Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Click to reach libguides: Shade Collection

1854 Photo of Frederick Douglass & his daughter Annie

Clementine Hunter's "Wash Day"

New Books in Shade Collection

African American Database

History of Shade Collection

The Black Heritage Collection, of John B. Cade Library, is named after Camille Stivers Shade.  Shade graduated from Southern University in 1928, she received her degree in Library Science from Hampton University in 1929, she returned to Southern University and was Head Librarian from 1929-1969.  In 1966, from the core Negro Collection, Shade developed the Black Heritage Collection.  Shade was the university’s first professional librarian. 

Camille Shade died on Monday, September 19, 1994, in Baton Rouge, LA at the age of 89.  The Black Heritage Collection was renamed the Camille Stivers Shade Collection in memoriam on Wednesday February 8, 1995, during Black History Month.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

View of Shade Reading Room

Some Artifacts in Shade Collection

Artifacts in Shade Collection Reading Room feature items from such places as Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, & Ivory Coast.  There are original paintings by such renowned artist as Louisiana’s Own Clementine Hunter & a 1844 original portrait of Frederick Douglass with his daughter Rosetta:

 

bad

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Eddie Hughes
Contact:
John B. Cade Library

Southern University

167 Roosevelt Steptoe Ave.

Baton Rouge, LA 70813

225-771-2636

Bio of Camille Shade

Items in Shade Collection

Since 1966, the library has been building a collection of books, newspaper clippings, photographs, biographical information and artifacts on African Americans.
 
Today the Black Heritage Collection is housed in a space of 231 square feet and has more than 11,000 titles, including 1,020 microfilm and microfiche titles and 193 audiovisual items.
 

Shade Collection Policy & Hours

Materials from this collection circulate for 14 days.

•Photocopying services are available in the Reading Room.
•Microfilm & Microfiche items do not circulate.
•Neither Reference, “Out of Print”, nor single copy items are allowed to circulate.
•Hours of Operation:  Monday – Thursday 7:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
•Friday 7:30-11:30
Closed Saturday and Sunday.

 

Reference Books