Science, Math, Engineering Reference Sources
Essential Matlab for Engineers and Scientists by
The essential guide to MATLAB as a problem solving tool This text presents MATLAB both as a mathematical tool and a programming language, giving a concise and easy to master introduction to its potential and power. The fundamentals of MATLAB are illustrated throughout with many examples from a wide range of familiar scientific and engineering areas, as well as from everyday life. The new edition has been updated to include coverage of Symbolic Math and SIMULINK. It also adds new examples and applications, and uses the most recent release of Matlab.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780123748836Publication Date: 2009-12-04
Essential Matlab for Engineers and Scientists by
Mathematics and engineering are inevitably interrelated, and this interaction will steadily increase as the use of mathematical modelling grows. Although mathematicians and engineers often misunderstand one another, their basic approach is quite similar, as is the historical development of their respective disciplines. The purpose of this Math Primer is to provide a brief introduction to those parts of mathematics which are, or could be, useful in engineering, especially bioengineering. The aim is to summarize the ideas covered in each subject area without going into exhaustive detail. Formulas and equations have not been avoided, but every effort has been made to keep them simple in the hope of persuading readers that they are not only useful but also accessible. The wide range of topics covered includes introductory material such as numbers and sequences, geometry in two and three dimensions, linear algebra, and the calculus. Building on these foundations, linear spaces, tensor analysis and Fourier analysis are introduced. All these concepts are used to solve problems for ordinary and partial differential equations. Illustrative applications are taken from a variety of engineering disciplines, and the choice of a suitable model is considered from the point of view of both the mathematician and the engineer. This book will be of interest to engineers and bioengineers looking for the mathematical means to help further their work, and it will offer readers a glimpse of many ideas which may spark their interest.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781614992981Publication Date: 2009-12-04
Essential Matlab for Engineers and Scientists by
Just-In-Time Math is a concise review and summary of the mathematical principles needed by all engineering professionals. Topics covered include differential calculus, integral calculus, complex numbers, differential equations, engineering statistics, and partial derivatives. Numerous example engineering problems are included to show readers how to apply mathematical techniques to a wide range of engineering situations. This is the perfect mathematics refresher for engineering professionals who use such math-intensive techniques as digital signal processing.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780750675352Publication Date: 2009-12-04
Basic Math for Social Scientists by
Many embedded engineers and programmers who need to implement basic process or motion control as part of a product design do not have formal training or experience in control system theory. Although some projects require advanced and very sophisticated control systems expertise, the majority of embedded control problems can be solved without resorting to heavy math and complicated control theory. However, existing texts on the subject are highly mathematical and theoretical and do not offer practical examples for embedded designers. This book is different;it presents mathematical background with sufficient rigor for an engineering text, but it concentrates on providing practical application examples that can be used to design working systems, without needing to fully understand the math and high-level theory operating behind the scenes. The author, an engineer with many years of experience in the application of control system theory to embedded designs, offers a concise presentation of the basics of control theory as it pertains to an embedded environment.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780750678391Publication Date: 1996-03-01
Scientists, Mathematicians, and Inventors by
The first of four volumes in the landmark Lives and Legacies Oryx Press series, Scientists, Mathematicians, and Inventors profiles approximately 200 men and women who changed the world by leaving lasting legacies in their fields. It fills a gap in the biographical reference shelf by offering far more than basic facts about a scientist's life and work--each entry describes not only the immediate effects of the individual's discoveries, but their impact on later scientific findings as well. Each entry contains a timeline listing important dates in the biographee's life as well as a bibliography of the most important works on the subject. A master timeline chronicling major events in scientific exploration and an annotated general bibliography are also included.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781573561518Publication Date: 1998-12-02
Science, Math, Engineering Reference Sources
More Math into LaTeX by
For over two decades, this comprehensive manual has been the standard introduction and complete reference for writing articles and books containing mathematical formulas. If the reader requires a streamlined approach to learning LaTeX for composing everyday documents, Grätzer's © 2014 Practical LaTeX may also be a good choice. In this carefully revised fifth edition, the Short Course has been brought up to date and reflects a modern and practical approach to LaTeX usage. New chapters have been added on illustrations and how to use LaTeX on an iPad. Key features: An example-based, visual approach and a gentle introduction with the Short Course A detailed exposition of multiline math formulas with a Visual Guide A unified approach to TeX, LaTeX, and the AMS enhancements A quick introduction to creating presentations with formulas From earlier reviews: Grätzer's book is a solution. --European Mathematical Society Newsletter There are several LaTeX guides, but this one wins hands down for the elegance of its approach and breadth of coverage. --Amazon.com, Best of 2000, Editor's choice A novice reader will be able to learn the most essential features of LaTeX sufficient to begin typesetting papers within a few hours of time... An experienced TeX user, on the other hand, will find a systematic and detailed discussion of LaTeX fea tures. --Report on Mathematical Physics A very helpful and useful tool for all scientists and engineers. --Review of Astronomical Tools
