Access Instructions for eTextbooks
E-Textbooks at John B. Cade Library
John B. Cade Library is proud to provide our students with a list of e-textbooks and supplemental readings for the Summer 2020 semester.
How to view e-Textbook Titles
To view e-Textbooks, Click on the title's hyperlink.
Off-campus Access- To access e-textbooks off-campus enter the following:
USER NAME= Banner Number (Example: S0123456, or U0123456)
PIN=CHANGEME
CLICK HERE TO REPORT LOGIN OR TECHNICAL ISSUES
eTextbook
Research Methods in Human Computer Interaction by
Research Methods in Human-Computer Interaction is a comprehensive guide to performing research and is essential reading for both quantitative and qualitative methods. Since the first edition was published in 2009, the book has been adopted for use at leading universities around the world, including Harvard University, Carnegie-Mellon University, the University of Washington, the University of Toronto, HiOA (Norway), KTH (Sweden), Tel Aviv University (Israel), and many others. Chapters cover a broad range of topics relevant to the collection and analysis of HCI data, going beyond experimental design and surveys, to cover ethnography, diaries, physiological measurements, case studies, crowdsourcing, and other essential elements in the well-informed HCI researcher's toolkit. Continual technological evolution has led to an explosion of new techniques and a need for this updated 2nd edition, to reflect the most recent research in the field and newer trends in research methodology. This Research Methods in HCI revision contains updates throughout, including more detail on statistical tests, coding qualitative data, and data collection via mobile devices and sensors. Other new material covers performing research with children, older adults, and people with cognitive impairments.
Call Number: eTextbook.ISBN: 9780128053904Publication Date: 2017-04-19
Class: Nursing Informatics
Instructor: Dr. Michael Hebert
eTextbook
The Power of Teacher Leaders by
Co-published with Kappa Delta Pi, The Power of Teacher Leaders provides a comprehensive resource for understanding the ways that teacher leaders foster positive change in their schools. Distinct from school administrators, teacher leaders are professionals who remain in the classroom and use their specialized knowledge and skills to improve student achievement, influence others, and build organizational capacity. Written by leading educational researchers, each chapter of The Power of Teacher Leaders describes a different way that teachers are leading. Moving beyond the question of why teacher leaders are important and how such work is implemented, the contributing scholars to this collection offer a critical examination of the field by presenting original research, case studies, and programs in practice. Topics covered include how teachers become leaders, their wide-ranging leadership roles, and the effects of teacher leadership on student academic success and school communities. A cohesive edited collection, this book demonstrates how teacher leaders play an increasingly active role in the improvement of student learning, teacher professional development, and school climate.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780415741644Publication Date: 2014-07-30
COURSE ID: CRIN 604
INSTRUCTOR: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
eTextbook
Contemporary Health Promotion in Nursing Practice by
Contemporary Health Promotion in Nursing Practice, Second Edition describes why nurses are positioned to model and promote healthy behaviors to the public, and how they can promote health to the community. The Second Edition emphasizes the nurse's role in health promotion and illustrates how healthy behaviors like weight management, positive dietary changes, smoking cessation, and exercise are more likely to be adopted by clients if nurses model these behaviors. Contemporary Health Promotion in Nursing Practice, Second Edition features updated content around the topics of health promotion theories; health disparities and health promotion policy to reflect changes in the healthcare landscape. Key Features: Revised content around epigenetics and nursing informatics Healthy People 2020 guidelines referenced throughout the text Navigate 2 Advantage Access
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781284094749Publication Date: 2016-08-19
COURSE ID: NURSING 730
INSTRUCTOR: Dr. Wanda Spurlock
eTextbook
Media Ethics Issues and Cases by
