Click to reach libguides: History

When writing History papers, you must cite the sources you use to construct and defend your argument. Often professors will tell you to use the MLA Style

John B. Cade Library provide resources for those doing research towards a degree in History.  The library provides a recommended list of resources, which encompasses print materials and electronic databases.

In the following video you will learn, step by step, how to locate print books in the John B. Cade Library catalog.

John B. Cade Library utilizes the Library of Congress Classification system of cataloging information.  In the LCC system call numbers for History range from C-F. 

In John B. Cade Library History books are located (right off the elevator) on the 2^nd floor.

Reference material, for History, is found on the 1^st floor near the Ask Here desk.  If you need assistance ask the Reference Librarian at the desk.

In the video below you will learn how to contact a Librarian for assistance and what types of assistance Librarians offer.

In the following video you will learn, step by step, how to access John B. Cade Library's databases from off campus.

The African American Roots of Modernism : From Reconstruction to the Harlem RenaissanceFull Text Available By: Smethurst, James Edward. In: The John Hope Franklin Series in African American History and Culture. Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press. 2011. eBook.

Subjects: LITERARY CRITICISM / American / General; African Americans; Modernism (Literature); American literature; Segregation in literature

The African American Experience During World War IIFull Text Available By: Wynn, Neil A. In: The African American History Series. Lanham, Md : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers. 2010. eBook.

Subjects: HISTORY / Military / World War II; World War, 1939-1945; African American soldiers; African Americans

 

African American Urban History Since World War IIFull Text Available By: Trotter, Joe William; Kusmer, Kenneth L. In: Historical Studies of Urban America. Chicago : University of Chicago Press. 2009. eBook.

Subjects: SOCIAL SCIENCE / Anthropology / Cultural; Racism; Urban African Americans

 

A Faithful Account of the Race : African American Historical Writing in Nineteenth-century AmericaFull Text Available By: Hall, Stephen G. In: The John Hope Franklin Series in African American History and Culture. Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press. 2009. eBook.

Subjects: SOCIAL SCIENCE / Ethnic Studies / African American Studies; African American historians; African American intellectuals; African diaspora; SOCIAL SCIENCE / Ethnic Studies / African American; Historiography; African Americans

 

World History EncyclopediaFull Text Available By: Neel, Carolyn; Andrea, Alfred J. Santa Barbara, Calif : ABC-CLIO. 2011. eBook.

Subjects: HISTORY / World; History; World history

 

American History NowFull Text Available By: McGirr, Lisa; Foner, Eric; American Historical Association. In: Critical Perspectives on the Past. Philadelphia : Temple University Press. 2011. eBook.

Subjects: HISTORY / United States / State & Local / General

Central Asia in World HistoryFull Text Available By: Golden, Peter B. In: The New Oxford World History. New York : Oxford University Press. 2011. eBook.

Subjects: HISTORY / Asia / General; HISTORY / Asia / Central Asia; Geopolitics