Reference Department: Reference Databases

Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with 600,000+ biographical entries — on more than 528,000 individuals — spanning history and geography.

Book Collection: Nonfiction is a rich research database for school and public libraries. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.

CQ Researcher is your first source for information on American politics, federal and state government, American institutions, campaigns and elections, current events, and world affairs.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Delivers more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.

History Reference Center includes full text for nearly 150 leading history periodicals. Content Includes: Nearly 57,000 historical documentsMore than 80,000 biographies of historical figuresMore than 1,990 full-text reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction booksNearly 46,000 historical photos & mapsMore than 80 hours of historical video.

PrepSTEP® is packed with powerful resources that help students succeed in college and the workforce. Targeted learning centers meet the needs of all students learning modules include: College Success Skills, Core Math and Science Skills, Core English Skills, Career Preparation, Placement Test Preparation, Basic Computer Skill, Grad School Admissions Preparation, and Spanish Center.

This robust full-text database provides the most relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It gives students, teachers, and librarians a complete foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.

Literature Resource Center is a database that offers biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) online provides test reviews and evaluative information on more than 3000 testing instruments. The MMY series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals lists over 4,400 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore theatre covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. The directory provides addresses, advertising rates, and information about submissions for publication.

This is a guide to career information about hundreds of occupations.

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

A comprehensive Spanish-language resource offering 49,000 encyclopedia entries, 50,000 images, 2,500 health reports, a Spanish-English dictionary and the full text of over 100 hundred reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to Spanish speakers with limited online research experience. Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers from 10 Latin American countries.

WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries.