John B. Cade Library
Newspaper Databases
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
- America's Historical Newspapers-Louisiana State Package This link opens in a new windowFrom Maine to California, the most comprehensive collection of U.S. newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries is America's Historical Newspapers. Now America's Historical Newspaper Select enables institutions to create a customized collection from thousands of historical newspapers published in every U.S. region or state - or any combination. When your institution's needs expand, titles from additional locations can be added at any time.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
Education Week News RSS Feed
Loading ...
Technical Assistance
Off-Campus Access
The EZ Proxy system allows off-campus access to information resources that are restricted to Southern University students, faculty, and staff. EZProxy allows your-off-campus computer to be identified as a part of the university network.
If you are not on-campus you will be prompted by EZProxy to enter the following:
USERID (or ALTID)=Banner Identification Number
Example: U0123456
PIN=CHANGEME
Technical Support
If you have any problems accessing databases remotely please contact the Ask Here Desk at (225)771-2841, or contact Ms. Payne at (225)771-2604.