John B. Cade Library
You can begin your search for scholarly research articles by clicking on the link to the databases below. All databases listed on this page are specifically beneficial for nursing research. If you have any questions, or if you experience problems accessing the any of the databases listed. Please feel free to contact me @ (225)771-2604, by email: maletta_payne@subr.edu.
Remember, If you are working off-campus you will be prompted to enter your User Name & Pin.
User Name= Banner ID Number (Example: U0123456)
Pin=CHANGEME
- Need to FIND A SPECIFIC JOURNAL BY TITLE? CLICK HEREThis link you let you know if John B. Cade Library has a journal by searching across all databases. You will also be able to determine date ranges for journal titles.
- PubMed Search StrategiesThe blog has been created to share PubMed Search Strategies.
Core Nursing Databases
- Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new window
The index of Abstracts in Social Gerontology contains tens of thousands of carefully-selected records. These records originate from the most important sources within the discipline, such as:AgeAge and AgingAging Clinical & Experimental ResearchAmerican Journal of Geriatric PsychiatryNeurobiology of AgingJournals of Gerontology SeriesExperimental Gerontology and many others. - Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full-text articles for 200 international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports.
- APA PsycINFO (Formerly PsychInfo) This link opens in a new windowFrom the American Psychological Association. Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 24 languages. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for nursing and allied health journals, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937. Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and most effective treatment options.
- Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text offers a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works since 1997, along with selected full text works written prior to 1997.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new windowHaPI contains a wide range of records that provide comprehensive, accurate information about a variety of measurement instruments: Checklists, Coding Schemes, Indexes, Interview schedules, projective techniques, questionnaires, rating scales, surveys, test, vignettes/scenarios.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry and many more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for hundreds of medical journals. Content Includes: Full-text for more than 2,400 journalsFull-text coverage dating back to 1865Ongoing full text and deep backfile coverage for many key journals Subjects Include: BiomedicinePre-Clinical SciencesBehavioral SciencesBioengineeringHealth Policy DevelopmentLife ScienceAnd much more…
- Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) formerly Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new windowNursing & Allied Health Premium provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 1,200 titles, with over 1,050 titles in full-text, plus more than 15,700 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
- OvidSP This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly nursing journals. Access Full-text articles that give in-depth research regarding numerous nursing-related topics and relevant medical research.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is home to almost one-quarter of the world's peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. Over 15 million researchers, health care professionals, teachers, students and information professionals around the globe rely on ScienceDirect as a trusted source of nearly 2,200 journals and more than 26,000 book titles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection is a trusted citation index for scientific and scholarly research. It is a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.
- eBook Nursing Collection This link opens in a new windoweBook Nursing Collection features more than 600 hand-selected, quality e-books that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks, and professional growth titles.
- eBook Medicine Collection (SpringerLink) This link opens in a new windowThe Medicine eBook Collection is designed to provide clinically relevant information to all members of the patient-care team, an integral part of delivering first-rate, comprehensive care.
Secondary Databases
- Academic Search CompleteThis database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. The level and range of content included in this resource fully supports scholarly research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- Mental Measurement YearbookProduced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this database provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
- E-Book CollectionThe eBook Collection provides access to full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers. These eBooks are digital versions of print books from a broad range of subject areas and topics. In many cases, the eBook copy is the only copy of the book owned by the library although in some cases a local print copy is also available.
- Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new windowEBSCO Discovery Service offers you a single access point to searching a vast range of our library's resources. In addition to the library holdings you can search in thousands of journals and in all EBSCO databases.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowSocial Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Instructions on how to access databases
Database Search Options
- Databases A to ZClick here for a complete list of databases available at John B. Cade Library
- Library PublicationsLibrary Publications is useful when you want to search the library's collection for a particular journal title.
Open Access Databases for Evidence Based Practice
- Cochrane Library Cochrane works collaboratively with contributors around the world to produce authoritative, relevant, and reliable evidence, in the form of Cochrane Reviews. Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy, and are internationally recognized as the highest standard in evidence-based health care resources. They investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation. They also assess the accuracy of a diagnostic test for a given condition in a specific patient group and setting. They are published online in the Cochrane Library.
- PubMed Conduct your search using PubMed from this link.
- NLM Catalog: Journals referenced in the NCBI DatabasesThe NLM Catalog provides access to NLM bibliographic data for journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources and other materials. Links to the library's holdings in LocatorPlus, NLM's online public access catalog, are also provided.
- Nursing Open Nursing Open is a peer reviewed open access journal that welcomes articles on all aspects of nursing and midwifery practice, research, education and policy. We aim to publish articles that contribute to the art and science of nursing and which have a positive impact on health either locally, nationally, regionally or globally