LibGuides: SMED Library Resources & Services: SMED Databases

SMED Databases

The following library databases have been carefully curated to support SMED Research.

The library's databases contain various resources, including academic journals, articles, e-books, newspapers, multimedia, and others.

CLICK HERE TO VIEW DATABASES A to Z

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
AGRICOLA
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates to 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of approaches to health and wellness. It provides the latest information for the practice of holistic medicine and therapies, with in-depth coverage of complementary and alternative medicine.
Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,300 journals internationally. This database contains more than 13.2 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.
Computer Source
Computer Source contains 300 full-text journals and magazines. Content includes many subject areas and is not limited to computers, electronics, the internet, telecommunications, computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.
Engineering Village (Compendex)
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
Environment Complete
This leading full-text database offers extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books, and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.
GreenFile
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts(ISTA)
Information Science & Technology Abstracts™ is a leading database in the areas of information science. Subject coverage includes classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, electronic publishing, and more. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
Science & Technology Collection
Science & Technology Collection is a foundational full-text science database. It provides scholarly journals covering an array of science subjects, including chemistry, biology, computer technology and physics.
Science Direct
ScienceDirect is home to almost one-quarter of the world's peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. Over 15 million researchers, health care professionals, teachers, students and information professionals around the globe rely on ScienceDirect as a trusted source of nearly 2,200 journals and more than 26,000 book titles.

Login Credentials for accessing electronic resources remotely

Off-Campus Login Information

You will be prompted to enter a USER NAME and PIN to view and complete the Learning Modules and to access library databases off-campus. (See the image below). This information verifies you as a Southern University Student and registered library user.