John B. Cade Library
- Module 1: Getting Started on Your Thesis or DissertationThe Getting Started on Your Thesis or Dissertation module provides information and resources to help you understand how to plan and write a dissertation.
- Module 2: Efficient Discovery and Research CurationThe Efficient Discovery and Research Curation module provides graduate students the opportunity to access resources and develop skills promoting effective and efficient topic research.
- Module 3: Developing a Productive Writing PlanThe Developing a Productive Writing Plan explores explore techniques to help you develop a productive writing plan for your dissertation once you’ve decided on a topic. We’ll do this by debunking some myths about the dissertation writing process.
Theses & Dissertations
ProQuest Theses & Dissertations Learning Modules
How to Access Proquest Dissertations & Theses
Print Theses & Dissertations
Print Dissertations and Theses
Prior to 2009: Southern University and A & M College theses and dissertations are searchable through the library’s online catalog and available in print in the John B. Cade Library Archives Department. Multiple copies of theses and dissertations are located in the general collection and are free to circulate. (See Circulation Policy)
To access dissertations and theses through the online catalog:
- Go the library’s webpage http://www.subr.edu/library
- Locate FIND
- Click on Books and Journals
- Locate the home symbol/click on EVERYTHING.
- From the drop-down menu locate/click THESES & DISSERTATIONS
- Enter your search
ProQuest Electronic Dissertations & Theses Databases
Click the link below to search ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Remember, if you are working off-campus you will be prompted to enter your USER NAME and PIN to access the databases.
USER NAME=BANNER NUMBER (U0123456)
PIN=CHANGEME
- Dissertations & Theses @ Southern University and A&M College (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Dissertations & Theses is a service made available exclusively to universities whose graduate students actively publish their doctoral dissertations and/or master's theses with ProQuest Dissertation Publishing. Dissertations & Theses @ accounts provide participating universities and their campuses with: Free access to citations of dissertations and theses written by your graduates and published with ProQuest Dissertation Publishing, Free access to abstracts, when available (1980 and forward for doctoral dissertations; 1988 and forward for master's theses), Free access to 24 page previews and the full text in PDF format, when available (generally, 1997 and forward)
- Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text offers a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works since 1997, along with selected full text works written prior to 1997.