About School of Nursing E-Textbooks
School of Nursing Textbooks
John B. Cade Library through the Affordable Learning Initiative now has a growing collection, of course, adopted nursing e-Textbooks. Scroll down to view the list of nursing books available at Cade Library.
How to view e-Textbook Titles
To view e-Textbooks, Click on the title's hyperlink.
Off-campus Access- To access e-textbooks off-campus enter the following:
USER NAME= Banner Number (Example: U0123456)
PIN=CHANGEME
CLICK HERE TO REPORT LOGIN OR TECHNICAL ISSUES
Nursing Electronic Textbook
Advanced Practice Nursing by
Advanced Practice Nursing:Essential Knowledge for the Profession, Third Edition is a core advanced practice text used in both Master's Level and DNP programs. The Third Edition is a unique compilation of existing chapters from a variety of high-level Jones & Bartlett Learning works creating a comprehensive and well-rounded resource for the advanced practice nursing student. Similar to the previous edition, The Third Edition features updated content around the AACN's Master's Essentials as well as the Essentials for Doctoral Education. Throughout this text the authors address the rapid changes in the health care environment with a special focus on health care finance, electronic health records, quality and safety as well as emerging roles for the advanced practice nurse. Patient care in the context of advanced nursing roles is also covered.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781284072570Publication Date: 2015-03-23
Burns and Grove's the Practice of Nursing Research by
Master the research methods used as a foundation for evidence-based practice! Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research, 8th Edition provides a solid foundation in the appraisal, synthesis, and generation of research evidence for clinical nursing practice. Not only will you learn how to properly evaluate and use existing research evidence, but you'll also learn how to participate in research and quality improvement projects. Updated to reflect today's focus on online research and evidence-based practice, this edition includes clear, step-by-step guidelines to research procedures as well as many examples from current and classic literature. From an expert author team led by Jennifer Gray, this book helps you perform scholarly research for evidence-based practice. Emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you learn to generate research evidence and to appraise and synthesize existing research for application to clinical practice. Emphasis on qualitative research includes phenomenological research, grounded theory research, ethnographic research, exploratory-descriptive research, and historical research. Coverage of quantitative, qualitative, and other research methodologies gives you a solid foundation to conduct, appraise, and apply research evidence to the realities of today's clinical practice. Rich examples from the nursing literature bring research principles to life. Information on collecting digital data guides you through the use of online research. Clear, comprehensive coverage is organized into five units: 1) Introduction to Nursing Research, 2) The Research Process, 3) Putting It All Together for Evidence-Based Health Care, 4) Analyzing Data, Determining Outcomes, and Disseminating Research, and 5) Proposing and Seeking Funding for Research. NEW Mixed Methods Research chapter and emphasis covers this increasingly popular approach to research. NEW! Expanded emphasis on qualitative research provides more balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative methods, addressing the qualitative research methodologies that are often the starting point of research projects, particularly in magnet hospitals and DNP programs. ENHANCED emphasis on evidence-based practice addresses this key graduate-level QSEN competency. UPDATED emphasis on the most currently used research methodologies focuses on the methods used in both quantitative research and qualitative research, as well as outcomes research and mixed methods research. NEW! Quick-reference summaries are located inside the book's covers, including a table of research methods on the inside front cover and a list of types of research syntheses (with definitions) inside the back cover. NEW student resources on the Evolve companion website include 400 interactive review questions along with a library of 10 Elsevier research articles. NEW! Colorful design highlights key information such as tables and research examples
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780323293310Publication Date: 2016-09-23
Caring for the Vulnerable Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research by
Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research focuses on vulnerable populations and how nurses can care for them, develop programs for them, conduct research, and influence health policy. Units I and II focus on concepts and theories; Unit III on research; Units IV, V, and VI on practice-oriented measures, including teaching nursing students to work with vulnerable patients and clients; and Unit VII on policy. The text provides a broad overview of material critical to working with these populations, comprehensive treatment of issues related to vulnerable populations, outstanding contributors who are experts in what they write, and a global focus.The Fifth Edition will be a major overhaul, as each new edition of this text has been. There will be a total of 31 new chapters focusing on new and emerging research on vulnerable populations. This text is generally used as a supplement in a wide variety of courses - from health promotion to population health, to global health.New to the Fifth Edition:Thirty-one new chapters focusing on new and emerging research on vulnerable populations, exploring topics such as: Intersection of Racial Disparities and Privilege in Women's HealthHIV Prevention EducationCaring for the Transgender CommunityCaring for Vulnerable Populations: Outcomes with the DNP-Prepared NurseWith some chapters delving into key clinical topics in identified regions, such as:Opioid Abuse and Diversion Prevention in Rural Eastern Kentucky The Effects of Gun Trauma on Rural Montana Healthcare ProvidersHealth Care in MexicoFifth edition will continue to focus more on DNP authors and assess each chapter for relevance to DNP-prepared nursesFeatures an included test bank, practice activities, PPTs, IM, and a sample syllabus