Media Ethics, Ninth Edition is a diverse, classroom tested compilation of 60 diverse cases that will help students prepare for the ethical situations they will confront in their media careers. Ninety percent of the cases are based on actual events, and authors from many institutions and media outlets contributed both real-life and hypothetical cases. There is a strong focus on ethical theory and practice throughout the book, which works well as both a main text in a media ethics course, and in an "across the curriculum" approach in other media courses. Every chapter has been revised to include the most significant research and thinking about the individual topics in the field, including more attention to emerging ethical theory in the areas of privacy, truth telling, and the political role of the news media. Key updates to the Ninth Edition: -A new chapter devoted to the theory and practice of social justice -25 new cases covering current topics as diverse as "weedvertising," "Doxxing," drones, and sexual harassment in the newsroom -The implications of digital content throughout multiple media industries and platforms -Fake news -Technological invasions of privacy -The blending of entertainment, infotainment, and news
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781538112588Publication Date: 2018-08-10
COURSE: MASS COMM
INSTRUCTOR: Dr. Lorraine Fuller
eTextbook
Nurses As Leaders by
Integrates the perspectives of contemporary nurse leaders to foster an innovative, collaborative future Encompassing the wisdom of both established and emerging nurse leaders, this expansive book demonstrates proof of theory in action and the influence of ourgreat nursing legacy on today luminaries as they carve out new terrain to benefit current and future health care needs. With a far-reaching, ambitiousperspective, it is the first text to link the ideas of nurse leaders from very diverse specialty areas including holism, advanced practice, education, policy, global health, journalism, and spiritual communities. The book examines the professional and scholarly accomplishments of these nurse leaderswithin an historical context, and facilitates succession planning for the next generation through of combination of outcomes-based writing, storytellingand personal reflection. Dozens of expert contributors from practice and theory arenas describe how to develop leadership skills and tactics through the implementation of local, national, and international initiatives. With an eye to creative evolution in education, research and clinical settings, they discuss how emerging nurseleaders can be agents of change' beyond the confines of traditional practice and curricula--through innovation and collaboration. Contributors also relatethe circumstances and experiences that sparked their nursing passions, the moral/ethical foundation from which they practice, and inspired messages towardcommunal, societal, and global impact within nursing of the future. Each chapter author follows a template to ensure continuity and includes end-of-chapterreflection questions. Key Features: Distills the perspectives of current and emerging nurse leaders from a diverse array of specialty areas to unify the collective of nursing Redefines praxis possibilities in education, research, and practice Outlines contributing nurse leaders' practical and scholarly accomplishments Describes how to facilitate change through innovation and collaboration Teaches the development of leadership skills and tactics
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780826131027Publication Date: 2016-09-28
COURSE: NURSING LEADERSHIP
INSTRUCTOR: Dr. Gwendolyn Livous
eTextbook
Physiology of Woody Plants by
Woody plants such as trees have a significant economic and climatic influence on global economies and ecologies. This completely revised classic book is an up-to-date synthesis of the intensive research devoted to woody plants published in the second edition, with additional important aspects from the authors' previous book, Growth Control in Woody Plants. Intended primarily as a reference for researchers, the interdisciplinary nature of the book makes it useful to a broad range of scientists and researchers from agroforesters, agronomists, and arborists to plant pathologists and soil scientists. This third edition provides crutial updates to many chapters, including: responses of plants to elevated CO2; the process and regulation of cambial growth; photoinhibition and photoprotection of photosynthesis; nitrogen metabolism and internal recycling, and more. Revised chapters focus on emerging discoveries of the patterns and processes of woody plant physiology.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780120887651Publication Date: 2007-11-22
COURSE ID: UFOR 523
INSTRUCTOR: DR. QI
eTextbook
Language Arts by
