History: Reference Databases

Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with 600,000+ biographical entries — on more than 528,000 individuals — spanning history and geography.

CQ Researcher is your first source for information on American politics, federal and state government, American institutions, campaigns and elections, current events, and world affairs.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

PrepSTEP® is packed with powerful resources that help students succeed in college and the workforce. Targeted learning centers meet the needs of all students learning modules include: College Success Skills, Core Math and Science Skills, Core English Skills, Career Preparation, Placement Test Preparation, Basic Computer Skill, Grad School Admissions Preparation, and Spanish Center.

Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.

Literati by Credo features a reference database of more than 600 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, marketing, and information literacy tutorials, and assessments.

Literature Resource Center is a database that offers biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) online provides test reviews and evaluative information on more than 3000 testing instruments. The MMY series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.

This is a guide to career information about hundreds of occupations.

The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.