Call Number: https://subr.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1175333&site=ehost-live&custid=s2835722ISBN: 9783319237954Publication Date: 2016-02-23
Essential Mathcad for Engineering, Science, and Math by
Using the author's considerable experience of applying Mathcad to engineering problems, Essential Mathcad introduces the most powerful functions and features of the software and teaches how to apply these to create comprehensive calculations for any quantitative subject. The simple, step-by-step approach makes this book an ideal Mathcad text for professional engineers as well as engineering , science, and math students. Examples from a variety of fields demonstrate the power and utility of Mathcad's tools, while also demonstrating how other software, such as Excel spreadsheets, can be incorporated effectively. A full version of Mathcad v15 is available by using the registration code included in the front of the book (North America only). The included software is for educational purposes only.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780123747839Publication Date: 2009-05-22
Basic Math for Social Scientists by
Aimed at providing readers who want a quick "refresher course" in mathematics with an informal review, Timothy M. Hagle′s volume offers dozens of worked-out examples of such mathematical concepts as algebra sets, limits, continuity, differential calculus, multivariate functions, partial derivatives, integral calculus, and matrix algebra. In addition, Hagle provides problem sets so that readers can practice their grasp of standard mathematical procedures (answers to these problem sets are contained in the appendixes). Written in a friendly style, Basic Math for Social Scientists: Problems and Solutions provides readers with an informal approach to mathematical procedures without proofs.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780803972858Publication Date: 1996-03-01
Basic Math for Social Scientists by
Gain expertise in advanced deep learning domains such as neural networks, meta-learning, graph neural networks, and memory augmented neural networks using the Python ecosystem Key Features Get to grips with building faster and more robust deep learning architectures Investigate and train convolutional neural network (CNN) models with GPU-accelerated libraries such as TensorFlow and PyTorch Apply deep neural networks (DNNs) to computer vision problems, NLP, and GANs Book Description In order to build robust deep learning systems, you'll need to understand everything from how neural networks work to training CNN models. In this book, you'll discover newly developed deep learning models, methodologies used in the domain, and their implementation based on areas of application. You'll start by understanding the building blocks and the math behind neural networks, and then move on to CNNs and their advanced applications in computer vision. You'll also learn to apply the most popular CNN architectures in object detection and image segmentation. Further on, you'll focus on variational autoencoders and GANs. You'll then use neural networks to extract sophisticated vector representations of words, before going on to cover various types of recurrent networks, such as LSTM and GRU. You'll even explore the attention mechanism to process sequential data without the help of recurrent neural networks (RNNs). Later, you'll use graph neural networks for processing structured data, along with covering meta-learning, which allows you to train neural networks with fewer training samples. Finally, you'll understand how to apply deep learning to autonomous vehicles. By the end of this book, you'll have mastered key deep learning concepts and the different applications of deep learning models in the real world. What you will learn Cover advanced and state-of-the-art neural network architectures Understand the theory and math behind neural networks Train DNNs and apply them to modern deep learning problems Use CNNs for object detection and image segmentation Implement generative adversarial networks (GANs) and variational autoencoders to generate new images Solve natural language processing (NLP) tasks, such as machine translation, using sequence-to-sequence models Understand DL techniques, such as meta-learning and graph neural networks Who this book is for This book is for data scientists, deep learning engineers and researchers, and AI developers who want to further their knowledge of deep learning and build innovative and unique deep learning projects. Anyone looking to get to grips with advanced use cases and methodologies adopted in the deep learning domain using real-world examples will also find this book useful. Basic understanding of deep learning concepts and working knowledge of the Python programming language is assumed.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781789956177Publication Date: 1996-03-01
Encyclopedia by
Volume 2 is the most comprehensive and detailed encyclopedia of solar energy and technology available today, containing all essential solar terms in one place. A convenient source for spelling, classifications, and concise definitions of terms encountered in the study, reading, and practice of solar technologies. The scope of the encyclopedia includes all terms of importance and topics of primary significance in the field. As the solar field is one of the fastest growing and changing sectors in the energy industry today, the ambition of this encyclopedia is to cover all key state-of-the-art solar components and technologies, including photovoltaic appliances and systems, solar-thermal systems, nanophotovoltaics, semiconductor materials and technologies, energy storage systems, software applications, solar architecture, measuring devices, units of measurements, mounting systems and components, hybrid power systems, solar occupations, infrastructure, rules