Provides a clear and succinct introduction to teaching the language arts to elementary studentsKey FeaturesFocuses on integrating the six language arts-reading, writing, listening, speaking, viewing, and visually representing-with other subject areasProvides guidance on differentiating instruction to bring out the best in the rapidly growing number of students with special needs and English language learners in the regular classroomIncludes a detailed lesson plan in each chapter along with instructional activities and techniques to integrate the language arts across all the subjects in the elementary curriculumAccompanied by High-Quality Ancillaries!Student Resource CD: Bundled with the book, this CD includes video clips and discussion questions that correlate with important chapter concepts.Web-based student study siteThis interactive study site provides practice tests, flashcards, chapter summaries, links to NCTE/IRA and state-specific Language Arts standards, and much more.Instructor Resources on CD: Available by contacting SAGE Customer Care at 1-800-818-SAGE (7243), this CD for instructors offers resources such as lecture outlines, PowerPoint slides, a test bank, and sample syllabi for semester and quarter courses.Intended AudienceThis book is intended for undergraduate and graduate courses in elementary language arts methods, which teaches pre-service teachers and licensure/certification candidates specifically how to teach their students the basics of the six language arts - reading, writing, listening, speaking, viewing, and visually representing.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781412940498Publication Date: 2008-08-05
CLASS: CRIN 331B-0
INSTRUCTOR: DR. ERIN SCOTT-STEWART
eTextbook
The Student Leadership Challenge by
Designed to be used with the The Student Leadership Challenge or the Student Leadership Practices Inventory, this workbook will help students go deeper into the actual practice of leadership, guiding them in better understanding and embodying The Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership in a meaningful and relevant way. It includes activities and worksheets; a unit on taking, digesting, and understanding the Student Leadership Practices Inventory; and a section that helps students commit to and work on their leadership development in an ongoing way.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781118390092Publication Date: 2013-05-06
CLASS: MBAP 530
INSTRUCTOR: DR. RONALD JACKSON
eTextbook
COURSE ID: COUN 513
INSTRUCTOR: Dr. Denise Gillstrap
DSM-5® Guidebook by
DSM-5® Guidebook: The Essential Companion to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition is a user-friendly, supplementary guide for psychiatrists, psychologists, and other mental health practitioners who need to know how DSM-5® differs from its predecessor in terms of organizational structure, diagnostic categories, and the criteria themselves. While it does not replace the comprehensive and authoritative DSM-5®, it illuminates its content by teaching mental health professionals how to use the revised diagnostic criteria and by providing a practical context for its clinical use. The book offers many valuable features, including: * An historical overview of the development of the DSM in general, and DSM-5® in particular, a progression that might be said to mirror the evolution of psychiatry as a whole. The material on the creation of DSM-5® includes coverage of dimensional assessment, reliability and field trials, and the controversies that arose during development of DSM-5®.* An indispensable chapter on how to use DSM-5® that addresses coding, diagnostic certainty, the demise of the multiaxial system, and the key changes to each diagnostic category.* Full coverage of the significant reorganization from DSM-IV-TR® to DSM-5®, which is designed to incorporate advances in neuroscience, brain imaging and genetics. Chapters were reordered to reflect scientific advances in the understanding of psychiatric disorders, and the presumed etiological and the pathophysiological relationships among them.* Extensive coverage of the decision to integrate dimensional measures into DSM-5®, which may enhance the clinician's ability to assess symptom variation and severity and aid in patient evaluation, treatment decisions, and outcome monitoring. The various measures are presented and their use discussed.* Finally, as the authors were not part of the revision process, they offer a fresh, down-to-earth perspective that will resonate with clinicians by focusing on the changes that will most significantly impact clinicians' professional lives. DSM-5® Guidebook provides a roadmap to the many changes in this living document, DSM-5®, and will prove invaluable to psychiatrists, psychologists, psychiatric nurses, neurologists, social workers, and all who strive to understand mental illness as it is conceived today.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781585624652Publication Date: 2014-02-01
eTextbook
Everyday Teacher Leadership by
The essential guidelines for leading effective change in yourschool From an education expert comes a much-needed resource that givesteacher leaders the strategies and tools they need to improve theirpractice and assume new leadership roles in their schools. Theauthor outlines the everyday acts of teacher leadership and showshow to lead effectively through collaboration. The book alsocontains suggestions for leading change beyond the classroom. Discusses what works when taking on the role of teacher leaderin a school Contains proven strategies and tools for implementing schoolchange Includes activities in each chapter that are teacher-tested andcan be used by individuals, teams, or larger groups This important resource offers school leaders a much-neededguide for learning how to lead and implement school change.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780470648292Publication Date: 2011-05-03
