SU Archives
About
The Archives, Manuscripts, and Rare Books Department at Southern University and A&M College serves as the foremost storehouse for rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and archival materials encompassing history, literature, music, and the arts. Additionally, it houses the University Archives, making it the primary destination for students, faculty, public patrons, and visiting researchers seeking insights into the history of Southern University and its diverse collections.
Research Access & Reference Services
Visitors are encouraged to explore the holdings of the Southern University Division of Rare Books and Manuscript Collections. Due to the age, rarity, and delicate nature of some of the materials, they are securely stored and can only be accessed within designated areas. Our knowledgeable staff will retrieve requested items, and patrons are expected to handle them with care and adhere to any specified restrictions. Certain materials may require scheduling an appointment in advance. For those planning research visits, we recommend requesting materials at least two weeks ahead.
Teaching, Public Programs & Exhibitions
The Archives Department is dedicated to improving access to its collections through lectures, exhibitions, tours, and class presentations. Faculty and educators interested in organizing visits or incorporating primary resources into student curricula are encouraged to contact us. For more information, please refer to our Faculty Request Information Form.
Visiting the Archives, Manuscripts, and Rare Books Department
The Archives Department reading room is open to the public. Visitors are encouraged to contact staff before planning a visit. Please postpone your visit if you are experiencing any COVID-like symptoms. Check the John B. Cade Library’s website for the most up-to-date information before your visit.
Before You Arrive
All visitors must register as first-time researchers with the Archives Department and submit material requests through our online database at least 4 business days before their visit. Please be aware that materials requiring staff screening due to restrictions may take longer than 4 business days to be accessible. Once your materials are ready for viewing, you will receive an email notification. Additionally, we advise scheduling a consultation with the archivist to optimize your experience at the library.
Researchers seeking information about specific items or collections unique to Southern University may also submit questions to archives@subr.edu