Access Information for eBooks
John B. Cade Library provides access to a vast collection of electronic books on Business Communication. Below you will find featured titles available for you to review, click on the information link to view more about each title. To search for eBooks on Business Communication, click on the eBook Academic Collection or the eBook Business Collection. If you are off-campus you will need to log-in using your USER Name & PIN credentials. (See the directions below)
Off-Campus Access
When you are working off-campus you will be prompted to enter a User Name and Pin to access databases. Your USER NAME=BANNER NUMBER (Example: S012345, or U012345)
PIN=CHANGEME
Click on Authenticate
Access Issues? Contact Ms. Payne at (225)771-2604.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThis growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
- eBook Business Collection This link opens in a new windowEBooks are selected for this collection to assist students and scholars with various business research, special project and entrepreneurial needs, and to help students understand general business concepts. The eBook Business Collection encompasses a variety of business topics, such as marketing, finance, supply chain management and entrepreneurship, with additional focus on career growth, personal development, communication and networking.
Featured eBooks on Business Communication
B-C-D by
BCD. Business Communication Digitally is a book for todays and tomorrows business practitioner and student that is structured into eleven chapters, each dealing with topics salient for aspects of business practice in the digital age. The constant need to innovate, to communicate ahead of time, to perform a service or supply a product on the promise of the future transaction, informs much about business practice. After all, what is business acumen based on but the difference between realities and contingencies, the tangible and the intangible? Most business communication in the digital world of today and tomorrow will either take place face to face or technologically mediated (by phone, email, video conference, text, etc.). More mediated business communication is taking place because of the ubiquitous availability of new distal technologies that are compatible with the office PC social media, Skype, Yammer, etc. It is now possible to video-call a colleague almost anywhere in the world via internet connection. With the ubiquitous use of social media technology as one form of mass communication, social presence and media effects become relevant to mass communication that are encountered in the business world. The chapters of BCD are developed on a progression of themes. opportunity; creativity; equality and sustainability; negotiation; patience; listening; recognition; trust; intangibles; social presence; and digital media. These themes combine to engender a sense of situatedness in a world of doing.
Call Number: eBook CollectionISBN: 9781536138139Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Utter Confidence by
Do you ever feel frustrated, anxious or ineffective when communicating with others at work? Miscommunications lead to wasted time, productivity losses and in some cases upset and anger. It really does not need to be that way. Sharing the secrets of Behaviour Analysis, (the study of what we say and how we say it), Ally Yates draws on extensive academic research and over 30 years of corporate experience. With an informative, easy-to-read style the concepts are clearly explained and supported by illuminating examples and clever, practical tips for modifying your behaviour so that you can increase your effectiveness and achieve more positive outcomes.
Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9781784520984Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Featured Business Communication eBooks
Quick Win Business Communication by
QUICK WIN BUSINESS COMMUNICATION is written for business people who recognise how vital effective communi¬cation is to their own success and to the success of their organisations. While you are reading through the answers to your questions, other business people may be discussing missions, goals, losses, profits, overheads, policies, budgets, loans, promotions, strategic plans, product development, training, hiring, technology, downsizing, take¬overs, global competitiveness, office parties, desk arrangements, coffee breaks, or office supplies. Imagine the implications if you can't understand what is being discussed online, in webinars, boardrooms, offices, or at lunch. Imagine the implications if your colleagues don't understand your views or are unable to articulate their own. Whether you are ordering paper for the copier or making long-range hiring plans, if communication fails, the outcome is confusion. Therefore, let's examine ways of ensuring a happier outcome. There are six sections to this book: -Business Communication Essentials covers some of the fundamental questions that business people have about what makes an effective communicator and why it matters. It also explains the communication process in theory and what may prevent you from being clear; -Business Communication Techniques answers questions ranging from unblocking communication to the importance of valuing people and includes topics like the importance of word choices, organising your thoughts and the role and use of visuals; -Meetings & Interviews looks at aspects of well-run meetings; - Writing - Offline & Online answers your questions about how to achieve greater clarity with the written word; -Speaking & Presenting addresses your basic questions about formal and informal talks; -Achieving Business Communication Excellence considers your ongoing development as an effective communicator. QUICK WIN BUSINESS COMMUNICATION is designed so that you can dip in and out seeking answers to your top business communication questions as they arise. Answers to your queries can be located not only from the contents list but also by using the subject grid at the start of the book and by following the thread of cross-references provided at the end of each Q&A.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781781190982Publication Date: 2014-02-01
The Management Game of Communication by
We still see many communication graduates with little business knowledge and business graduates with little communication knowledge. This schism leads communication scholars to assume that better communication is an end in itself while management see it as a means to an end - it must somehow contribute to the bottom line. How can strategic communication and public relations support corporations? What can communicators learn from management disciplines? Moreover, how should universities and business schools deal with the need to integrate research and education from different disciplines to advance the field? This book addresses these challenges and offers some answers. The contributions from primarily European countries were selected from a large number of peer-reviewed contributions for the 2015 congress of the European Public Relations Education and Research Association hosted by BI Norwegian Business School in Oslo. The chapters explore challenges of linking both fields; discuss research focusing on communication, leadership and organisational goals; and present findings from current research in corporate communication.
Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9781786357168Publication Date: 2016-09-05
How Strategic Communication Shapes Value and Innovation in Society by
Communication is developed in our relation to others and in relation to what happens in the social context. It is therefore not neutral but mediates people's relationships and practices. Technological transitions, economical changes, medical advancements, environmental turbulence, political movements and other evolving circumstances influence public values that shape societies. It is important to analyse the situated meaning of these societal themes in everyday life, and the influence of public relations and strategic communication in this regard. Let's Talk Society - and the society we´re talking about is in transition to a green and sustainable society, to an inclusive society, to an innovative and reflective society. What is our role as communication professionals in all of this? How can we foster public debate? This book addresses these challenges and offers some answers. The chapters from primarily European countries were selected from a large number of peer-reviewed contributions for the 2016 congress of the European Public Relations Education and Research Association hosted by Hanze University of Applied Sciences in Groningen.
Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9781787147171Publication Date: 2017-11-03
Featured Business Communication eBooks
Why People Don't Believe You... by
Let's face it - there are some of us who are born with a natural ability to effortlessly communicate with others and be believed. Unfortunately, not everyone possesses this natural talent, and as a result struggle with the simple act of being believed. Frequently, this inability to get others to believe becomes a significant stumbling block affecting those we interact with, and the paths we choose in life. Expert author Rob Jolles has actively mentored and coached thousands who battle with long-term unemployment, and have a particularly acute problem with presenting themselves effectively. The problem, he says, is we rely far too heavily on our words to secure the belief of others, when in reality only seven percent of the emotional impact of our message comes from the words we use. The solution he offers here is building confidence through a series of process behaviors and techniques, and learning how to cope with fear, which can significantly impact how credible others perceive our message to be. Moving past the words, and applying acting and improv skills, along with improving pitch, pace, and tone, his programs have achieved astonishing results.
Call Number: eBook CollectionISBN: 9781523095896Publication Date: 2018-10-02