COURSE ID: CRIN 604
INSTRUCTOR: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
eTextbook
Environmental Science by
What is the "big picture" in environmental science? Our authors know and effectively communicate it in Environmental Science: Systems and Solutions, Sixth Edition. Whether you view the subject through a scientific, social, political, or historical lens, you'll find the concrete foundations here that work for courses in both environmental science and environmental studies. A systems approach is the connective fabric that makes sense of the wealth of topics and data, which demonstrates how aspects of the natural environment interconnect with each other and with human society. A section on Resource Use and Management introduces the concept of sustainability, and another on Dealing with Environmental Degradation discusses threats to the environment and mitigation strategies. A bonus section available online on Social Solutions to Environmental Concerns, discusses the complex issues impacting the environment and the scientific, technologic, and human behavioral ways to address them. Throughout the text you will find the hard data necessary for a scientific study of the environment and the measured analysis ideal for our time.Combining evidence-based, contemporary information and data with relevant case studies, practical applications, numerous calculations, and modern references, Environmental Science: Systems and Solutions teaches and engages.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781284091700Publication Date: 2017-12-15
COURSE ID: UFOR 523
INSTRUCTOR: Dr. Yadong QI
eTextBook
Using Sources Effectively by
Now in its fifth, expanded edition, Using Sources Effectively, Fifth Edition targets the two most prominent problems in current research-paper writing: the increase in unintentional plagiarism and the ineffective use of research source material. Designed as a supplementary textbook for both undergraduate and graduate courses, this book will help every student who uses research in writing. Included in this edition are coverage of research strategies and source selection (Chapter 2), a chapter on quoting sources effectively (Chapter 4), and a chapter on sentence patterns (Chapter 10). APA and MLA citation styles have been updated throughout the text. To the student: This book was written to give you the knowledge and tools you can use to make your research-based writing more powerful and effective. Here are some examples: Mini-Research Projects at the end of each chapter to sharpen your research and evaluation skills A set of practical, useful rhetorical devices to help improve the clarity and impact of your writing Increased emphasis on synthesis writing--weaving source use into your own thinking--to give your writing more interest and persuasive power Instruction in close reading to help you better grasp what an author is discussing or arguing Strategies for organizing and positioning your sources to strengthen your central argument.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781138289680Publication Date: 2017-01-30
DEPARTMENT: NURSING, General
eTextbook
Africans in Colonial Louisiana by
Although a number of important studies of American slavery have explored the formation of slave cultures in the English colonies, few books have undertaken a comprehensive assessment of the development of the distinctive African-Creole culture of colonial Louisiana. This culture, based upon a separate language community with its own folklore, musical, religious and historical traditions, was created by slaves brought directly from Africa to Louisiana before 1731. It still survives as the acknowledged cultural heritage of tens of thousands of people of all races in the southern part of the state.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780807116869Publication Date: 1992-01-01
COURSE: HISTORY 508
INSTRUCTOR: DR. CHARLES VINCENT
eTextbook
Test Success by
Approximately 900 questions in all... 800 in the text, including a comprehensive 100-question exam at the end of the book 150 unique questions online at DavisPlus, (including more than 300 alternate format) customizable by concept and content area, all with NCLEX descriptors and rationales for correct and incorrect answers Study and test-taking strategies with basic nursing theory and skills "Knowledge Analysis" tool focusing on how to identify clusters of errors in specific knowledge categories on a test "Corrective Action Guide" describing what to do to correct test-taking errors "Information Processing Analysis" tool presenting topics relating to the process of test taking, including processing errors and personal performance trends Time management strategies with tips and suggestions that specifically address the challenges of working full or part-time and juggling multiple responsibilities throughout nursing school Coverage of empowerment, critical thinking, the nursing process, and computer applications in education and evaluation Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs Triangle featured in Chapter 6, The Nursing Process
