Information about e-Books References
I have compiled a list of medical dictionaries and encyclopedias that can be accessed from this page. If you are accessing these titles off-campus, you will be required to enter a USER NAME & PIN.
The entire electronic book cannot be printed.
Login Information
You will be prompted to enter a USER NAME and PIN to view all databases when working off-campus. This information verifies you as a Southern University Student and registered library user.
REQUIRED LOGIN CREDENTIALS
USER NAME=BANNER NUMBER (Example: S00012345)
PIN=CHANGEME
Please contact Ms.Payne at (225)771-2604 should you have any issues, or report the issue by clicking on the "Database Access Issues Page."
Electronic Medical Dictionaries
-
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
by
Understand and correctly use all the latest terminology in today's ever-evolving medical field with the 32nd Edition of the comprehensive, highly respected Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary! Thoroughly updated, this user-friendly reference-trusted for more than a century by healthcare personnel at every professional level-allows you to grasp the meanings of all medical terms in current usage. It delivers more total entries than in any other dictionary of its kind, including several thousand new words, as well as 500 new illustrations to aid your understanding. Plus, with the bonus CD-ROM, you can listen to 35,000 audio pronunciations! And you can consult the dictionary anytime, anywhere online with free access to www.Dorlands.com. Easily stay up with the changing terminology in your field by depending on Dorland's-the most reliable medical dictionary available today! Enhance your understanding of all the current medical terminology in your field by relying on the most comprehensive and highly respected medical dictionary, bringing you more than 120,000 well-defined entries and 1500 clear illustrations. Listen to 35,000 audio pronunciations. Search www.Dorlands.com on the Internet anytime, anywhere for all of the language integral to contemporary medicine. Make sure you're familiar with the very latest medical terms used today with more than 5,500 new entries drawn from current sources. Complement your understanding of new words and ideas in medicine with 500 new illustrations Get more information in a smaller amount of space as the revised entry format includes related parts of speech. Dorland's: The first and last word in medicine for over 110 years
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781416062578Publication Date: 2011-05-02 -
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
by
A reference for health care clinicians and students, that takes account of the integration of alternative and complementary approaches into standard western medical care, defining terms relating to herbal remedies and traditional cures from other cultures.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780803612075Publication Date: 2005-03-17 -
Melloni's Pocket Illustrated Medical Dictionary
by
The Melloni series of medical dictionaries are famous for their concise definitions and detailed illustrations. And Melloni's Pocket Medical Dictionary: Illustrated is no exception. A condensed and portable version of the award-winning and highly acclaimed Mellonis's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, the book features a wide range of beautifully drawn and carefully labeled illustrations to accompany the large number of expert and concise medical definitions. The pocketbook takes the most important qualities of the 4th Edition, reduces its size without sacrificing accuracy and clarity, and adds the most current information. When you can't take the big book with you, this book provides the information you need where you need it.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781842140512Publication Date: 2003-12-02 -
A Thesaurus of Medical Word Roots
by
Dr. Horace Gerald Danner's A Thesaurus of Medical Word Roots is a compendium of the most-used word roots of the medical and health-care professions. All word roots are listed alphabetically, along with the Greek or Latin words from which they derive, together with the roots' original meanings. If the current meaning of an individual root differs from the original meaning, that is listed in a separate column. In the examples column, the words which contain the root are then listed, starting with their prefixes. For example, esthesia, which means "feeling," has as its prefixed roots alloesthesia, anesthesia, and dysesthesia. The listing then switches to words where the root itself forms the beginning, such as esthesiogenesis or esthesioneuroblastoma. These root-starting terms then are followed by words where the root falls in the middle or the end, as in acanthesthesia, cryesthesia, or osmesthesia. In this manner, A Thesaurus of Medical Word Roots places the word in as many word families as there are elements in the word. This work will interest not only medical practitioners but linguists and philologists and anyone interested in the etymological aspects of medical terminology.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780810891548Publication Date: 2013-08-15 -
Medical Terminology Simplified
by
This text uses a programmed learning approach to medical terminology which allows the student to learn at his or her own pace. Material is broken into smaller frames, followed by test questions with each chapter covering one body system. Full color throughout with beautiful artwork. Every chapter contains many types of exercises and learning activities, labeling, crossword puzzles, case studies of medical reports, audio CD exercises, dictionary exercises, and vocabulary exercises. This version consists of a textbook and audio CD.
Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9780803620919Publication Date: 2009-11-23
Medical Encyclopedias
-
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior
by
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780028661148Publication Date: 2008-01-01 -
Evidence-Based Advance Directives
by
Provides a concise overview of the legal, ethical, and cultural aspects of advance directives that affect nursing.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781578396856Publication Date: 2005-01-01 -
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of Health and Medicine
by
The Facts On File Encyclopedia of Health and Medicine is a comprehensive, four-volume reference perfect for a wide audience - from students to health professionals to lay readers - looking for reliable, accurate, accessible health information. Under direction of the Medical Advisory Review Panel, this authoritative, reference features contributions from a diverse group of medical professionals - including psychologists, dermatologists, pulmonary and critical care specialists, gynecologists, cardiologists, ophthalmologists, gastroenterologists, and many others. A wide range of topics are covered, from infancy to old age, paying attention to differences between genders and ethnic groups. Related body systems are grouped together in Volume 1 through Volume 3, with general health information in Volume 4. Each section is organized A to Z and provides an invaluable overview, discussing history, current research, and breakthroughs. All four volumes are extensively cross-referenced (both within the volume and with the other volumes). Each volume includes an index. A separate index in Volume 4 includes entries from all four volumes, and Volume 4 also includes several appendixes and lists of helpful resources. Its coverage includes: Volume 1: Ear, Nose, Mouth, and Throat; Eyes; Nervous System; Musculoskeletal System; Integumentary System: Skin, Hair, and Nails; and Pain Management. Volume 2: Cardiovascular System; Blood; Pulmonary System; Immune System and Allergies; Infectious Diseases; Cancer. Volume 3: Gastrointestinal System; Endocrine System; Urinary System; Reproductive Systems (female and male); Psychiatric Disorders and Psychologic Conditions. Volume 4: Preventive Medicine; Alternative and Complementary Approaches; Genetics and Molecular Medicine; Drugs; Nutrition and Diet; Fitness: Exercise and Health; Human Relations; Surgery; Lifestyle Variables: Smoking and Obesity; Substance Abuse; Emergency and First Aid. The Appendixes include: Vital Signs; Advance Directives; Glossary of Medical Terms; Abbreviations and Symbols; Medical Specialties and Allied Health Fields; Concise Notable Biographies; Modern Medicine Timeline; Resources; and others.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780816060634Publication Date: 2006-12-01
