John B. Cade Library
Reference Databases ( Click database to begin your search)
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new window Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with 600,000+ biographical entries — on more than 528,000 individuals — spanning history and geography.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher is your first source for information on American politics, federal and state government, American institutions, campaigns and elections, current events, and world affairs.
- Gale Virtual Reference Center Library This link opens in a new window Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- PrepSTEP for Colleges This link opens in a new window PrepSTEP® is packed with powerful resources that help students succeed in college and the workforce. Targeted learning centers meet the needs of all students learning modules include: College Success Skills, Core Math and Science Skills, Core English Skills, Career Preparation, Placement Test Preparation, Basic Computer Skill, Grad School Admissions Preparation, and Spanish Center.
- Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Literature Resource Center is a database that offers biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Content Includes: More than 2.5 million citations Nearly 5,000 journals & series, 1,000 book publishersOver 300,000 subject names & terms.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online) This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
- Occupational Outlook This link opens in a new window This is a guide to career information about hundreds of occupations.
Virtual Reference Shelf
- Acronym Finder With more than 1,000,000 human-edited definitions, Acronym Finder is the world's largest and most comprehensive dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. Combined with the Acronym Attic, Acronym Finder contains more than 5 million acronyms and abbreviations. You can also search for more than 850,000 US and Canadian postal codes.
- Famers' Almanac An almanac, by definition, records and predicts astronomical events (the rising of the Sun, for instance), tides, weather, and other phenomena with respect to time.
- Bloomberg Business news and information.
- Data & Statistics Find data and statistics by topic.
- Statistical Abstracts The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
- ipl2 ipl2 is a public service organization and a learning/teaching environment.