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780803669093Publication Date: 2018-01-26
COURSE NAME: NURSING 315
INSTRUCTOR: DR. TRUDY WILLIAMS
eTextbook
Professional Moral Courage in Nurse Executive Leadership by
Helps nurse executives ethically navigate the unique challenges and moral dilemmas of healthcare This unique text is the first to introduce professional moral courage as an essential competency in nurse executive leadership. It provides a foundation and understanding of the role of professional moral courage in nursing practice, places it in the context of current healthcare challenges and dilemmas, and identifies the characteristics and qualities required to lead in such situations. Authored by a seasoned nurse executive, the text begins with an overview of the healthcare environment; roles, responsibilities, and challenges of the nurse executive; and ethical dimensions of nurse executive practice. It then introduces the construct of professional moral courage, establishes a supporting competency framework, delineates a measurement tool, and provides guidance on how a nurse executive can develop and nurture this vital competency. Chapters provide real-world scenarios that highlight professional moral courage in action and its related consequences.Key Features: Provides a foundation in professional moral courage and describes why it is important to the nurse executive roleExamines the impact of current healthcare challenges, as well as moral and ethical dilemmas in nurse executive leadershipEstablishes professional moral courage as a critical leadership competency and provides a supporting framework and measurement toolGuides nurse executives in the development and cultivation of professional moral couragePurchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780826136763Publication Date: 2019-12-28
CLASS: NURSING 742
INSTRUCTOR: DR. WANDA SPURLOCK
eTextbook
Plant Structure by
This book is a fundamental guide to understanding plant structure offering plant scientists, plant biologists and horticulturalists in practice, academic life and in training. It includes a combination of concise scientific text and superb color photographs and drawings, focusing on structure at anatomical, histological and fine structure levels.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781840766370Publication Date: 2008-04-11
CLASS: UFOR 523
INSTRUCTOR: DR. YADONG QI
eTextbook
Teacherpreneurs by
We need a bold new brand of teacher leadership that will create opportunities for teachers to practice, share, and grow their knowledge and expertise. This book is about "teacherpreneurs"--highly accomplished classroom teachers who blur the lines of distinction between those who teach in schools and those who lead them. These teacherpreneurs embody the concept that teachers can teach as well as lead the transformation of teaching and learning. It's about empowering expert teachers who can buoy the image of teaching and enforce standards among their ranks while all along making sure that their colleagues as well as education policymakers and the public know what works best for students. The book follows a small group of teacherpreneurs in their first year. We join their journey toward becoming teacher leaders whose work is not defined by administrative fiat, but by their knowledge of students and drive to influence policies that allow them and their colleagues to teach more effectively. The authors trace the teacherpreneurs' steps--and their own--in the effort to determine what it means to define and execute the concept of "teacherpreneurism" in the face of tough demands and resistant organizational structures.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781118456194Publication Date: 2013-08-12
COURSE ID: CRIN 604
INSTRUCTOR: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
eTextbook
Multiplication Is for White People by
As MacArthur award-winning educator Lisa Delpit reminds us--and as all research shows--there is no achievement gap at birth. In her long-awaited second book, Delpit presents a striking picture of the elements of contemporary public education that conspire against the prospects for poor children of color, creating a persistent gap in achievement during the school years that has eluded several decades of reform. Delpit's bestselling and paradigm-shifting first book, Other People's Children, focused on cultural slippage in the classroom between white teachers and students of color. Now, in "Multiplication is for White People", Delpit reflects on two decades of reform efforts--including No Child Left Behind, standardized testing, the creation of alternative teacher certification paths, and the charter school movement--that have still left a generation of poor children of color feeling that higher educational achievement isn't for them. In chapters covering primary, middle, and high school, as well as college, Delpit concludes that it's not that difficult to explain the persistence of the achievement gap. In her wonderful trademark style, punctuated with telling classroom anecdotes and informed by time spent at dozens of schools across the country, Delpit outlines an inspiring and uplifting blueprint for raising expectations for other people's children, based on the simple premise that multiplication--and every aspect of advanced education--is for everyone.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781595580467Publication Date: 2012-03-20
