Library Research: Understanding Library Databases: Understanding What's in a database

The key to finding the right database is knowing what's in it. Here are some questions to ask about any database before you use it.

What subject area(s) does the database cover?

Strategy: Know what subject areas are covered to ensure that you are using the correct database for your research topic. Remember to read a description of databases listed in A-Z Databases.

Remember, searching for engineering articles on PsychInfo won't get you relevant articles. 

In addition, your choice of a database will influence the kind of analysis you're likely to find. Searching for "marijuana legalization " will retrieve very different results if you use Health Source Complete(medical studies).

What date range does the database cover for a particular publication title?

​Databases may only cover materials published in the last few decades; there's usually a specific cutoff date. If you are looking for articles or research from before that date, you'' need to use a different database.

The screenshot below provides an example of databases in which the Journal of Psychology appears. You can click on the database based on the range of years needed for your research.

What types of material does the database cover?

​​Most databases index scholarly journal articles, but many cover other types of content. Some common material types include:

• Research/Peer-Reviewed Journals
• Magazines or Newspaper Articles
• Books
• Book Chapters
• Dissertations
• Conference Papers Statistical Data
• Images, audio, or video

Some of your research assignments may require that you use a combination of the materials listed. You can utilize EBSCO Discovery Service to conduct a search that give results from different resource types. Click on the link below to explore EBSCO Discovery Service Database.