Library Databases
DATABASE ACCESS INFORMATION (USER CREDENTIALS)
USER NAME= BANNER NUMBER (Example U0123456) PIN= CHANGEME
CLICK HERE TO BECOME A REGISTERED LIBRARY USER
Nursing Databases
- Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new window The index of Abstracts in Social Gerontology contains tens of thousands of carefully-selected records. These records originate from the most important sources within the discipline, such as:AgeAge and AgingAging Clinical & Experimental ResearchAmerican Journal of Geriatric PsychiatryNeurobiology of AgingJournals of Gerontology SeriesExperimental Gerontology and many others.
- AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Identifies medications that have the potential for adverse events when used by elderly patients as recommended by a panel of nationally recognized experts (Beers Criteria). These criteria identify medications that should generally be avoided or that should be used with caution in older adults (65 years of age or older)
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full text for nursing and allied health journals, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937. Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and most effective treatment options.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window HaPI contains a wide range of records that provide comprehensive, accurate information about a variety of measurement instruments: Checklists, Coding Schemes, Indexes, Interview schedules, projective techniques, questionnaires, rating scales, surveys, test, vignettes/scenarios.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry and many more.
- MedicLatina This link opens in a new window MedicLatina contains a complete table of contents and PDF full text for peer-reviewed medical journals in the Spanish language. Content Includes: Full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in the Spanish languageTable of Contents Broad content coverage includes: BiomedicineCancer ResearchCardiologyClinical PathologyClinical ResearchHematologyHuman ReproductionNephrologyNeurosciencePediatricsAnd more...
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for hundreds of medical journals. Content Includes: Full-text for more than 2,400 journalsFull-text coverage dating back to 1865Ongoing full text and deep backfile coverage for many key journals Subjects Include: BiomedicinePre-Clinical SciencesBehavioral SciencesBioengineeringHealth Policy DevelopmentLife ScienceAnd much more…
- Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text offers a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works since 1997, along with selected full text works written prior to 1997.
- Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) formerly Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window Nursing & Allied Health Premium provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 1,200 titles, with over 1,050 titles in full-text, plus more than 15,700 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
Virginia Henderson International Nursing e-Reposiory
- Virginia Henderson International e-Repository The Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository (Henderson Repository) is the only repository solely dedicated to sharing works created by nurses. It is an open-access digital academic and clinical scholarship service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research and evidence-based practice materials. The repository is a resource of the honor society of nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International.
Multiplediscipline Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new window EBSCO Discovery Service offers you a single access point to searching a vast range of our library's resources. In addition to the library holdings you can search in thousands of journals and in all EBSCO databases.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is home to almost one-quarter of the world's peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. Over 15 million researchers, health care professionals, teachers, students and information professionals around the globe rely on ScienceDirect as a trusted source of nearly 2,200 journals and more than 26,000 book titles.
Search other library catalogs for titles
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries.
Complete List of databases available at John B. Cade Library
Search journals by title
Evidence Based Nursing Journal
- Evidence Based Nursing Evidence-Based Nursing systematically searches a wide range of international medical journals applying strict criteria for the validity of research and relevance to best nursing practice. Content is critically appraised then the most relevant articles are summarised into a succinct expert commentary focusing on the papers key findings and implications for clinical practice. Articles published in Evidence-Based Nursing are commissioned only.