COURSE ID: CRIN 604
INSTRUCTOR: Dr. Erin Scott-Stewart
eTextbook
Essentials of Assistive Technologies by
Master the assistive strategies you need to make confident clinical decisions and help improve the quality of life for people with disabilities with this new essentials text. Based on the Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) model developed by Dr. Cook, the book provides the most important coverage of the devices, services, and practices that comprise assistive technology and focuses on the relationship between the human user and the assisted activity within specific contexts. Case studies, illustrations of assistive devices, review questions, and well-developed learning objectives help you focus on the most important areas of assistive technology application. UNIQUE! OTA focus provides you with the specific information occupational therapy assistants need to know to implement and utilize assistive technologies. Comprehensive coverage includes all areas of assistive technologies. The AT industry A historical perspective on the industry Relevant legislation Issues of professional practice Service delivery in assistive technologies General purpose assistive technologies Specific areas of application for assistive technologies And more Content derived from market leader gives you similar chapters and organization to the Principles text, but has more of a focus on the practical skills and knowledge needed for the implementation of AT.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780323075367Publication Date: 2011-12-19
COURSE ID: REHAB 575
DR. SUSAN FLOWERS
eTextbook
Research Methods in Criminal Justice and Criminology by
Research Methods in Criminal Justice and Criminology informs the readers about what criminal justice means and gives them a brief introduction on criminology. It explains them the role of ethics in criminal justice research, the perpetual dimensions of crime and how the data is analyzed and used in the conduct of a research in criminology. Also discussed in the book are the ways of measuring crime, the need for prevention of it, the various ethical issues in the social and behavioral research and the explanation of the manner in which the evidence in crime is analyzed. The book provides the readers with insights in the evaluation of crime and its use in criminology research.
Call Number: eTextBookISBN: 9781774075807Publication Date: 2019-12-01
COURSE ID: CRJU 515
INSTRUCTOR: Dr. Geraldine Doucet
eTextbook
The Professional Practice of Rehabilitation Counseling, Second Edition by
Revised to reflect radical changes in the field and their impact on professional practice Now updated and substantially revised to reflect the CORE/CACREP merger and fundamental changes in the field, this comprehensive graduate-level second edition textbook articulates the complementary relationship between rehabilitation and mental health counseling and how it impacts professional practice. New information is introduced to address the increasing diversity of current and emerging job titles, duties, and settings, as well as to reframe existing content to better prepare rehabilitation counselors for navigating a continually shifting health care system. The second edition defines rehabilitation counseling as a specialty area of the broader counseling profession, and introduces psychiatric rehabilitation as a bridge to understanding the intersection of traditional rehabilitation and mental health counseling. It emphasizes recovery-based models and describes evidence-based research supporting the effectiveness of psychosocial interventions. Esteemed experts also address specific job functions related to assessment, credentialing, counseling, case management, advocacy, and career development. Four completely new chapters cover the fundamental concepts and models that underpin rehabilitation counseling, the evidence-based competencies that constitute rehabilitation counseling practice, and the specialized practices of forensic rehabilitation, and psychiatric rehabilitation. New and Key Features Reflects the CORE/CACREP merger and its impact upon rehabilitation counseling Conceptualizes rehabilitation counseling and its complementary relationship to counseling Includes new chapters on fundamental elements of rehabilitation counseling practice and on specialized practice in forensic and psychiatric rehabilitation. Addresses changes to CRCC 2016 Code of Ethics Covers the infusion of technology into distance education and counseling Laces a global perspective throughout with an emphasis on the ICF model Reflects the reality of professional practice in the current job market Includes new activities to enhance learning Offers an Instructors Manual with test item bank, Power Point presentations, and learning activities on applying chapter content Provides a model syllabus for Introduction to Rehabilitation Counseling