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781284146813Publication Date: 2019-02-18
The Concise APA Handbook by
"Most students struggle with learning how to find references, use them effectively, and cite them appropriately in a required format. One of the most common formats is that of APA. The authors all have vast experience teaching writing courses to various levels of students from undergraduates to graduates in other countries. However, there was lacking a book that could explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language, because the information is presented in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that make sense to both native and non-native English speaking student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this important information that is concise and easy to understand."--
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781648021831Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Contemporary Health Promotion in Nursing Practice by
Contemporary Health Promotion in Nursing Practice, Second Edition describes why nurses are positioned to model and promote healthy behaviors to the public, and how they can promote health to the community. The Second Edition emphasizes the nurse's role in health promotion and illustrates how healthy behaviors like weight management, positive dietary changes, smoking cessation, and exercise are more likely to be adopted by clients if nurses model these behaviors. Contemporary Health Promotion in Nursing Practice, Second Edition features updated content around the topics of health promotion theories; health disparities and health promotion policy to reflect changes in the healthcare landscape. Key Features: Revised content around epigenetics and nursing informatics Healthy People 2020 guidelines referenced throughout the text Navigate 2 Advantage Access
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781284094749Publication Date: 2016-08-19
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Scholarly Project by
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Scholarly Project: A Framework for Success, Second Edition focuses on assisting students and faculty with creating a system for the completion of the DNP scholarly project. The text provides a roadmap for DNP students to use on their journey from project conception through completion and dissemination. The overall goal of the Second Edition is to introduce a process that will help students work through their project, resolve project variability across programs, and assist faculty and others working with DNP students as they complete their scholarly work. The Second Edition provides an updated historical perspective of the DNP degree and guides students on the development of the scholarly project. Lastly, it focuses on project evaluation and outcomes as well as how the scholarly project contributes to evidence-based nursing practice. This text is intended for practical application and provides the framework for the scholarly work process.Key Features: Sample manuscript for student reference New chapter on scholarly project toolsAction plans found at the conclusion of each chapterUpdated interviews from practicing DNP graduatesInstructor Resources Include: Instructor's ManualPowerPoint presentations
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781284079685Publication Date: 2016-03-18
Evidence-Based Practice an Integrative Approach to Research, Administration, and Pra by
Evidence-Based Practice: An Integrative Approach to Research, Administration, and Practice, Second Edition is an excellent reference for interdisciplinary education and clinical agencies, as well as disciplines focused on translating research evidence to quality practices. The authors provide sound information on the research process and critical appraisal, and use a unique integrative-collaborative approach to apply these principles. They also develop a strong conceptualization of integration of research and evidence-based practice from a clinical and administrative perspective. Learning objectives are included at the beginning of each chapter to identify important concepts and guide readers through the content covered in the text, and review questions and case studies help readers apply what they have learned. The Second Edition will take a more global perspective on health policy and health care.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781284098754Publication Date: 2016-08-18
Health Assessment Made Incredibly Visual! by
Ready to learn health assessment skills? The fully updated Health Assessment Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition, shows you how--with humor, great visuals, and real-life scenarios. Hundreds of colorful drawings, diagrams, and photos support easy-to-follow, expert nursing instruction on the many skills needed for physical exams and assessments of every body system, from head to toe. Fulfill the requirements of student nursing--and start your nursing practice with a high standard--with this top-level direction on performing solid, accurate health assessments! Benefit from the expert wisdom of this invaluable guide, featuring . . . NEW content on geriatric care from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth and Fifth Edition (DSM-4 and DSM-5) Simple-to-use and easy-to-follow guidance on all aspects of health assessment Fully illustrated examples of best practices - Current nursing standards for each type of assessment Support