John B. Cade Library
Reference Databases
- Literati by Credo This link opens in a new window Literati by Credo features a reference database of more than 600 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, marketing, and information literacy tutorials, and assessments.
- Gale Virtual Reference Center Library This link opens in a new window Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher is your first source for information on American politics, federal and state government, American institutions, campaigns and elections, current events, and world affairs.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new window Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with 600,000+ biographical entries — on more than 528,000 individuals — spanning history and geography.
- Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online) This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
- Occupational Outlook This link opens in a new window This is a guide to career information about hundreds of occupations.
Reference Books (Electronic Books)
English Legal Terminology by
Legal English is a professional language. This means that a good command of ordinary English does not make a student automatically proficient in legal English. Many foreign law students on English language programmes experience problems when suddenly all their lectures, textbooks, discussions and written work have to be in English. A lack of familiarity with legal English can seriously impede their progress. And a command of legal English is not just a desirable academic skill. It has become an absolute 'must' for today's legal professionals working in internationally orientated law firms. This book is designed for law students who have followed their law studies in a language other than English. Textbooks on English law are too detailed for those who want to understand English legal terminology rather than English law itself. Legal dictionaries are useful but, as the words are ordered alphabetically, terms are treated in isolation. This book offers: * vocabularies providing sets of legal terminology associated with the legal system, civil procedure, EU law, tort, contract law and company law; * text putting the terms in the vocabulary into their legal context; * case discussion questions in order to practice using the terminology; * knowledge questions to ensure that the reader has understood the legal concepts. [Subject: Law, Legal Terminology]
Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9789462366046Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by
Everything you wanted to know about the law, but couldn't afford to ask. The law affects practically every aspect of our lives, and legal questions come up daily. When they do, turn to Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, a handy, information-packed desk reference. Written by Nolo's expert team of attorneys, this book answers more than 1,000 of the most frequently asked questions about everyday legal issues, including: Credit & debt Privacy rights Workplace rights Child custody & support Wills & trusts Elder care Buying a house Bankruptcy Divorce Noisy neighbors Small claims court Home businesses Domestic violence Name changes Adoption Searches & seizures Traffic accidents Tenant rights Inventions Criminal law The 10th edition is completely updated to reflect the latest laws, government agency contacts, and resources. There's also a helpful glossary of legal terms and an appendix on how to do your own legal research.
Call Number: Electronic Book CollectionISBN: 9781413323436Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Private Security and the Law by
Private Security and the Law, Third Edition is a textbook analysis of significant practices in the security industry that relate to law, regulation, licensure and constitutional dilemmas according to case and statutory authority. It is a treatise on the state of the law that governs the security industry and its operatives. The book fills the void that an increasing number of institutions are seeking as they expand their security programs in response to the growing demand for security education. This book delivers up to date information on the legal requirements witnessed by most security firms. It also explores the liability problems common to security operations, including negligence and tortious liability, civil actions commonly litigated, and strategies to avoid troublesome causes of action that effect business efficiency. From another angle, the work examines the constitutional and due process dimensions of private security work and affords the reader a look at how case law applies certain remedies to wronged parties. Recent cases, and the trends sure to follow, are highlighted throughout the text. Finally, the text is filled with checklists, data and other useful information that aids the security practitioner in applying theory to practice. This book will appeal to students in security and criminal justice programs; private security consultants; corporate security managers; and lawyers.
Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9780750677707Publication Date: 2004-10-22
Business Law Including Company Law by
The book presents the subject matter in a lucid and readable style that even a student without any background of law will be able to understand and appreciate the otherwise difficult and complicated provisions of various legislations covered. A number of simple examples have been included to illustrate and reinforce understanding of the relevant legal provisions. Latest case laws, Indian as well as International, have been given in a manner that a business law student ought to learn and present these in the examination. This edition includes: An updated treatment of the Companies Act, 2013 along with the Rules made thereunder. The Revision Highlights of the present Edition include: Provisions of the Companies (Amendment) Act, 2019 Important case law up to 31st Dec, 2019 Provisions of the Consumer Protection Act, 2019 Latest changes in the Payment of Bonus Act Latest changes in the Payment of Gratuity Act
Call Number: Electronic Book CollectionISBN: 9788122451412Publication Date: 2020
Current Issues in Business Law by
This volume contains the scientific papers presented at the Eighth International Conference „Perspectives of Business Law in the Third Millennium” that was held on 16 November 2018 at Bucharest University of Economic Studies, Romania. The scientific studies included in this volume are grouped into three chapters: National and International Business Law, Business and Corporate Criminal Law, Labor Law in Business Context. The present volume is addressed to practitioners, researchers, students and PhD candidates in juridical sciences, who are interested in recent developments and prospects for development in the field of business law at international and national level.
Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9786069431252Publication Date: 2018
Reference Titles
Legal Words You Should Know by
Every day, people find themselves in legal situations. Mortgages are put in place, attorneys draw up wills, and credit cards are set up all the time. However, how many people actually understood the legal contracts they were signing? There's no excuse for being ignorant of the law when it comes to a dispute with a bank, a mortgage lender, or a lawyer. This book defines 1,000 essential words from the worlds of civil law, estates, lending, and elder affairs, such as abatement, residuary beneficiary, trust deed, variable rate mortgage, right of rescission, and more. Each word will be clearly defined, and includes a pronunciation key and an example of usage. This guide ensures you will know the law in no time
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9781598698657Publication Date: 2009-04-18
Dictionary of Legal Terms by
Here is a fast-reference guide to legal terminology compiled especially for consumers and business people who are not lawyers. More than 2,000 clear and concise definitions are arranged alphabetically. They cover everything from abandonment to zoning. Examples are offered to illustrate and clarify many definitions.
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9780764102868Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by
Compiled by Nolo's team of attorney-editors and written in our straightforward, plain-English style, this book provides answers to the legal questions that come up every day. Organized by topic, it steers readers clear of legal potholes involving divorce, credit, workplace rights, wills, estate planning, lemon laws, child support, criminal law, patents, copyrights and trademarks, and much more.
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9781413305609Publication Date: 2008-01-14
