Books for Mathematics
Finite Ordered Sets by
Ordered sets are ubiquitous in mathematics and have significant applications in computer science, statistics, biology and the social sciences. As the first book to deal exclusively with finite ordered sets, this book will be welcomed by graduate students and researchers in all of these areas. Beginning with definitions of key concepts and fundamental results (Dilworth's and Sperner's theorem, interval and semiorders, Galois connection, duality with distributive lattices, coding and dimension theory), the authors then present applications of these structures in fields such as preference modelling and aggregation, operational research and management, cluster and concept analysis, and data mining. Exercises are included at the end of each chapter with helpful hints provided for some of the most difficult examples. The authors also point to further topics of ongoing research.
Call Number: QA171.48 .C374 2012ISBN: 1107013690Publication Date: 2012-01-26
Mathematics with Applications by
This text presents the content and applications in an accessible manner while maintaining an appropriate level of rigour. The authors proceed from familiar material to new, and from concrete examples to general rules and formulas.
Call Number: QA37.3 .L55 2011ISBN: 0321645537Publication Date: 2010-01-03
Data Structures and Algorithm Analysis in Java by
A comprehensive treatment focusing on the creation of efficient data structures and algorithms, this text explains how to select or design the data structure best suited to specific problems. It uses Java as the programming language and is suitable for second-year data structure courses and computer science courses in algorithmic analysis.
Call Number: QA76.73 .J38 W448 2012ISBN: 9780486485812Publication Date: 2011-09-14
An Introduction to the Theory of Numbers by
An Introduction to the Theory of Numbers by G.H. Hardy and E. M. Wright is found on the reading list of virtually all elementary number theory courses and is widely regarded as the primary and classic text in elementary number theory. This Sixth Edition has been extensively revised and updated to guide today's students through the key milestones and developments in number theory. Updates include a chapter on one of the mostimportant developments in number theory -- modular elliptic curves and their role in the proof of Fermat's Last Theorem -- a foreword by A. Wiles and comprehensively updated end-of-chapter notes detailing the key developments in number theory. Suggestions for further reading are also included for the more avid reader and the clarityof exposition is retained throughout making this textbook highly accessible to undergraduates in mathematics from the first year upwards.
Call Number: QA241 .H28 2008ISBN: 9780199219858Publication Date: 2008-09-15
Mathematics Reference Books
The Princeton Companion to Mathematics by
This is a one-of-a-kind reference for anyone with a serious interest in mathematics. Edited by Timothy Gowers, a recipient of the Fields Medal, it presents nearly two hundred entries, written especially for this book by some of the world''s leading mathematicians, that introduce basic mathematical tools and vocabulary; trace the development of modern mathematics; explain essential terms and concepts; examine core ideas in major areas of mathematics; describe the achievements of scores of famous mathematicians; explore the impact of mathematics on other disciplines such as biology, finance, and music--and much, much more. Unparalleled in its depth of coverage, The Princeton Companion to Mathematics surveys the most active and exciting branches of pure mathematics, providing the context and broad perspective that are vital at a time of increasing specialization in the field. Packed with information and presented in an accessible style, this is an indispensable resource for undergraduate and graduate students in mathematics as well as for researchers and scholars seeking to understand areas outside their specialties. Features nearly 200 entries, organized thematically and written by an international team of distinguished contributors Presents major ideas and branches of pure mathematics in a clear, accessible style Defines and explains important mathematical concepts, methods, theorems, and open problems Introduces the language of mathematics and the goals of mathematical research Covers number theory, algebra, analysis, geometry, logic, probability, and more Traces the history and development of modern mathematics Profiles more than ninety-five mathematicians who influenced those working today Explores the influence of mathematics on other disciplines Includes bibliographies, cross-references, and a comprehensive index Contributors incude: Graham Allan, Noga Alon, George Andrews, Tom Archibald, Sir Michael Atiyah, David Aubin, Joan Bagaria, Keith Ball, June Barrow-Green, Alan Beardon, David D. Ben-Zvi, Vitaly Bergelson, Nicholas Bingham, Béla Bollobás, Henk Bos, Bodil Branner, Martin R. Bridson, John P. Burgess, Kevin Buzzard, Peter J. Cameron, Jean-Luc Chabert, Eugenia Cheng, Clifford