SU Faculty
LIBRARY RESOURCES AND SERVICES FOR FACULTY
Welcome, Faculty!
The library welcomes faculty feedback, participation, and collaboration to support student success. Services to faculty that further that goal are outlined in this guide. Have an idea for a new service? Contact the librarians for assistance; we are happy to help.
A USER NAME and PIN are required to access the library's electronic resources remotely. Please complete the registration form by clicking on the link https://subr.libwizard.com/f/Report-Access-Issue.
Teaching Support
- Contact your Library Liaison Meet with a librarian to identify specific research resources available for your course. We can also create a course page that highlights relevant resources to help your students with their research assignments.
- Request to embed a Librarian in your course The Embedded Librarian is available to deliver services in a way that answers student questions in a timely and personalized way with continuity. Embedded Librarians also maintain a presence in and among your class to support teaching assignments.
- Faculty Course Reserve Request Form Please complete this form if you would like to place course information on electronic reserves in Moodle.
- Information Literacy Instruction Reservation Form Have a librarian tailor a library instruction session for your class research assignment.
- Instruct InfoLIt Modules Instructors, please contact Ms. Payne with your name and course information if you would like to embed Instruct in your Moodle course. Email: maletta_payne@subr.edu.
- LibGuides (Subject Guides) Course guides can be created by your library liaison.
- John B. Cade Library Classroom Reservation FormComplete this form to reserve a classroom at John B. Cade Library.
- Library Research Consultation Request Virtual Library Consultations with John B. Cade Librarians Have a research question? Library Liaisons are available to consult with you at every stage of the research process. Schedule a virtual appointment by completing the form in the box below or text us with your questions at (225) 475-3176. Your question will be forwarded to your Library Liaison.
- SU Institutional Repository-BePress The SU Institutional Repository(BePress) provides open, online access to the University's research and scholarship to preserve these works for future generations, and to promote a new model of scholarly communication.
- OER/AER Course Schedule Marking Beginning in Fall of 2020, each public postsecondary education institution shall implement the course schedule marking. As a result of Act 125/SB117, Louisiana’s postsecondary public colleges and universities are required to “use a conspicuous symbol, logo, or other distinguishing feature to highlight each course included in its course schedule that exclusively utilizes AER or OER course materials.” This handout distributed by the Board of Regents outline this process.
- OER/AER Faculty Portal The Faculty Portal provides access to Open Educational Resources and Affordable Educational Resources (Electronic Books purchased by the library)
- Northstar Digital Literacy The Northstar Digital Literacy Certificate program is a free self-guided online set of assessments that show your ability to perform basic computer tasks. You can earn a certificate in each of these areas: Essential Computer Skills (Basic Computer Skills, Internet Basics, Using Email, Windows, MAC OS) Essential Software Skills (Word, Excel, PowerPoint) Using Technology in Daily Life (Social Media, Information Literacy, and Creative Job Search)
Open Educational Resources Support
- SUBR Open Educational Resources GuideThe Open Educational Resource guide contains a curated list of repositories and aggregators used to locate OER to support teaching and learning at Southern University.
- AFFORDABLE LEARNING LOUISIANAThe Affordable Learning LOUISiana Initiative is a pilot project funded by The Louisiana Board of Regents. Its purpose is to promote affordable learning resources in the state to help reduce students’ cost for required course materials. Using the Louisiana State Common Course Catalog, LOUIS library consortium created and maintain a list of potential open education resources (OERs) that faculty may choose to adopt in their courses. It is the primary source of OER content for this project and content from the OER repositories will be included on an ongoing basis.
Library Hours
Fall/Spring LIBRARY HOURS
Mon.-Thurs. 7:30 am-12:00 am
Friday 7:30 am-5:00 pm
Saturday 1:00 pm-5:00 pm
Sunday 2:00 pm-12:00 am
John B. Cade Library Departments
About Publons
Publons is a free service that makes it easy for researchers to track and demonstrate their impact as authors, journal editors, and peer reviewers, in one place. Register for a free Publons profile today and to join the world's researchers and show more of your research impact.
Use Publons to track your publications, citation metrics, peer reviews, and journal editing work in a single, easy-to maintain profile.
- All your publications, instantly imported from Web of Science, ORCID, or your bibliographic reference manager (e.g. EndNote or Mendeley)
- Trusted citation metrics, automatically imported from the Web of Science
- Your verified peer review and journal editing history, powered by partnerships with thousands of scholarly journals
- Downloadable record summarizing your scholarly impact as an author, editor and peer reviewer
Library Resources
- DATABASES A TO Z This page contains a complete list of databases available at John B. Cade Library.
- Electronic Textbooks This page contains a complete list of electronic textbooks available at John B. Cade Library.
- John B. Cade Library Remote Services The page contains a complete list of library services offered remotely.
- Library Publications Library Publications searches the library's journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and much more. Utilize Library Publications when you want to see if the Library has a specific journal. If the journal you are researching appears click FULL TEXT ACCESS for years of coverage.
- Renew Books Click this link to renew titles checked-out.
- Review Library Account Click this link to view titles checked-out.
Databases A to Z
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
Research Support
- IngentaConnect Ingenta Connect offers online access to the full text of electronic articles, through online purchase (library purchases the article) of individual articles, or through subscriptions to publications. Just complete your request. Service is free of charge to SU Faculty.
- Interlibrary Loan Have materials delivered from other universities . Articles held only in print can be scanned and delivered by email.
- Click here to complete an LALINC Request ApplicationLALINC Request Application LALINC (Louisiana Academic Library Information Consortium) is a service that allow faculty to check-out books not owned by John B. Cade LIbrary from other Louisiana Libraries *some restrictions apply*
- LALINC Borrowing Chart Contains of lending libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan Registration If you are a first time user you are required to complete the ILLIAD registration.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
- SU ROARS SU-ROARS is a new article delivery service that allows the library to access journal articles and deliver to users within 2 hours to 24 hours. This service is tailored to provide on-demand access to meet the immediate research needs of users and provide access to articles that are not available via the library’s databases and subscriptions.
Collection Development
- Faculty Portal (Search for Class Resources) Search the Faculty Portal for Affordable Educational Resources and Open Educational Resources.