1854 Photo of Frederick Douglass & his daughter Annie
Clementine Hunter's "Wash Day"
New Books in Shade Collection
Free Stylin' by Call Number: TT507 .R656 2012ISBN: 0313386463Publication Date: 2012-04-01This book sources interviews with scholars, urban designers, music experts, financial analysts, retailers, and hip hop celebrities to chronicle the compelling story of how hip hop transformed the fashion world and exploded into a $3 billion clothing industry. * A foreword by Daymond John, cofounder of FUBU, star of ABC's The Shark Tank, and author of The Display of Power and The Brand Within * A chronology of 20th-century fashion styles as well as urban fashion from the late 1970s to present * Many photographs of pioneering urban designers, hip hop fashion trends, hip hop celebrities, and more * A multicultural bibliography containing significant materials from the fields of history, music, culture, and fashion
Fear of a Hip-Hop Planet by Call Number: E185.86 .J647 2013ISBN: 0313395772Publication Date: 2012-12-01Is Gangsta Rap just black noise? Or does it play the same role for urban youth that CNN plays in mainstream America? This provocative set of essays tells us how Gangsta Rap is a creative "report" about an urban crisis, our new American dilemma, and why we need to listen. * A chronological account of development of rap music going back to the era of slavery * Drawings and editorial cartoons * A multicultural bibliography containing sociological, historical, and legal materials * A glossary of many key terms such as "structural racism" and "governmentalism"
Hip Hop's Amnesia by Call Number: ML3531 .R225 2012ISBN: 9780739174920Publication Date: 2012-04-15In Hip Hop’s Amnesia, Rabaka offers a comprehensive analysis of the forgotten historical legacy of hip hop music, culture, and politics. Some say hip hop is more than music -Rabaka proves it. Others point to hip hop as the latest in the lineage of African American expressive forms -Hip Hop’s Amnesia details it. Insisting on placing African American music, from the blues to hip hop, within its broader context, Rabaka deftly illustrates the interplay of music, culture, and politics while paying close attention to the politics of class, gender, and sexuality in inter- and intra-racial relations. If we need to know where we’re from in order to know where we’re at, then Rabaka is an important narrator in this process.
Hip Hop Movement by Call Number: ML3479 .R28 2013ISBN: 0739182439Publication Date: 2013-04-04
Race and Gender in the Classroom by Call Number: LC196.5 .U6 S86 2013ISBN: 0739176420Publication Date: 2013-07-22
Black Middle-Class Women and Pregnancy Loss by Call Number: ML1711 .S25 2014ISBN: 9780739175187Publication Date: 2013-08-15
Enslaved Women in America by Call Number: E443 .E57 2012ISBN: 0313349088Publication Date: 2012-06-01
African Americans and the Gettysburg Campaign by Call Number: E475.51 .P18 2013ISBN: 9780810883369Publication Date: 2012-08-07African Americans and the Gettysburg Campaign by James M. Paradis (Scarecrow, 2005) / 128 pages / 5.5 x 8.5 / $32.00 (paper) LTD (paper): 927 units; $16,043.17; 19 in stock
White Logic, White Methods by Call Number: HT1521 .W445 2008ISBN: 0742542815Publication Date: 2008-05-02
Blacks in Blackface by Call Number: ML1711 .S25 2014ISBN: 9780810883505Publication Date: 2013-10-30
White Race Discourse by Call Number: E184 .A1 F624 2013ISBN: 073917598XPublication Date: 2013-07-11
The African Americans by Call Number: E185 .G26 2013ISBN: 1401935141Publication Date: 2013-10-01
The American Dream Through the Eyes of Black African Immigrants in Texas by Call Number: F391.2 .M66 2013ISBN: 9780761860266Publication Date: 2013-04-18
Racism Without Racists by Call Number: E184 .A1 B597 2014ISBN: 9781442220553Publication Date: 2013-07-29
The Rejected Stone by Call Number: E185.97 .S54 A3 2013ISBN: 1936399474Publication Date: 2013-10-08
African American Database
History of Shade Collection
The Black Heritage Collection, of John B. Cade Library, is named after Camille Stivers Shade. Shade graduated from Southern University in 1928, she received her degree in Library Science from Hampton University in 1929, she returned to Southern University and was Head Librarian from 1929-1969. In 1966, from the core Negro Collection, Shade developed the Black Heritage Collection. Shade was the university’s first professional librarian.
Camille Shade died on Monday, September 19, 1994, in Baton Rouge, LA at the age of 89. The Black Heritage Collection was renamed the Camille Stivers Shade Collection in memoriam on Wednesday February 8, 1995, during Black History Month.
Some Artifacts in Shade Collection
Artifacts in Shade Collection Reading Room feature items from such places as Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, & Ivory Coast. There are original paintings by such renowned artist as Louisiana’s Own Clementine Hunter & a 1844 original portrait of Frederick Douglass with his daughter Rosetta:
bad
Subject Guide
Eddie Hughes
Contact:
John B. Cade Library
Southern University
167 Roosevelt Steptoe Ave.
Baton Rouge, LA 70813
225-771-2636
Southern University
167 Roosevelt Steptoe Ave.
Baton Rouge, LA 70813
225-771-2636
Bio of Camille Shade
Items in Shade Collection
Since 1966, the library has been building a collection of books, newspaper clippings, photographs, biographical information and artifacts on African Americans.
Today the Black Heritage Collection is housed in a space of 231 square feet and has more than 11,000 titles, including 1,020 microfilm and microfiche titles and 193 audiovisual items.
Shade Collection Policy & Hours
Materials from this collection circulate for 14 days.
•Photocopying services are available in the Reading Room.
•Microfilm & Microfiche items do not circulate.
•Neither Reference, “Out of Print”, nor single copy items are allowed to circulate.
•Hours of Operation: Monday – Thursday 7:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
•Friday 7:30-11:30
Closed Saturday and Sunday.
Reference Books
Africana by Call Number: DT 14 .A37435ISBN: 0465000711Publication Date: 1999-10-27
Encyclopedia of Black Studies by Call Number: E 185 .E554ISBN: 076192762XPublication Date: 2004-12-09
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights by Call Number: E 185.61 .E54ISBN: 031332171XPublication Date: 2003-12-30
African American Lives by Call Number: E 185.96 .A446ISBN: 019516024XPublication Date: 2004-04-29
Slavery in the United States by Call Number: E 441 .S635ISBN: 9781851095445Publication Date: 2007-03-20
World of a Slave by Call Number: E 441 .W895ISBN: 9780313349423Publication Date: 2011-02-01
Encyclopedia of Slave Resistance and Rebellion by Call Number: E 447 .E53ISBN: 0313332711Publication Date: 2006-12-01
The Underground Railroad by Call Number: E 450 .S65ISBN: 9780765680938Publication Date: 2007-12-13
The African American Electorate by Call Number: JK 1924 .W35ISBN: 9780872895089Publication Date: 2012-07-20