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780826138927Publication Date: 2017-07-15
COURSE ID: REHAB 504
INSTRUCTOR: DR. CLARENCE MERCKERSON
Principles and practices of case management in rehabilitation Counseling by Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780398076979Publication Date: 2007-01-01
COURSE ID: REHAB 504
INSTRUCTOR: DR. CLARENCE MERCKERSON
eTextbook
Nursing Now! by
Explores the issues affecting nursing today and in the future. Case studies, cartoon vignettes, and critical-thinking exercises help you to connect the content to nursing practice. Provides general and NCLEX®-specific smart test-taking tips. Covers the Licensure, Accreditation, Certification & Education (LACE) model that outlines a future plan for advanced practice nursing education. Offers practical information on preparing a professional resume, fine-tuning interview skills, and preparing a portfolio. Addresses conflict resolution, lateral violence, and bullying in the workplace. Presents integrative healing practices that reflect current alternative therapies and complementary health practices.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780803674882Publication Date: 2019-10-03
COURSE NAME: NURSING 404
INSTRUCTOR: DR. JUANITA GARNER
eTextbook
Burns and Grove's the Practice of Nursing Research by
Master the research methods used as a foundation for evidence-based practice! Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research, 8th Edition provides a solid foundation in the appraisal, synthesis, and generation of research evidence for clinical nursing practice. Not only will you learn how to properly evaluate and use existing research evidence, but you'll also learn how to participate in research and quality improvement projects. Updated to reflect today's focus on online research and evidence-based practice, this edition includes clear, step-by-step guidelines to research procedures as well as many examples from current and classic literature. From an expert author team led by Jennifer Gray, this book helps you perform scholarly research for evidence-based practice. Emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you learn to generate research evidence and to appraise and synthesize existing research for application to clinical practice. Emphasis on qualitative research includes phenomenological research, grounded theory research, ethnographic research, exploratory-descriptive research, and historical research. Coverage of quantitative, qualitative, and other research methodologies gives you a solid foundation to conduct, appraise, and apply research evidence to the realities of today's clinical practice. Rich examples from the nursing literature bring research principles to life. Information on collecting digital data guides you through the use of online research. Clear, comprehensive coverage is organized into five units: 1) Introduction to Nursing Research, 2) The Research Process, 3) Putting It All Together for Evidence-Based Health Care, 4) Analyzing Data, Determining Outcomes, and Disseminating Research, and 5) Proposing and Seeking Funding for Research. NEW Mixed Methods Research chapter and emphasis covers this increasingly popular approach to research. NEW! Expanded emphasis on qualitative research provides more balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative methods, addressing the qualitative research methodologies that are often the starting point of research projects, particularly in magnet hospitals and DNP programs. ENHANCED emphasis on evidence-based practice addresses this key graduate-level QSEN competency. UPDATED emphasis on the most currently used research methodologies focuses on the methods used in both quantitative research and qualitative research, as well as outcomes research and mixed methods research. NEW! Quick-reference summaries are located inside the book's covers, including a table of research methods on the inside front cover and a list of types of research syntheses (with definitions) inside the back cover. NEW student resources on the Evolve companion website include 400 interactive review questions along with a library of 10 Elsevier research articles. NEW! Colorful design highlights key information such as tables and research examples
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780323377584Publication Date: 2016-09-23
CLASS: NURSING 712
INSTRUCTOR: DR. TRUDY WILLIAMS