John B. Cade Library
Welcome to the General Education LibGuide! This LibGuide was created to provide Education faculty, graduate, and undergraduate researchers with helpful library resources and services available at John B. Cade Library. If you have any questions, or need further assistance please feel free to contact your Library Liaison Charlotte Henderson at (225) 771-0071, or contact the Ask Here Desk at (225) 771-2841.
Quick Links
- Databases A to ZUtilize Databases A to Z to view a complete list of databases the library subscribes to.
- Library PublicationsLibrary Publications searches the library's journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and much more. Utilize Library Publications when you want to see if the Library has a specific journal. If the journal you are researching appears click FULL TEXT ACCESS for years of coverage.
- Ingenta ConnectIngenta Connect offers online access to the full text of electronic articles, through online purchase (library purchases the article) of individual articles, or through subscriptions to publications. Just complete your request. Service is free of charge to SU Students.
- Library's WebsiteThe library's website is the gateway to all resources owned by the library.
Education Related Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowThe Education Resource Information Center provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. This resource contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowProfessional Development Collection includes full text for more than 500 high-quality education journals. Content Includes: 745 Abstracted and Indexed Journals508 Full-Text Journals537 Peer-Reviewed, Abstracted and Indexed Journals, 339 Peer-Reviewed, Full-Text Journals, 230 Educational Reports
- MAS Ultra School Edition This link opens in a new windowMAS Ultra School Edition contains full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas including history, science, careers and much more. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides full text for more than 158,000 biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps, flags, and color PDFs, and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is home to almost one-quarter of the world's peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. Over 15 million researchers, health care professionals, teachers, students and information professionals around the globe rely on ScienceDirect as a trusted source of nearly 2,200 journals and more than 26,000 book titles.
- Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new windowEBSCO Discovery Service offers you a single access point to searching a vast range of our library's resources. In addition to the library holdings you can search in thousands of journals and in all EBSCO databases.
Technical Assistance
If you have any problems accessing databases remotely please contact the Ask Here Desk at (225)771-2841, or the Systems and Technology Office at (225)771-2604.
The EZProxy system allows off-campus access to information resources that are restricted to Southern University students, staff, and faculty. If you use electronic resources from an on-campus computer, your computer is identified as being on the campus network and you can access resources seamlessly. EZProxy allows your off-campus computer to be identified as a part of the university network.
If you are not on-campus you will prompted by EZProxy to enter the following:
User Name =BANNER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER
Example: U0123456
PIN=CHANGEME
Technical Support