and regulations, economics, and much more. Written in a clear, precise, and easy-to-understand style, the encyclopedia is equally accessible to solar specialists and laymen. It is ideal for students, solar enthusiasts, and solar professionals, such as solar technicians, electricians, installers, engineers, scientists, designers, architects, managers, salesmen, marketing specialists, attorneys, writers, and translators. Over 8000 entries used every day in the solar field - Accurate and up-to-date explanations of solar terms that keep the meaning in focus and provide the context in which terms are used Abbreviations and acronyms - Explanation of what they stand for, with links to the complete definitions Synonyms and related concepts - Help users identify words with identical or similar meaning References to related terms - Full cross-referencing between entries widens the semantic scope of terms and provides helpful links for further exploration Illustrations - Provide visual aids, offering additional clarification for complex concepts Names of important solar and sustainable energy organizations
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9783110475777Publication Date: 2018-10-08
Encyclopedia of Optimization by
From the reviews: ` The five volumes, plus an Index, of the "Encyclopedia of Optimization" are a major resource for anyone interested in optimization and its many applications ... these volumes will enable the user to quickly understand and make use of specific methods of optimization, and to apply them to applications of interest. ... The articles included in this "Encyclopedia" represent an invaluable source of information for anyone interested in optimization and its applications. ' Professor J.B. Rosen, Computer Science Dept., University of California at San Diego ` This is an extensively comprehensive piece of work that has been compiled by experts in a wide variety of areas throughout the world. ... this collection promises to be a valuable initial source of reference for many years to come. ' Professor Hanif D. Sherali, Thomas Rice Chaired Professor of Engineering, Dept. of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University ` Without any doubt the publishing of "Encyclopedia of Optimization" is an outstanding event of scientific life. Scientists can only thank and congratulate the Editors Prof. Floudas and Prof. Pardalos, Advisory Board and more than 400 contributors for perfect realization of this well-timed idea. .... It will be of interest to researchers, students and managers in a variety of disciplines where the study of optimization and its application is relevant: operations research and management science, economics and finance, control and modeling, logistics and many others. Even historians can find here biographies of selected outstanding researchers in the field of optimization and historical reviews in some articles. ... like a bridge to get to the heart of optimization and serving to disseminate ideas of optimization being an integral part of modern mathematics. ' Professor Naum Shor, Ukranian Academy of Sciences, Ukraine ` The "Encyclopedia of Optimization" covers practically all existing areas of optimization. It is essential that modern and recent results are presented by experts and the reader can get the information directly from the "horse's mouth". This is an essential advantage of the "Encyclopedia". .... it is a very successful publication which can be used by everybody who is involved in research and applications of optimization... it can be recommended for university libraries and industrial research institutes. ' Professor V.F. Demyanov, St. Petersburg State University, Russia ` The "Encyclopedia of Optimization" is a rich and comprehensive source of information on the many areas of its subject matter. It includes material on discrete, continuous, deterministic, and stochastic optimization problems, and it provides a convenient starting point for further research and exploration of the literature. This should be a very valuable reference work for researchers and practitioners of optimization alike. ' Prof. Dimitri P. Bertsekas, Dept. of Electrical Engineering, MIT ` I was really overwhelmed when I received this six volume "Encyclopedia of Optimization". ... covers many new fields of optimization in addition to complete discussions about standard topics by active researchers in each field. ... it should serve as an important reference for all who are involved in the field of optimization, which after more than half a century from its birth, is being applied to more and more difficult, important and practical problems. ' Professor
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780792369325Publication Date: 2001-06-30
Power Electronics Handbook by
Power Electronics Handbook, Fourth Edition, brings together over 100 years of combined experience in the specialist areas of power engineering to offer a fully revised and updated expert guide to total power solutions. Designed to provide the best technical and most commercially viable solutions available, this handbook undertakes any or all aspects of a project requiring specialist design, installation, commissioning and maintenance services. Comprising a complete revision throughout and enhanced chapters on semiconductor diodes and transistors and thyristors, this volume includes renewable resource content useful for the new generation of engineering professionals. This market leading reference has new chapters covering electric traction theory and motors and wide band gap (WBG) materials and devices. With this book in hand, engineers will be able to execute design, analysis and evaluation of assigned projects using sound engineering principles and adhering to the business policies and product/program requirements.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780128114070Publication Date: 2017-11-02
Login Credentials for accessing electronic resources remotely
Off-Campus Login Information
You will be prompted to enter a USER NAME and PIN to view and complete the Learning Modules and to access library databases off-campus. (See the image below). This information verifies you as a Southern University Student and registered library user.
REQUIRED LOGIN CREDENTIALS
USER NAME=BANNER NUMBER (Example: U0123456)
PIN=CHANGEME