LibGuides: RN to BSN Online Library Resource Guide: Evidence Based Databases

Evidence Based Library Databases

How to Locate Evidenced Based Practice Nursing Articles Using CINAHL Database

The databases listed below are subscription based databases available at John B. Cade Library. When searching off-campus you will be prompted to enter a USER NAME & PIN.

USER NAME=Banner Number (S01234567)

PIN=CHANGEME

If you encounter issues accessing the databases please contact Ms. Payne at (225)771-2604.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Provides full text for nursing and allied health journals, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937. Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and most effective treatment options.
MEDLINE
MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for hundreds of medical journals. Content Includes: Full-text for more than 2,400 journals Full-text coverage dating back to 1865 Ongoing full text and deep backfile coverage for many key journals Subjects Include: Biomedicine, Pre-Clinical Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Bioengineering, Health Policy Development, Life Science, and much more…
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) formerly Nursing & Allied Health
Nursing & Allied Health Premium provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 1,200 titles, with over 1,050 titles in full-text, plus more than 15,700 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
OvidSP
Provides access to scholarly nursing journals. Access Full-text articles that give in-depth research regarding numerous nursing-related topics and relevant medical research.

Evidence Based Open Access Databases

Databases listed below are open access resources and freely available to locate evidence-based resources. No login is required!

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements. The CDSR is updated regularly as Cochrane Reviews are published ‘when ready’ and form monthly issues; see publication schedule.

To explore Cochrane Reviews you can use the advanced search or you can browse by topic or by Cochrane Review Group (CRG).

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Search the database to stay up to date on developments in your field, find collaborators, and identify unmet needs.
Evidence-Based Practice Network | Lippincott NursingCenter
The Evidence-Based Practice Network’s tools and resources center provides healthcare professionals with the information they need to improve practice and improve patient outcomes. The Evidence-Based Practice Network team has pulled together a collection of articles and journals from Lippincott Williams & Wilkin’s publications, from a variety of disciplines, in order to provide you with credible, reliable information on which to base your practice.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
OT SEEKER
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy.
Pubmed Clinical Queries
This database contains citations for systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, and guidelines.
Turning Research into Practice (TRIP)
This database offers systematic reviews organized by specialty including geriatric medicine, rheumatology, and others. The search engine will search the TRIP database as well as selected specialty journals.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library: Nursing
This links provides open access nursing articles covering topics in nursing.