C. Cocks, Alain Connes, Leo Corry, Wolfgang Coy, Tony Crilly, Serafina Cuomo, Mihalis Dafermos, Partha Dasgupta, Ingrid Daubechies, Joseph W. Dauben, John W. Dawson Jr., Francois de Gandt, Persi Diaconis, Jordan S. Ellenberg, Lawrence C. Evans, Florence Fasanelli, Anita Burdman Feferman, Solomon Feferman, Charles Fefferman, Della Fenster, José Ferreirós, David Fisher, Terry Gannon, A. Gardiner, Charles C. Gillispie, Oded Goldreich, Catherine Goldstein, Fernando Q. Gouvêa, Timothy Gowers, Andrew Granville, Ivor Grattan-Guinness, Jeremy Gray, Ben Green, Ian Grojnowski, Niccolò Guicciardini, Michael Harris, Ulf Hashagen, Nigel Higson, Andrew Hodges, F. E. A. Johnson, Mark Joshi, Kiran S. Kedlaya, Frank Kelly, Sergiu Klainerman, Jon Kleinberg, Israel Kleiner, Jacek Klinowski, Eberhard Knobloch, János Kollár, T. W. Körner, Michael Krivelevich, Peter D. Lax, Imre Leader, Jean-François Le Gall, W. B. R. Lickorish, Martin W. Liebeck, Jesper Lützen, Des MacHale, Alan L. Mackay, Shahn Majid, Lech Maligranda, David Marker, Jean Mawhin, Barry Mazur, Dusa McDuff, Colin McLarty, Bojan Mohar, Peter M. Neumann, Catherine Nolan, James Norris, Brian Osserman, Richard S. Palais, Marco Panza, Karen Hunger Parshall, Gabriel P. Paternain, Jeanne Peiffer, Carl Pomerance, Helmut Pulte, Bruce Reed, Michael C. Reed, Adrian Rice, Eleanor Robson, Igor Rodnianski, John Roe, Mark Ronan, Edward Sandifer, Tilman Sauer, Norbert Schappacher, Andrzej Schinzel, Erhard Scholz, Reinhard Siegmund-Schultze, Gordon Slade, David J. Spiegelhalter, Jacqueline Stedall, Arild Stubhaug, Madhu Sudan, Terence Tao, Jamie Tappenden, C. H. Taubes, Rüdiger Thiele, Burt Totaro, Lloyd N. Trefethen, Dirk van Dalen, Richard Weber, Dominic Welsh, Avi Wigderson, Herbert Wilf, David Wilkins, B. Yandell, Eric Zaslow, Doron Zeilberger
ISBN: 9781400830398Publication Date: 2010-07-18
Encyclopedia of Mathematics by
Encyclopedia of Mathematics is a comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia designed for high school through early college students. More than 1,000 entries, numerous essays, and more than 150 photographs and illustrations cover the principal areas and issues that characterize this area of science. In order to provide a well-rounded, completely accessible reference, the author worked closely with teachers of all levels in developing subject material and a sound understanding of mathematical concepts, and on teaching analytical thinking. This valuable resource unites disparate ideas and provides the meaning, history, context, and relevance behind each one. The easy-to-use format makes finding straightforward and natural answers to questions within arithmetic—such as algebra, trigonometry, geometry, probability, combinatorics, numbers, logic, calculus, and statistics—simple. Encyclopedia of Mathematics also gives historical context to mathematical concepts, with entries discussing ancient Arabic, Babylonian, Chinese, Egyptian, Greek, Hindu, and Mayan mathematics, as well as entries providing biographical descriptions of important people in the development of mathematics. Essay entries include: Arabic mathematics Babylonian mathematics Egyptian mathematics Mayan mathematics Number systems History of calculus History of functions History of geometry History of trigonometry Indian mathematics. Biographical entries include: Georg Cantor Descartes Euclid Fibonacci Carl Friedrich Gauss David Hilbert Pythagoras Brook Taylor John Von Neumann Zeno of Elea.
Call Number: QA5 .T34 2005ISBN: 0816051240Publication Date: 2005-06-01
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education by
This Encyclopedia is a single-volume reference work for readers and researchers investigating national and international aspects of mathematics education at the elementary, secondary, and post-secondary levels. It consists of more than 400 entries, arranged alphabetically by headings of greatest pertinence to mathematics education. The volume unites major aspects (concepts, pedagogy and history) of mathematics education and should gives users a starting point for in-depth research.
Call Number: QA 11 E665 2001ISBN: 081531647XPublication Date: 2001-03-15
The History of the History of Mathematics by
The writing of mathematical histories has a long history, one which has seldom received scholarly attention. Mathematical history, and mathematical biography, raise distinctive issues of method and approach to which different periods have responded in different ways. At a time of increasing interest in the history of mathematics, this book attempts to show something of the trajectory that history has taken in the past. It presents seven case studies illustrating the different ways that mathematical histories have been written since the seventeenth century, ranging from the 'historia' of John Wallis to the recent re-presentation of Thomas Harriot's manuscripts online. It considers both the ways that individual reputations and biographies have been shaped differently in different circumstances, and the ways that the discipline of mathematics has itself been variously presented through the writing of its history.