for accurate assessment - Guides you through the anatomy and assessment processes for each body system or health issue, including skin, hair, and nails; eyes and ears; nose, mouth, throat, and neck; pregnancy, and the respiratory, cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, neurologic, and genitourinary systems Step-by-step guidance on examination skills with photos, diagrams, drawings, and descriptions for areas including : Use of examination tools and equipment Choosing, using, and interpreting assessment test Spotting abnormalities Palpating the nose and maxillary sinuses Measuring diaphragm movement Percussing the chest Measuring vision Assessing eye muscle function Hearing and voice assessments Special Chapter Features: Take Note - Real-life examples of documentation for complex conditions Outside the norm - Photos and explanations of abnormalities Memory board - Memory tricks that help you remember vital concepts and key treatments Symptom synopsis - Symptoms, key facts, and possible causes for numerous conditions Skill check - Expert guidance, backed by real-life photos, on how to examine and assess different body systems and functions Q&A - End-of-chapter quizzes--puzzles, riddles, and multiple-choice questions to help you retain essential information
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781496325143Publication Date: 2016-11-15
A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by
Prepare your students to deliver safe, effective, and informed care for patients who are undergoing diagnostic tests and procedures with the Ninth Edition of A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests . Organized the way a nurse thinks--by specimen and function--this proven book describes an extensive array of tests for diverse populations, providing step-by-step guidance on correct procedure, tips for accurate interpretation, and expert information on patient preparation and aftercare. Featuring additional tests, updated reference values, and coverage of the latest advances in CT scans, nuclear scans, and genetics, this edition maintains the organization and coverage that have made it the ideal reference and point-of-care guide for educational and practice settings. This Ninth Edition is accompanied by a complete online teaching and learning package that includes case studies for application, a wide range of in-class activities and assignments, and Blackboard and WebCT cartridges for course management. Prepare for practice with tests grouped according to specimen, function, and test type (blood, urine, stool, cerebrospinal fluid, etc.). Learn vital information to keep in mind when implementing tests with "Clinical Alerts" that highlight critical safety information. Easily find the test you're looking for even if you don't know the exact name with a presentation that supports the way a nurse thinks. Master key information with helpful tips, inclusion of both conventional and SI units, and coverage of clinical implications for increased and decreased values.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781451190892Publication Date: 2014-02-04
Measurement in Nursing and Health Research, Fifth Edition by
Praise for the Previous Edition: "This is a valuable resource for readers seeking basic to advanced information on measurement. It should be on the bookshelf of all researchers, and a requirement for graduate nursing students." Score: 100, 5 stars -- Doody's Medical Reviews "...this book is a wonderful shelf reference for nurse researcher mentors and investigators who may need to explore content or use content to design, test, select, and evaluate instruments and methods used in measuring nurse concepts and outcomes." --Clinical Nurse Specialist "Presents clearly the methodological principles for research planning in nursing with examples that facilitate the understanding of them. Excellent." 5.0 out of 5 stars --Nursing Research This highly popular resource--written in an easy-to-read style and format-- delivers everything nurses and other health researchers need to know about designing, testing, selecting, and evaluating instruments and methods for measurement in nursing. The Fifth Edition features the most current content, strategies, and procedures available with direct applicability to nurses and health researchers engaging in interprofessional research, collaboration, education, and evidence-based practice. Five new chapters focus on challenges to using big data, evaluation and measurement in interprofessional practice and education, metrics and benchmarking in health professions education and practice, and measurement issues in translational science. The book gives particular attention to measurement issues resulting from changes in nursing, health research, and the increased emphasis on and undertaking of interprofessional research and evaluation. Presenting the material in step-by-step format, the book is designed for readers with little or no experience in measurement, statistics, or interprofessional issues. It focuses on increasing the reader's ability to use measures that are operationalized within the context of theories and conceptual frameworks, derived from sound measurement principles and practices and adequately tested for reliability and validity. Additionally, the text provides a pragmatic account of the processes involved in all aspects of measurement. Studies conducted by nurses and researchers in varied settings illustrate the measurement processes. New to the Fifth Edition: Thoroughly updated and revisedDelivers new and emerging strategiesReflects recent changes to nursing, health research, and emphasis on interprofessional researchIncludes five completely new chapters addressing challenges to using big data, evaluation and measurement in interprofessional practice and education, metrics and benchmarking in health professions education and practice, and measurement issues in translational science Key Features: Easy-to-read content and formatAssumes no prior knowledge of measurement, statistics, or interprofessional issuesProvides studies conducted by nurses and researchers in varied settingsOffers a pragmatic account of the processes involved inn all aspects of measurement
