John B. Cade Library
Below you will find databases available for you to search for articles, magazines, newspapers, and other useful resources. Read the database name and description to ensure that you select the appropriate resource for your assignment.
Off-Campus Access
When you are working off-campus you will be prompted to enter a User Name and Pin to access databases. Your USER NAME=BANNER NUMBER (Example: U012345)
PIN=CHANGEME
Click on Authenticate
Access Issues? Contact Ms. Payne at (225)771-2604.
Catalogs
- Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new windowEBSCO Discovery Services (EDS) searches thousands of books and eBooks in the John B. Cade Library collection. This source provides the most complete selection of materials available to you. English literature books are located in two parts of the library: Reference books, such as anthologies, indexes, and critical studies, can be found in the Reference Reading Room on the first floor. Books with Call Numbers beginning with P and materials in the Shade Collection can be found on the third floor of the library. eBooks are available to download on or off campus at any time.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries.
You may borrow books from other libraries with the help of our Inter-Library-Loan program. Sign up for an ILLiad account here to request books.
Using EBSCO Discovery Service to Find Books and eBook
Use the Ebsco Discovery Service (EDS) search box on the library's home page to search thousands of books, ebooks, journals, magazines, and open source materials. Use a keyword search to get the best results.
Once you've gotten your search results, locate "Source Types" from the left hand column of expanders and limiters and select "Books" from the options. This will limit your results to our robust collection of eBooks and books housed in the library. English literature books are located in the following places in the library: Reference books, such as anthologies, indexes, and critical studies, can be found in the Reference Reading Room on the first floor. Materials in our "Shade Collection" are located on the third floor. Books with Call Numbers beginning with P can also be found on the third floor of the library.
