Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are many types of repositories that house open educational resources. This page serves as a sample of the types of resources and collections available.
AcademicPub is a build-your-own-textbook service that offers students three different options for purchasing the book: digital download, paperback, or hardcover.
Instructors can create a customized textbook with book chapters, case studies and journal articles.
BC Campus Open Ed
Links to nearly 100 subject-organized open textbooks
College Open Textbooks Community
Approximately 100 peer-reviewed open textbooks collected by both non-profit and for-profit corporations. Includes a range of formats and copyright licenses, although all are free for use.
A free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education. Links to online learning materials are collected here along with assignments and comments to enhance the teaching experience of an exercise.
OER Commons - Open Textbooks
This catalog contains hundreds of college-level open textbooks from higher education institutions around the world.
Open Textbook Library
A catalog of open access textbooks to be reviewed by faculty members, made available by the University of Minnesota's College of Education and Human Development. All textbooks in this catalog are openly licenses, complete, and available in print at very little cost.
Similar to MERLOT it offers all types of learning materials but it is not exclusive to higher education.
OpenStax College Textbooks
Provides access to dozens of textbooks with an emphasis on large enrollment courses.
Provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare
Florida's digital repository, it provides access to hundreds of open resources for higher education, organized by subject area.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. Unlike other OER discovery sites (e.g, OER Commons, OASIS, MERLOT, OpenStax, etc.) with our Metafinder you aren’t searching a static database that we’ve built. Instead, the OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.
Directory of Open Access Books