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780826170613Publication Date: 2016-07-28
Nursing by
The key to success in nursing school is effective studying Why not have a concise study guide that conveys all the essential, tested material for each course? Tired of buying study guides for each nursing course? This is the ultimate, all-in-one study guide to the core information nursing students need for success in all of their foundational courses. This is a small study guide that packs a big punch. This guide is also a great tool for new nurse graduates. Presented in a well-organized and easy-to-read style, it contains everything a nursing student needs to know from the first nursing course through the last. The second edition is updated with critical new information about medications, lab values, assessments, emerging disorders, and nursing interventions. It includes three new chapters: "What to Expect in Nursing School," "Decreasing Test Anxiety," and "Emergency Nursing." The guide closely follows the standard nursing curriculum and is designed as a reference for every core nursing course. To facilitate successful exam preparation, the text highlights important material most likely to appear on class exams. Also included are tips on what to expect on the NCLEX-RN√ . NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: New and updated information on medications, lab values, emerging conditions, and nursing interventions A new chapter on emergency nursing A new chapter on anxiety-reducing test-taking strategies A new chapter on what to expect in nursing school
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780826130228Publication Date: 2015-07-20
Nursing Care Planning Made Incredibly Easy! by
Get clear on nursing care planning and map the way to positive outcomes--in the classroom and in clinical practice--with the thoroughly updated Nursing Care Planning Made Incredibly Easy!®, 3rd Edition. Learn step-by-step how to build a concept map, develop a nursing diagnosis, and choose realistic outcomes and individualized interventions. This nursing guide leads you expertly through the care plan process, backed by the Made Incredibly Easy series' trademark humor, plentiful illustrations, and down-to-earth explanations. Master the concepts and process of care planning ... NEW and updated guidance on following the evidence-based standards of North American Nursing Diagnosis Association (NANDA) diagnoses, and Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC) and Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) guidelines Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC), and Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) guidelines NEW full-color design--dozens of illustrations and diagrams that outline the process of concept mapping, diagramming, and intervention planning NEW guidance on creating electronic plans--online access to 166 customizable care plans covering every nursing specialty, including new plans for gastric bypass, preterm labor, and cerebral palsy, plus examples of handwritten care plans NEW Nurse Joy and Jake offer practical advice throughout Breaks down the process of creating individualized care plans into easy-to-follow segments Guides nursing students and new nurses into the critical thinking and planning skills needed to choose appropriate, effective treatments and interventions Case study exercises and clinical tips to help you integrate care plan concepts and evidence-based standards with real-life situations Part I discusses NANDA-I, NOC, and NIC --covers assessment, nursing diagnosis, planning, implementation, evaluation, and integrating the concepts Part II integrates major nursing diagnoses with common medical diagnoses --addresses medical-surgical, maternal-neonatal, pediatric, and psychiatric diagnoses Chapter features include: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Under construction --sample concept maps and care plan components, with tips for creating individualized care plans On the case --visual, step-by-step instruction applied to real-life patient care scenarios Weighing the evidence --the latest evidence-based standards of care, demonstrated in sample care plans Teacher knowsbest --helpful tips and reminders to help you apply what you are learning Memory jogger --techniques for remembering vital content
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781496382566Publication Date: 2017-12-20
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by
Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 11th Edition helps practicing nurses and nursing students select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. This convenient handbook shows you how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Extensively revised and updated with the new 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, it integrates the NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to guide you in creating unique, individualized care plans. Comprehensive, up-to-date information on all the 2015-2017 NANDA-I nursing diagnoses so you stay in the know. UNIQUE! Provides care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis plus two unique care plans for Hearing Loss and Vision Loss. Includes pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, client/family teaching and discharge planning, home care, and safety interventions as necessary for plans of care. Presents examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes in each care plan. UNIQUE! Care Plan Constructor on the companion Evolve website offers hands-on practice creating customized plans of care. 150 NCLEX exam-style review questions are available on Evolve. Promotes evidence-based interventions and rationales by including recent or classic research that supports the use of each intervention. Classic evidence-based references promote evidence-based interventions and rationales. Clear, concise interventions are usually only a sentence or two long and use no more than two references. Safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care. Step-by-step instructions show you how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care. List of Nursing Diagnosis Index in back inside cover of book for quick reference. Three-column index is easy to use. Easy-to-follow sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selecting appropriate nursing diagnoses. