John B. Cade Library
This page contains a list of multidisciplinary databases covering a wide range of subjects and topics.
- How to Find Electronic Journals (Handout)This handout will guide you through the steps of accessing databases available at John B. Cade Library.
- Databases A to ZClick Here for a complete list of databases the library subscribes to.
Technical Assistance
Off-Campus Access
The EZ Proxy system allows off-campus access to information resources that are restricted to Southern University students, faculty, and staff. EZProxy allows your-off-campus computer to be identified as a part of the university network.
If you are not on-campus you will be prompted by EZProxy to enter the following:
USERID (or ALTID)=Banner Identification Number
Example: U0123456
PIN=CHANGEME
Technical Support
If you have any problems accessing databases remotely please contact the Ask Here Desk at (225)771-2841, or contact Ms. Payne at (225)771-2604.
Multidisciplinary Databases-General Sources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new windowEBSCO Discovery Service offers you a single access point to searching a vast range of our library's resources. In addition to the library holdings you can search in thousands of journals and in all EBSCO databases.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher is your first source for information on American politics, federal and state government, American institutions, campaigns and elections, current events, and world affairs.
- Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text offers a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works since 1997, along with selected full text works written prior to 1997.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThis growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowSocial Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection is a trusted citation index for scientific and scholarly research. It is a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.
- LearnTechLib This link opens in a new windowLearnTechLib database encompasses 30+ years and 135,000+ peer-reviewed full-text documents and abstracts of published international journal articles, conference papers from 265,000+ leading authors, and additional multimedia-rich resources including Journal articles, Conferences papers, e-Books, Reports, Dissertations, Videos, Keynote Talks, Presentation slides, Webinars, Collections of articles with more added daily.