John B. Cade Library OER/AER e-Textbooks: E-Textbooks Fall 2024

Written by two award-winning broadcast journalists, this book offers a practical, hands-on guide to the modern digital TV newsroom. Pulling from extensive industry experience, the authors provide a comprehensive look at the key journalistic skills needed to excel in broadcast news today, including storytelling, writing, story pitching, video production, interviewing and managing social media. The textbook is organized into five sections: building a foundation, storytelling and writing, producing, live performance, and ethics and career progression. The authors also provide step-by-step instructions on how to efficiently multitask while staying true to journalist ethics. Each chapter includes clear learning objectives, review questions and practical assignments, making it ideal for classroom use. QR codes integrated in the text allow students to easily see and hear examples of the stories they are learning to write. Broadcast News in the Digital Age is an engaging, student-friendly guide for those seeking to become successful writers, producers, anchors and journalists in today's newsrooms, both on-air and online.

A well-written, hands-on, single-source guide to the professional practice of civil engineering There is a growing understanding that to be competitive at an international level, civil engineers not only must build on their traditional strengths in technology and science but also must acquire greater mastery of the business of civil engineering. Project management, teamwork, ethics, leadership, and communication have been defined as essential to the successful practice of civil engineering by the ASCE in the 2008 landmark publication, Civil Engineering Body of Knowledge for the 21st Century (BOK2). This single-source guide is the first to take the practical skills defined by the ASCE BOK2 and provide illuminating techniques, quotes, case examples, problems, and information to assist the reader in addressing the many challenges facing civil engineers in the real world. Civil Engineer's Handbook of Professional Practice: Focuses on the business and management aspects of a civil engineer's job, providing students and practitioners with sound business management principles Addresses contemporary issues such as permitting, globalization, sustainability, and emerging technologies Offers proven methods for balancing speed, quality, and price with contracting and legal issues in a client-oriented profession Includes guidance on juggling career goals, life outside work, compensation, and growth From the challenge of sustainability to the rigors of problem recognition and solving, this book is an essential tool for those practicing civil engineering.

This straightforward and effective how-to guide provides the basics for any reporter or journalism student beginning to use data for news stories. It has step-by-step instructions on how to do basic data analysis in journalism while addressing why these digital tools should be an integral part of reporting in the 21st century. In an ideal core text for courses on data-driven journalism or computer-assisted reporting, Houston emphasizes that journalists are accountable for the accuracy and relevance of the data they acquire and share. With a refreshed design, this updated new edition includes expanded coverage on social media, scraping data from the web, and text-mining, and provides journalists with the tips and tools they need for working with data.

Ultimately, all successful recreation programs centre around its participants wants and needs. Serving people with disabilities are no exception. Introduction to Recreation Services for People with Disabilities is intended to be an introductory book for anyone planning or working in the parks, recreation, and the leisure service industry. Through real-life experiences, wisdom gathered from students in the classroom, and thought provoking conversations with colleagues, the authors are able to blend existent research with real practicality. Regardless of your area of speciality or emphasis, you will gain a basic level of knowledge concerning people with disabilities after reading this book.

The ninth edition of The Tools & Techniques of Life Insurance Planning is written to help planners and advisors understand the tools needed to use life insurance as a part of a successful financial, business, or estate plan, and how to use these tools in the most effective ways. We had one major goal in mind when writing this book: "To create the single best source of up-to-date, pragmatic, and transferable information on the topics you need to help others." With the growing labyrinth of highly technical and interrelated tax and other laws that have an impact upon clients and their plans, our task--and yours has become exceedingly difficult. We believe The Tools & Techniques of Life Insurance Planning will be of significant help in this regard. Throughout the chapters of this book, you'll find unique charts, checklists, graphs, examples, and references to assist you in absorbing these highly complex concepts and product nuances. In turn you will be able to convey these to clients in a clear and simple manner. This title features: Detailed information about the entire range of life insurance products that can be used by estate and financial planners in a wide variety of circumstances Coverage of advanced topics, such as 103 exchanges, the transfer-for-value rule, and the use of life insurance products for charitable gift planning New in the Ninth Edition: Chapters have been reordered to provide an easier to comprehend progression of product design and complexity. Text has been updated to reflect recent changes to the regulatory environment. Product descriptions, illustrations and tables have been revised to include newer product designs. Discussions of Income and Estate Taxation of life insurance products have been consolidated in chapters devoted to taxes. Added new Techniques chapter 20 which highlights all the different advanced life insurance planning opportunities and serves as an introduction to the remaining Techniques chapters. Added new and enhanced discussion of planning techniques such as: Split premium bonus arrangements Life expectancy loan regime split dollar Generational split dollar Spousal lifetime access trusts (SLATs) Life insurance retirement plan (LIRP) Insured controlled cross-purchase buy-sell arrangement Enhanced discussion of what constitutes a "top hat" plan for non-qualified deferred compensation plan purposes Topics Covered: Planning techniques for retirement income needs, estate and gift tax avoidance, estate liquidity needs, and long-term care planning Plain-language descriptions of the tax consequences of various life insurance products and strategies that plans can use to minimize tax liabilities And More! See the "Table of Contents" section for a full list of topics