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. NEW! Includes the new 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, compete with 26 new diagnoses. NEW and UPDATED! Provides the latest NIC/NOC, interventions, and rationales for every care plan. EXPANDED! Additional information on concept based nursing and major nursing theories provides you with the knowledge you need for clinical success. EXPANDED! New content on QSEN, safety, and risk for infection keeps you up to date. NEW! In-depth coverage of wellness and primary prevention stresses the importance of health and wellness. NEW! Appendixes in the text provide you with valuable information in an easy-to-access location. NEW! Revised references in APA style.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780323322249Publication Date: 2016-02-25
Nursing Documentation Made Incredibly Easy! by
Feeling unsure about the ins and outs of charting? Grasp the essential basics, with the irreplaceable Nursing Documentation Made Incredibly Easy !® , 5th Editio n. Packed with colorful images and clear-as-day guidance, this friendly reference guides you through meeting documentation requirements, working with electronic medical records systems, complying with legal requirements, following care planning guidelines, and more. Whether you are a nursing student or a new or experienced nurse, this on-the-spot study and clinical guide is your ticket to ensuring your charting is timely, accurate, and watertight. Let the experts walk you through up-to-date best practices for nursing documentation, with: NEW and updated , fully illustrated content in quick-read, bulleted format NEW discussion of the necessary documentation process outside of charting--informed consent, advanced directives, medication reconciliation Easy-to-retain guidance on using the electronic medical records / electronic health records (EMR/EHR) documentation systems, and required charting and documentation practices Easy-to-read, easy-to-remember content that provides helpful charting examples demonstrating what to document in different patient situations, while addressing the different styles of charting Outlines the Do's and Don'ts of charting - a common sense approach that addresses a wide range of topics, including: Documentation and the nursing process--assessment, nursing diagnosis, planning care/outcomes, implementation, evaluation Documenting the patient's health history and physical examination The Joint Commission standards for assessment Patient rights and safety Care plan guidelines Enhancing documentation Avoiding legal problems Documenting procedures Documentation practices in a variety of settings--acute care, home healthcare, and long-term care Documenting special situations--release of patient information after death, nonreleasable information, searching for contraband, documenting inappropriate behavior Special features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of each chapter's content Advice from the experts - seasoned input on vital charting skills, such as interviewing the patient, writing outcome standards, creating top-notch care plans "Nurse Joy" and "Jake" - expert insights on the nursing process and problem-solving That's a wrap! - a review of the topics covered in that chapter About the Clinical Editor Kate Stout, RN, MSN, is a Post Anesthesia Care Staff Nurse at Dosher Memorial Hospital in Southport, North Carolina.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781496394736Publication Date: 2018-07-31
Nursing Now! by
Explores the issues affecting nursing today and in the future. Case studies, cartoon vignettes, and critical-thinking exercises help you to connect the content to nursing practice. Provides general and NCLEX®-specific smart test-taking tips. Covers the Licensure, Accreditation, Certification & Education (LACE) model that outlines a future plan for advanced practice nursing education. Offers practical information on preparing a professional resume, fine-tuning interview skills, and preparing a portfolio. Addresses conflict resolution, lateral violence, and bullying in the workplace. Presents integrative healing practices that reflect current alternative therapies and complementary health practices.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780803674882Publication Date: 2019-10-03
Pediatric Nursing by
Pediatric Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! is a handy reference book in the award-winning Incredibly Easy! style—perfect for those entering or needing a refresher in pediatric nursing, a core subject for nurses. This book organizes those developmental concerns and childhood disorders in an intuitive way, while weaving a family-centered approach to practice throughout the material. So, whether she’s a student looking for NCLEX or course help, a practicing nurse needing some targeted information on a difficult topic, or a clinician prepping for certification, Pediatric Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! is the perfect reference for her.