evaluating writing, exercises to strengthen skills in APA format, sample purpose statements, a research planning organizer, and a guide for scholarly writing. The book is designed overall to be a practical guide and resource for students for their thesis or dissertation process. Note to readers: Due to publishing limitations, some of the titles within the book do not accurately conform with APA format. For precise APA format, please see the APA manual (2010, pp. 62-63), or refer to Table 1.1, (p. 8) or Table D.1 (p. 107) in this book.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780367174576Publication Date: 2019-04-25
Class: SMED
Instructor: Dr. Nastassia Jones
Researching Race in Education by
A volume in Education Policy in Practice: Critical Cultural Studies Series Editors Edmund T. Hamann, University of Nebraska-Lincoln and Rodney Hopson, George Mason University In traditional educational research, race is treated as merely a variable. In 1995, Gloria Ladson-Billings and William F. Tate, IV argued that race is under-theorized in education and called for educational researchers to pay closer attention to the relationship between race and educational inequity (Ladson-Billings and Tate, 1995). In particular, they argued, drawing on legal scholar, Derrick Bell's notion of Racial Realism (Bell, 1995), that racialized inequities are not accidental or aberrant; rather, racialized educational inequities are the result of particular and specific policies and practices that are designed to maintain particular forms of dominance and marginalization. More specifically, Bell and later Ladson-Billings and Tate, argue that racial inequity persists despite liberal policies and legislation that were ostensibly designed to eradicate it. The Racial Realist perspective takes into the consideration the longevity and history of racism, racial inequity and White supremacy in the U.S. and serves as a mirror to reflect back the limitations of proposed policies and legislation that fail to address those issues. In this way, Critical Race Theory and the scholars who draw on CRT, view our work as an important "check and balance" in the effort toward racial equality.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781623966768Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Class: SMED
Instructor: Dr. Nastassia Jones
Interest in Mathematics and Science Learning by
Interest in Mathematics and Science Learning, edited by K. Ann Renninger, Martin Nieswandt, and Suzanne Hidi, is the first volume to assemble findings on the role of interest in mathematics and science learning. As the contributors illuminate across the volume's 22 chapters, interest provides a critical bridge between cognition and affect in learning and development. This volume will be useful to educators, researchers, and policy makers, especially those whose focus is mathematics, science, and technology education.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780935302592Publication Date: 2015-09-30
Class: SMED
Instructor: Dr. Nastassia Jones
e-Textbooks
Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination Preparation, Second Edition by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Now with a free mobile & web app with print purchase This concise, practical study guide, now in its second edition, offers a complete, detailed review of the certified rehabilitation counselor exam to help graduate students and professionals in rehabilitation counseling effectively prepare for and pass the exam. Authored by rehabilitation counselor educators cited for their teaching effectiveness, research, and scholarship, this fully revised and updated second edition reflects the new, expanded curriculum standards regarding counseling/psychotherapy content for CORE/CACREP graduate programs in clinical rehabilitation counseling and CORE standards for rehabilitation counselors. The second edition retains the user-friendly structure and organization of the first, and includes 50 additional questions for a total of nearly 300 Q&As with rationales, answer keys, multiple-choice questions, learning objectives, and more. Each chapter contains a concise overview of the topic, summary tables of key concepts, practice questions with annotated answers, and links to related web-based materials. New to the Second Edition: Revised and expanded to encompass 2015 CORE/CACREP standardsIncorporates new certified rehabilitation counselor exam requirementsIncludes 50 additional Q&As with rationales Key Features: Covers 10 core curriculum areasIncludes nearly 300 test Q&As with rationalesProvides key terms and conceptsIncludes tables and charts to clarify informationWritten by esteemed rehabilitation educators and members of the CRCC scientific research advisory panel App included Includes all the high-quality content from the book Information at your fingertips anytime, anywhere.Available on iOS, Android, and the web, with a powerful, simple-to-use interface.APP INCLUDED WITH PRINT PURCHASE
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780826133144Publication Date: 2017-10-28
Class: REHB 591
Instructor: Dr. Derek Ruiz