John B. Cade Library
- How to Find a eBook This handout will guide you in searching the library's electronic collection for eBooks available at John B. Cade Library.
Books
Electronic Books
Law and Legal Issues in the United States by
This series provides an overview of current analyses and developments pertaining to the law and legal issues in the United States. Topics covered in this volume include oversight and legal enforcement of the national mortgage settlement; public charge grounds of inadmissibility and deportability; an overview of judicial review of immigration matters; congressional authority to enact criminal law; judicial activity concerning enemy combatant detainees; the Iran hostages; and federal criminal offences of sexual abuse of children.
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9781631178276Publication Date: 2014-01-01
American Constitutional Law by
The study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America.American Constitutional Law, Volume I provides a comprehensive account of the nation’s defining document, comparing how its provisions were originally understood by those who drafted and ratified it with contemporary constructions. The authors examine the constitutional thought of the founders, as well as interpretations of the Constitution by the Supreme Court, Congress, the President, lower federal courts, and state judiciaries to provide students with a sense of how the law has been interpreted over the years. Now fully updated, the ninth edition of this classic volume features several new cases includingNational Federation of Independent Business v. Sebelius, Arizona v. United States, andCaperton v. A. T. Massey Coal Company Visit westviewconlaw.com for instructor resources, including recently decided cases, material from prior editions, and a glossary.
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9780813347455Publication Date: 2013-07-30
Studies in Law, Politics, and Society by
Containing articles that consider the ways in which history has shaped law and how we make sense of past events, this text also includes articles that explore the pressing legal issues such as the prison boom, First Amendment controversies and the work of cause lawyers.
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9781781906194Publication Date: 2013-05-09
The Secrets of Law by
The Secrets of Law explores the ways law both traffics in and regulates secrecy. Taking a close look at the opacity built into legal and governance processes, it explores the ways law produces zones of secrecy, the relation between secrecy and justice, and how we understand the inscrutability of law's processes. The first half of the work examines the role of secrecy in contemporary political and legal practices--including the question of transparency in democratic processes during the Bush Administration, the principle of public justice in England's response to the war on terror, and the evidentiary law of spousal privilege. The second half of the book explores legal, literary, and filmic representations of secrets in law, focusing on how knowledge about particular cases and crimes is often rendered opaque to those attempting to access and decode the information. Those invested in transparency must ultimately cultivate a capacity to read between the lines, decode the illegible, and acknowledge both the virtues and dangers of the unknowable.
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9780804782593Publication Date: 2012-10-31
Rights and Private Law by
In recent years a strand of thinking has developed in private law scholarship which has come to be known as 'rights' or 'rights-based' analysis. Rights analysis seeks to develop an understanding of private law obligations that is driven, primarily or exclusively, by the recognition of the rights we have against each other, rather than by other influences on private law, such as the pursuit of community welfare goals. Notions of rights are also assuming greater importance in private law in other respects. Human rights instruments are having an increasing influence on private law doctrines. And in the law of unjust enrichment, an important debate has recently begun on the relationship between restitution of rights and restitution of value.This collection is a significant contribution to debate about the role of rights in private law. It includes essays by leading private law scholars addressing fundamental questions about the role of rights in private law as a whole and within particular areas of private law. The collection includes contributions by advocates and critics of rights-based approaches and provides a thorough and balanced analysis of the relationship between rights and private law.
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9781849461429Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Electronic Books
Legal Ease by
Legal Ease is a versatile book that addresses how laws evolve and change as if they were living, breathing entities that are a mirror reflecting societal change. This new third edition offers the reader an expansive and practical guide to the many aspects of law. Presented in three sections, the book explains the practice of law through all phases of the criminal justice system. Part One, Criminal Law Explained, offers a history of law, defines criminal conduct, and explains the tools attorneys use in their practice. Section Two, Criminal Procedure and Evidence, details the steps required to institute constitutional search, seizure, and arrest. It also provides a comprehensive description of the duties and responsibilities of prosecutors, defense attorneys, law enforcement, and court personnel. Section Three, A Walk Through the Criminal Justice System, takes the reader step-by-step through the process of a trial, from jury selection to verdict and sentencing, and finally to the appeal process. Defendants’ rights are discussed as they navigate through the criminal justice system. The ideas and principles behind the country's constitutional amendments are explained, with many case examples offered to illustrate. Additional topics new to this edition address privacy rights, picketing at funerals, free speech/cruelty to animals, youthful offenders and sentencing, strip search of students, sexting, deportation and minor drug cases, DNA testing, warrantless search, medicare scams, and workforce retaliation, among others. The inclusion of “Key Words” and “Questions for Review and Discussion” sections at the end of each chapter will prove invaluable to instructors and students. This comprehensive volume continues to give groups who are new to the scene, as well as those who aren’t, an easy-to-read book of reference for all those nuances the law continues to press onto the legal system.
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9780398088125Publication Date: 2012-11-06
The Louisiana State Constitution by
In The Louisiana State Constitution, Lee Hargrave provides a compehensive history and provision-by-provision commentary of the state's current constitution. Descriptive analysis provides readers with important information about the origins of the constitutional provisions, as well as ways in which the courts and other governmental bodies have interpreted them. Previously published by Greenwood, this title has been brought back in to circulation by Oxford University Press with new verve. Re-printed with standardization of content organization in order to facilitate research across the series, this title, as with all titles in the series, is set to join the dynamic revision cycle of The Oxford Commentaries on the State Constitutions of the United States. The Oxford Commentaries on the State Constitutions of the United States is an important series that reflects a renewed international interest in constitutional history and provides expert insight into each of the 50 state constitutions. Each volume in this innovative series contains a historical overview of the state's constitutional development, a section-by-section analysis of its current constitution, and a comprehensive guide to further research. Under the expert editorship of Professor G. Alan Tarr, Director of the Center on State Constitutional Studies at Rutgers University, this series provides essential reference tools for understanding state constitutional law. Books in the series can be purchased individually or as part of a complete set, giving readers unmatched access to these important political documents.