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781496324306Publication Date: 2004-07-12- Philosophy of Science for Nursing Practice by Named a 2013 Doody's Core Title "A challenge ahead for nursing is to take the path of most resistance rather than the easier road of least resistance. The debate needs to continue... by focusing on] whether nursing is teaching an appropriate level of inquiry including philosophy and methodologies specific to those real-world, rapidly changing conditions that characterize today's practice environment." From the Foreword by Sally J. Reel, PhD, RN, FNP, BC, FAAN, FAANP University of Arizona College of Nursing "I have taught a philosophy of science course intermittently for about 20 years. Philosophy of Science for Nursing Practice is not only the most succinct, insightful, well-organized presentation of information I've yet seen, but drives thinking to where it ought to be." Laura Cox Dzurec, PhD, PMHCNS-BC Dean and Professor Kent State University College of Nursing "This appears to be the first book that focuses on the philosophy of science and its application to practice doctorates. The authors assume readers may not have a formal background in the philosophy of science, and write in a conversational tone with a minimum of difficult terminology. They discuss the current state of DNP education in a way that can foster discourse and debate." Score: 97, 5 Stars. --Doody's Medical Reviews Tailored for both DNP and PhD doctoral nursing programs, this text is the first to focus on philosophy of science applications to the discipline of nursing. The authors, a philosopher and a nurse-scholar who co-teach the course upon which this volume is based, address a growing need for increased philosophy of science content in evolving DNP programs, as well as practice-oriented research considerations for this discipline. The volume presents a creative use of the social, political, and historical content in which nursing has evolved. As a whole, this extremely important text reassures the student of the fluid and palpable connections between philosophy of science and nursing science and practice.Key Features: Explores the concept of nursing as a practice profession and assesses how much philosophy of science is needed for doctoral nursing students. Examines the practical application of the philosophy of science to both DNP and PhD students. Addresses the basic principles and concepts of the philosophy of science and their practical application for contemporary practice inquiry. Provides an overview of the century-long path to the development of nursing science that is an essential "bridge" to the philosophy of science content and serves as a "next step" towards building a nursing epistemology Reinforces important connections between the philosophy of science to nursing science and nursing practice.Call Number: eTextbookISBN: :9780826105554Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The Practice of Nursing Research by
Learn how to properly evaluate and use existing research data and how to conduct your own original research. This authoritative text gives provides a comprehensive foundation for appraisal, synthesis, and generation of research evidence for clinical nursing practice. This new edition also features enhanced coverage of the research methods most applicable to evidence-based practice (outcomes research, intervention research, and translational research), along with a significant increase in the coverage of qualitative research methodologies. Comprehensive coverage of nursing research organizes content into five units: Introduction to Nursing Research, Nursing Research Processes, Tools for Evidence-Based Healthcare, Strategies for Analyzing Research and Building an Evidence-Based Practice, and Writing Proposals and Obtaining Funding. Rich and frequent examples from the literature demonstrate the importance and immediacy of research in nursing practice and bring principles to life through the context of actual published studies. Strong coverage of quantitative and other clinically-applicable research methodologies gives you a solid grounding to conduct, appraise, and apply research evidence to the realities of clinical practice in today's healthcare environment. NEW! Enhanced emphasis on evidence-based practice equips you to generate research evidence and to appraise and synthesize existing research for application to clinical practice. Using the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program criteria as a point of focus, this book prepares you for today's emphasis on evidence-based practice in the clinical setting. NEW! Expanded emphasis on qualitative research addresses phenomenological research, grounded theory research, ethnographic research, exploratory-descriptive research, and historical research to support the development of nursing. NEW! Updated coverage of digital data collection guides you through use of the internet for research and addresses the unique considerations surrounding digital data collection methods. NEW! Pageburst ebook study guide gives you the opportunity to fully master and apply the text content in a convenient electronic format with integrated interactive review questions.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9781455707362Publication Date: 2012-08-31
Professional Moral Courage in Nurse Executive Leadership by
Helps nurse executives ethically navigate the unique challenges and moral dilemmas of healthcare This unique text is the first to introduce professional moral courage as an essential competency in nurse executive leadership. It provides a foundation and understanding of the role of professional moral courage in nursing practice, places it in the context of current healthcare challenges and dilemmas, and identifies the characteristics and qualities required to lead in such situations. Authored by a seasoned nurse executive, the text begins with an overview of the healthcare environment; roles, responsibilities, and challenges of the nurse executive; and ethical dimensions of nurse executive practice. It then introduces the construct of professional moral courage, establishes a supporting competency framework, delineates a measurement tool, and provides guidance on how a nurse executive can develop and nurture this vital competency. Chapters provide real-world scenarios that highlight professional moral courage in action and its related consequences.Key Features: Provides a foundation in professional moral courage and describes why it is important to the nurse executive roleExamines the impact of current healthcare challenges, as well as moral and ethical dilemmas in nurse executive leadershipEstablishes professional moral courage as a critical leadership competency and provides a supporting framework and measurement toolGuides nurse executives in the development and cultivation of professional moral couragePurchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780826136763Publication Date: 2019-12-28
