John B. Cade Library
Dr. Shawn Comminey, Chair of History Deparment
Text Book for History 114 & 115
A History of World Societies, Combined Volume by ISBN: 0312666918Publication Date: 2011-10-05
A copy of this book is on reserve in the John B. Cade Library, on the first floor, at the Circulation Desk. This book circulates for two hours.
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth CenturyCall Number: E 169.1 .E626ISBN: 0684805006Publication Date: 2000-12-13While other resources focus on different aspects of the 19th century, such as the Civil War or immigration, this is the first truly comprehensive treatment to cover all aspects of 19th-century history including: population, politics and government, economy and work, society and culture, religion, social problems and reform, everyday life and foreign policy. This set includes more than 600 A-to-Z articles illustrated with more than 400 illustrations and maps, an exhaustive year-by-year chronology, original documents, tables and a complete index. Articles such as Exploration and Explorers, Slavery, Party Organization, Women's Rights, Education and more fulfill curriculum requirements of the National Standards for U.S. History.
Dictionary of American HistoryCall Number: E 174 .D52ISBN: 0684805332Publication Date: 2002-12-11Entries from previous editions have been updated and revised in light of historical developments and current scholarship, and more than 800 new entries cover recent events and topics not covered previously. For the first time, illustrations and maps are incorporated into the main body of the work; a collection of primary source documents appears in Volume 9.
Encyclopedia of American History by Call Number: E 174 .E53ISBN: 081604371XPublication Date: 2003-01-01This 11-volume set contains, in one chronological compilation, the history of the United States of America from its prehistoric ancestors to its 21st-century citizens. It seeks to offer a balanced presentation of the political, social, economic and cultural events that have shaped the nation. Topics covered include: the first settling of the land; the historical convergence of European, African and Native American peoples beginning in the late-15th century; the period during which America built itself physically through industrialization and territorial expansion and ideologically through economic, political and social growth and reform; how America made the ideals of liberty, equality, justice and human dignity a reality after Reconstruction; the rapid expansion of the US economy into an industrial power; the influential people, places and events that created American history after World War II and into the early 1970s; and the terrorist attack of September 11, 2001.
Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration by Call Number: E 185.6 .E54ISBN: 0313329826Publication Date: 2006-05-01The Great Migration brought immense change to the entire American nation, as millions of African Americans left the South in search of social, economic, and political justice. This encyclopedia describes the movement of southern African Americans to the urban North and West in the broadest social, economic, cultural, and most importantly, political context. Entries provide students and researchers with information about the key people, places, organizations, and events that defined the era of the migration from 1900 to the 1990s.
Citation Style for History
When writing History papers, you must cite the sources you use to construct and defend your argument. Often professors will tell you to use the MLA Style
Library Handouts
- How to Find a Electronic Journal This handout will guide you through the steps in locating electronic journals at John B. Cade Library
- How to Find a Print Book This handout will guide you in searching the print book collection using the online catalog. You will also learn how to renew books.
- How to Find a eBook This handout will guide you in searching the library's electronic collection for eBooks available at John B. Cade Library.
History Department
John B. Cade Library provide resources for those doing research towards a degree in History. The library provides a recommended list of resources, which encompasses print materials and electronic databases.
How to Access John B. Cade Library's Database Off Campus
In the following video you will learn, step by step, how to access John B. Cade Library's databases from off campus. Click image below:
How to find History Books in John B. Cade Library
John B. Cade Library utilizes the Library of Congress Classification system of cataloging information. In the LCC system call numbers for History range from C-F.
In John B. Cade Library History books are located (right off the elevator) on the 2nd floor. Click image below:
How to Find Reference History Books in John B. Cade Library
Reference material, for History, is found on the 1st floor near the Ask Here desk. If you need assistance ask the Reference Librarian at the desk. Click image below:
Ask A Librarian
In the video below you will learn how to contact a Librarian for assistance and what types of assistance Librarians offer. Click image below:
Subject Guide
Southern University
167 Roosevelt Steptoe Ave.
Baton Rouge, LA 70813
225-771-2636
Electronic Books for History
The Impact of Racism on African American Families Literature As Social Science by ISBN: 9781472415585Publication Date: 2014-02-04
African American History Day by Day by ISBN: 9781598843606Publication Date: 2012-06-01The proof of any group's importance to history is in the detail, a fact made plain by this informative book's day-by-day documentation of the impact of African Americans on life in the United States.
Free Black Communities and the Underground Railroad by ISBN: 9780252038044Publication Date: 2013-12-12