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9780199779031Publication Date: 2011-04-18
The Handy Law Answer Book by
Combining practical legal tips with an exhaustive review of the law in the United States, this comprehensive reference answers more than 1,200 questions ranging from Where did the word tort come from? and How are state court judges selected? to Where did the first U.S. Supreme Court meet? Useful advice includes how to find a lawyer, how to file a complaint against a lawyer, how to document discrimination in the workplace, and how to handle oneself in court. Interspersed throughout are fun sidebars highlighting important cases and explanations of legal terms as well as entertaining information on bizarre and frivolous lawsuits, including one where a prisoner in Colorado sued prison officials after he injured himself during an escape attempt. With a wide range of information suitable for various knowledge bases--from junior high to junior college--this is an ideal source for anyone looking to get a better understanding of the law.
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9781578592173Publication Date: 2010-04-01- Student's Guide to Landmark Congressional Laws on the First Amendment by We Americans have enshrined our most cherished rights in the First Amendment to our Constitution, including the freedom of religion, speech and press; the right to assemble; and the right to petition the government for redress of grievances. Since the formation of the republic, Congress has been actively engaged in enacting laws that have a direct and significant bearing on First Amendment rights. This ideal student resource provides the carefully edited and explained text of 31 landmark Congressional laws in all areas of First Amendment rights--from internal security to symbolic speech, campaign financing, obscenity, intellectual property, and freedom of religion. Organized topically for ease of use, this resource allows students to examine and compare the landmark laws on a particular topic across the breadth of American history through the year 2000. For instance, students can compare changes in the laws on obscenity from the Comstock Act of 1873, to the Anti-Dial-a-Porn Act of 1989 and the Child Online Protection Act of 1998. The landmark laws are organized into nine categories: internal security, symbolic speech, election campaign activities, obscenity, intellectual property, labor-management relations, federally funded programs, and freedom of religion. Each category opens with a general overview of the laws covered in that section and a brief summary of how they relate to each other. The entry on each landmark law features a discussion of the historical background of the law, the intent and purpose of the law, an examination of the substance and impact of the law, and a carefully edited actual text of key passages of the law. Each entry concludes with a bibliography of recommended print sources and Web sites for students. An introductory overview of Congressional legislation on the First Amendment, followed by a detailed timeline of milestones in the history of Congressional legislation on First Amendment issues, put the topic in historical context for students. An appendix of tables of the statutes and cases with complete citations will aid student researchers.Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9780313314162.Publication Date: 2002-05-30
Cracking the Case Method by
Cracking the Case Method is a concise and down-to-earth guide to the intellectual content of law school instruction, particularly in the first year. Readers will discover why and how law school instructors use appellate court cases as vehicles for teaching legal analysis. This book explains that legal analysis is a process by which judges and lawyers use argument (or rhetoric) to connect stories to legal conclusions, and reveals how to read judges' appellate court opinions as arguments rather than merely as sources of rules. To succeed in law school, students have to apply analytical skills to novel stories by crafting arguments of their own, both in class meetings and when answering final examination essay questions. This book promotes readers' ability to apply analytical skills by: Demonstrating how to "brief" cases in a way that captures both arguments and rules; Explaining and illustrating common types of arguments; Using actual law school classroom dialogues annotated by the authors to explain how instructors use classes to further law schools' goal of teaching argument skills; Setting forth effective final examination preparation strategies and techniques for crafting answers that demonstrate analytical skills; and Illustrating final exam strategies and techniques by providing actual law school final examination questions followed by model answers annotated by the authors. The subjects that readers will study in law school (whether rules of contracts or processes such as jury trials) all emanate from the Common Law Tradition. To further enhance readers' analytical understanding and skills, the book concludes with a chapter that provides a brief and colorful overview of this rich and fascinating tradition. The chapter includes comparisons to the common law tradition's Civil Law counterparts, enhancing the book's value to all readers.. If you want to achieve academic success in law school, this book provides you with the tools you need to Crack the Case Method. Reviews: "Law school study fundamentally differs from university study. Most first year law students therefore find the transition from college to law school difficult and bumpy. This book explains the differences and gives a thorough guide to what it takes to do well in law school, especially during that crucial first year. Students who want a significant edge over their classmates will read it before the first day of 1L. I wish I had." Alex Kozinski Chief Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit "The Authors provide an accessible and often humorous guide to the Case Method. In addition to demystifying legal studies for the new student, the book provides a sound foundation for the future practitioner; the object of the Case Method, in the main, is to allow the application of legal principles to help clients resolve their problems." Hector G. Gallegos Partner and Head of Morrison & Foerster LLP's Los Angeles Litigation Department "Legal education and the legal profession are in the midst of a profound restructuring brought on by a revolution in technology and dramatic changes in the economy. In the midst of such change, Cracking the Case Method is a critically important work that will help all law students develop a lawyer's most important tool - using the venerable case method to carry out legal analysis and to hone their analytical skills - the essence of every lawyer's work. Cracking the Case Method is not an abstract academic exercise, but a nuts and bolts, how to approach to analysis that will train better lawyers and promote just results in our judicial system. The case method may be over 100 years old but how to use it as an effective tool for good lawyering has never been done like it is in these pages." Jeffrey S. Brand Dean and Professor of Law University of San Francisco School of Law"
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKISBN: 9781600421594Publication Date: 2012-05-01