Research Methods in Human Computer Interaction by
Research Methods in Human-Computer Interaction is a comprehensive guide to performing research and is essential reading for both quantitative and qualitative methods. Since the first edition was published in 2009, the book has been adopted for use at leading universities around the world, including Harvard University, Carnegie-Mellon University, the University of Washington, the University of Toronto, HiOA (Norway), KTH (Sweden), Tel Aviv University (Israel), and many others. Chapters cover a broad range of topics relevant to the collection and analysis of HCI data, going beyond experimental design and surveys, to cover ethnography, diaries, physiological measurements, case studies, crowdsourcing, and other essential elements in the well-informed HCI researcher's toolkit. Continual technological evolution has led to an explosion of new techniques and a need for this updated 2nd edition, to reflect the most recent research in the field and newer trends in research methodology. This Research Methods in HCI revision contains updates throughout, including more detail on statistical tests, coding qualitative data, and data collection via mobile devices and sensors. Other new material covers performing research with children, older adults, and people with cognitive impairments.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780128053904Publication Date: 2017-04-19
Research Skills by
Do you need to conduct or understand research to support your studies or evidence-based practice in healthcare? Ensure that you have all the research tools at your fingertips with this pocket-sized (120x80mm), spiral-bound, quick reference guide in the popular Nursing & Health Survival Guide series, which covers both quantitative and qualitative research.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780273786344Publication Date: 2013-04-25
Test Success by
Features 800 practice questions that introduce the beginning student to all forms of test taking, including the new alternate format NCLEX questions. Presents time management strategies with tips and suggestions that specifically address the challenges more students face by working full or part time and juggling multiple responsibilities throughout nursing school. Integrates study and test-taking strategies with basic nursing theory and skills.
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780803618947Publication Date: 2008-02-11
Test Success by
Approximately 900 questions in all... 800 in the text, including a comprehensive 100-question exam at the end of the book 150 unique questions online at DavisPlus, (including more than 300 alternate format) customizable by concept and content area, all with NCLEX descriptors and rationales for correct and incorrect answers Study and test-taking strategies with basic nursing theory and skills "Knowledge Analysis" tool focusing on how to identify clusters of errors in specific knowledge categories on a test "Corrective Action Guide" describing what to do to correct test-taking errors "Information Processing Analysis" tool presenting topics relating to the process of test taking, including processing errors and personal performance trends Time management strategies with tips and suggestions that specifically address the challenges of working full or part-time and juggling multiple responsibilities throughout nursing school Coverage of empowerment, critical thinking, the nursing process, and computer applications in education and evaluation Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs Triangle featured in Chapter 6, The Nursing Process
Call Number: eTextbookISBN: 9780803677210Publication Date: 2018-01-26
Manual of Ambulatory Pediatrics by Call Number: Electronic TextbookISBN: 9781451159912Publication Date: 2009-03-08Class: NURS-649B
Using Sources Effectively by
Now in its fifth, expanded edition, Using Sources Effectively, Fifth Edition targets the two most prominent problems in current research-paper writing: the increase in unintentional plagiarism and the ineffective use of research source material. Designed as a supplementary textbook for both undergraduate and graduate courses, this book will help every student who uses research in writing. Included in this edition are coverage of research strategies and source selection (Chapter 2), a chapter on quoting sources effectively (Chapter 4), and a chapter on sentence patterns (Chapter 10). APA and MLA citation styles have been updated throughout the text. To the student: This book was written to give you the knowledge and tools you can use to make your research-based writing more powerful and effective. Here are some examples: Mini-Research Projects at the end of each chapter to sharpen your research and evaluation skills A set of practical, useful rhetorical devices to help improve the clarity and impact of your writing Increased emphasis on synthesis writing--weaving source use into your own thinking--to give your writing more interest and persuasive power Instruction in close reading to help you better grasp what an author is discussing or arguing Strategies for organizing and positioning your sources to strengthen your central argument.
Call Number: Electronic TextbookISBN: 9781351971935Publication Date: 2017-01-20
