This comprehensive research database provides full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content. Additional materials included in CINAHL Plus with Full Text include Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The index of Abstracts in Social Gerontology contains tens of thousands of carefully-selected records. These records originate from the most important sources within the discipline, such as:AgeAge and AgingAging Clinical & Experimental ResearchAmerican Journal of Geriatric PsychiatryNeurobiology of AgingJournals of Gerontology SeriesExperimental Gerontology and many others.
The Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern U.S. 1789-1879 collection focuses on publications about farming-related activities in the 19th century. Because most Americans still lived on farms, and because agriculture remained the country's leading industry throughout the century, literature about agricultural development -- from raising crops and keeping bees to caring for livestock and erecting farm structures -- was extremely important. These publications contain rich content, including architectural plans for farmhouses and outbuildings, advertisements for fertilizer dealers and makers of farm equipment, recipes and advice for farm women, instructions for performing one's own medical and veterinary treatments, records of the latest technological and agricultural developments, reports from agricultural fairs, and more. Not surprisingly, regional periodicals were especially popular, adapted to the particular climates and soil conditions of the area. This collection contains periodicals published along the east coast and New England; representative titles are: the New York Farmer and Horticultural Repository, the Vermont Cultivator, the Northern Farmer, the Philadelphia Florist, and the Maine Farmer.
The American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877 collection contains publications focused on professional medical thought, including dental practice, during the nineteenth century. Including detailed illustrations and diagrams using what were at the time state-of-the-art printing techniques, these journals chronicle the development of medical and surgical techniques over time. Surgery titles were published across the country, and include the Civil War-era Confederate States Medical & Surgical Journal and the Pacific Medical and Surgical Journal. General practice is covered in such journals as the Richmond and Louisville Medical Journal and Bulletin of Medical Science. Periodicals devoted to medical specialties and specific diseases include the American Journal of Obstetrics and Diseases of Women and Children, the Journal of Psychological Medicine, and the Cholera Gazette. Medical societies are represented by titles such as the New Jersey Medical Reporter and Transactions of the New Jersey Medical Society. Twenty-three titles here are devoted to dentistry exclusively, including the New York Dental Recorder.
Business, Industrial and Professionl Periodicals, 1859-1870
The Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1859-1870 collection represents the subjects of business and industry, broadly defined, focusing on the years 1859 to 1870. The publications include journals devoted to specific trades (such as the New England Mechanic, and Shoe and Leather Reporter) and professions (the American Merchant, Printers' Monthly Bulletin). They also include periodicals promoting the interests of industry (Pacific Railroad, the Journal of Industry). Subjects also include finance (the Insurance Intelligencer, the Wall Street Underwriter and General Joint Stock Register) and the emerging service industries (the Real Estate Register of the North-West, the Detective's Manual and Officer's Guide). Together, they chronicle the large-scale shifts in commerce during the years witnessing the rise of capitalism.
The College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877 collection captures a broad view of the events, humor, and lifestyle of campuses around the country, and provides researchers with a better understanding of popular culture through the eyes of its younger members. Many youth in nineteenth-century America engaged in academics, and they enjoyed sharing their activities and the emerging talents they developed at school with their fellow students and teachers. Included here are college student titles from the northeast, such as: the Vassar Miscellany and the Trinity Tablet; from the South: the Hermathenian and Journal of the Virginia Collegiate Institute and the Georgia University Magazine; from the Midwest: the Eureka College Vidette and the Notre Dame Scholastic; and from the West Coast: the Berkeleyan and the Napa Classic. The collection also includes titles featuring schools' literary efforts, such as the Hamilton Literary Monthly, the Rutgers Literary Miscellany, and Centre College Magazine: Devoted to Literature. In addition, diverse types of schools are represented here, including technical colleges, military academies, and business schools. A number of publications were largely written by and for women, such as the Pactolus, the Parethenian or Young Ladies Magazine, and the Sunbeam.
The Commercial Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1811-1877 collection is comprised of periodicals published in the South during the nineteenth century, in particular those focused on commercial and business concerns, broadly defined. Here, researchers will find publications devoted to agriculture, banks and banking, business and industry, technology, railroads, and advertising, among other subjects, chronicling small and large plantation farming, the business of keeping slaves, transportation networks, and more. Places of publication include Richmond, Lynchburg, Lexington, the lower Mississippi, New Orleans, Baltimore, Atlanta, Charleston, Macon, St. Louis, to name but a few.
The eBook Education Collection provides titles ranging from introductory texts on education theory and practice for undergraduates to more complex and detailed works for advanced students and scholars in the Education discipline. Also included are support materials for student teachers and professionals working in K-12 and higher education classrooms, covering topics from curriculum building to student behavior and dynamics.
This collection features history titles across a variety of subjects, including Medieval History, History of Music, History of Science, History of the World, History of the Caribbean & West Indies, History of the Holocaust, Law in History, History of Philosophy, History of Africa, Art History, History of Technology & Engineering, History of Business & Economics, History of the Middle East, History of Latin America, History of Canada, History of Asia, History of Religion, History of Europe, History of the Military and History of the United States.
This resource provides a sole focus on content relating specifically to the relationship between races. It is a rich source of bibliographic records covering fundamental areas relevant to race relations. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
A comprehensive Spanish-language resource offering 49,000 encyclopedia entries, 50,000 images, 2,500 health reports, a Spanish-English dictionary and the full text of over 100 hundred reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to Spanish speakers with limited online research experience. Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers from 10 Latin American countries.