Directions
John B. Cade Library provides access to a vast collection of electronic books on Business Communication. Below you will find featured titles available for you to review, click on the information link to view more about each title. To search for eBooks on Business Communication, click on the eBook Academic Collection or the eBook Business Collection. If you you are off-campus you will need to log-in using your USER Name & PIN credentials. (See the directions below)
Off-Campus Access
When you are working off-campus you will be prompted to enter a User Name and Pin to access databases. Your USER NAME=BANNER NUMBER (Example: S012345)
PIN=CHANGEME
Click on Authenticate
Access Issues? Contact Ms. Payne at (225)771-2604.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThis growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
eBooks
Smack My Pitch Up! by
Business writing is often terrifying. Many of us get blocked, lost, anxious and confused when forced to put our thoughts into words. In our frantic, numbers-driven world, the importance of clear writing is often overlooked. Here are the tools and techniques to improve the quality and speed of your writing. Whether it's a two-line email or a 200 page report, your communication skills will rocket and you'll have the toolbox you require to pitch effectively whatever your business. Learn how to attract readers and, once they're completely in your thrall, turn them into loyal followers. Your confidence will grow as you learn how to structure and plan your writing. You'll get clear messages across quickly, and you'll do it with style.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9781910692455Publication Date: 2016-04-01
eBooks
The AMA Handbook of Business Writing by
Just because you're not a born writer doesn't mean you should settle for less than perfect business documents. After all, every piece you write reflects directly on the quality of the product or service your business offers. Now, this helpful guide takes the guesswork out of more than 50 commonly used business documents, including: Reports * Proposals * Business plans * Presentations * Press releases * Memos * Email * Newsletters * Collection Letters * Sales materials * And more Arranged alphabetically and cross-referenced for easier use, the book presents clear examples of how to (and how not to) create winning materials every time. The authors' step-by-step instructions begin with an overview of the writing process, from preparation and research right through to final review and publication. Sample documents show you how your pieces should look and read, and close to 300 individual entries cover key points of grammar, style and spelling, and present strategies for writing more clearly, avoiding bias, eliminating clich#65533;s, and much more.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780814415894Publication Date: 2010-08-04
eBooks
The Business of Writing by
Whether you’re unclear on what to expect from your first book deal or just a little puzzled by your editor’s whims, The Business of Writing is the book for you. In it, literary agent and publishing veteran Jennifer Lyons empowers aspiring and experienced writers with everything they need to know about the business of selling books, from publicity to legal and financial aspects of the trade. A senior agent for seventeen years before opening her own literary agency, Lyons has taught numerous courses on the business of writing at Sarah Lawrence College, and has visited both undergraduate and graduate writing programs to share her expert knowledge.nbsp; This enjoyable guide brings Jennifer’s in-depth tutorials to the broader public, balancing accessible, bulleted information for writers on the critical stages of acquiring and maintaining representation with interviews with professionals in the field. Interviewees include a Harper’s magazine editor, a contracts manager, and other publishing professionals that you can expect to encounter as you advance in your career. Covering everything from how to write the perfect query letter to deconstructing the terminology of a publishing contract, this indispensable handbook to the writer’s trade will give you a thorough introduction to the nuts and bolts of publishing.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781581159172Publication Date: 2012-10-01
eBooks
Better Business Writing, Fifth Edition by
Create more engaging presentations, more actionable e-mails and more persuasive memos. The need for sharp writing skills in business is greater today than ever before. Wea re surrounded by mountains of text on our virtual and actual desktops every day. Learn how to choose the most powerful words and write the most effective documents to give yourself a much needed edge.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781426018497Publication Date: 2009-12-16
eBooks
Everything You Need to Know About Writing a Business Plan by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781927639184Publication Date: 2011
eBook
Effective Business Writing by
Clear and distinctive written communications are essential if you wish to create a favourable impression, project personal and corporate personality and strike a distinctive note. Effective Business Writing will help you to formulate a systematic approach to writing that makes its easier and quicker to get the right words down, avoiding the dangers of bland and formulaic approaches. It is important to adopt the right style, create a clear and appropriate structure, and select the method - letter, fax or email - that suits your purpose. Effective Business Writing will teach you how to do this. It will also help you to understand how people make decisions so that you can use it to your advantage when writing to customers, putting together promotional text and using your message to prompt action. It covers the advantages and disadvantages of email and how to make it productive, as well as the approach you should take when writing longer documents such as reports and proposals. Every executive or manager who has to "put pen to paper" whether their communications are external or internal, and who wants to be understood and make their messages count will find Effective Business Writing indispensable.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780749454531Publication Date: 2009-03-01