ISBN: 9783035302615Publication Date: 2012-03-02
The Handy Math Answer Book by
From modern-day challenges such as balancing a checkbook, following the stock market, buying a home, and figuring out credit card finance charges to appreciating historical developments by Pythagoras, Archimedes, Newton, and other mathematicians, this engaging resource addresses more than 1,000 questions related to mathematics. Organized into chapters that cluster similar topics in an easily accessible format, this reference provides clear and concise explanations about the fundamentals of algebra, calculus, geometry, trigonometry, and other branches of mathematics. It contains the latest mathematical discoveries, including newly uncovered historical documents and updates on how science continues to use math to make cutting-edge innovations in DNA sequencing, superstring theory, robotics, and computers. With fun math facts and illuminating figures, The Handy Math Answer Book explores the uses of math in everyday life and helps the mathematically challenged better understand and enjoy the magic of numbers.
ISBN: 9781578593880Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Mathematical Handbook of Formulas and Tables by
Schaum's has Satisfied Students for 50 Years. Now Schaum's Biggest Sellers are in New Editions For half a century, more than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them study faster, learn better, and get top grades. Now Schaum's celebrates its 50th birthday with a brand-new look, a new format with hundreds of practice problems, and completely updated information to conform to the latest developments in every field of study. Schaum's Outlines-Problem Solved More than 1 Million sold This third edition covers elementary concepts in algebra, geometry, etc. and more advanced concepts in differential equations and vector analysis. It also expands its section on Probability and Statistics and includes a new section on Financial Mathematics to keep up with the current developments in finance studies as well as in the studies of math and the sciences.
ISBN: 9780071548564Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Specialized E-Books Collection
Mathematics Education with Digital Technology by
Mathematics Education with Digital Technology examines ways in which widely available digital technologies can be used to benefit the teaching and learning of mathematics. The contributors offer their insights to locate the value of digital technology for mathematics learning within the context of evidence from documented practice, prior research and of educational policy making. Key pedagogical uses of digital technologies are evaluated in relation to effective mathematics learning and practical ideas for teaching and learning mathematics with digital technology are critically analysed. The volume concludes by looking at future developments and by considering the ways in which ICT could be used as a catalyst for cross-curricular work to achieve greater curricular coherence.
ISBN: 9781441184726Publication Date: 2011-08-04
Math by
Flummoxed by formulas? Queasy about equations? Perturbed by pi? Now you can stop cursing over calculus and start cackling over Math, the newest volume in Bill RobertsonOCOs accurate but amusing Stop Faking It best sellers. As Robertson sees it, too many people view mathematics as a set of rules to be followed, procedures to memorize, and theorems to apply. This book focuses on the reasoning behind the rules, from math basics all the way up to a brief introduction to calculus."
ISBN: 9781933531878Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Understanding Mathematics by
Without a basic understanding of maths, students of any science discipline are ill-equipped to tackle new problems or to apply themselves to novel situations. In this book, Keith Gregson covers a few essential topics that will help encourage an understanding of mathematics so that the student can build on their understanding and apply it to their own scientific discipline
ISBN: 9781904761891Publication Date: 2008-12-01
Differential Geometry by
This book gives the basic notions of differential geometry, such as the metric tensor, the Riemann curvature tensor, the fundamental forms of a surface, covariant derivatives, and the fundamental theorem of surface theory in a self-contained and accessible manner. Although the field is often considered a OC classicalOCO one, it has recently been rejuvenated, thanks to the manifold applications where it plays an essential role.The book presents some important applications to shells, such as the theory of linearly and nonlinearly elastic shells, the implementation of numerical methods for shells, and mesh generation in finite element methods.This volume will be very useful to graduate students and researchers in pure and applied mathematics."
ISBN: 9812771476Publication Date: 2008-05-06
Discrete Mathematics Demystified by
MULTIPLY your chances of understanding DISCRETE MATHEMATICS If you're interested in learning the fundamentals of discrete mathematics but can't seem to get your brain to function, then here's your solution. Add this easy-to-follow guide to the equation and calculate how quickly you learn the essential concepts. Written by award-winning math professor Steven Krantz, Discrete Mathematics Demystified explains this challenging topic in an effective and enlightening way. You will learn about logic, proofs, functions, matrices, sequences, series, and much more. Concise explanations, real-world examples, and worked equations make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter exercises and a final exam help reinforce learning. This fast and easy guide offers: Numerous figures to illustrate key concepts Sample problems with worked solutions Coverage of set theory, graph theory, and number theory Chapters on cryptography and Boolean algebra A time-saving approach to performing better on an exam or at work Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced student, Discrete Mathematics Demystified is your integral tool for mastering this complex subject.
ISBN: 9780071549493Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Geometric Mechanics and Symmetry by
Classical mechanics, one of the oldest branches of science, has undergone a long evolution, developing hand in hand with many areas of mathematics, including calculus, differential geometry, and the theory of Lie groups and Lie algebras. The modern formulations of Lagrangian and Hamiltonian mechanics, in the coordinate-free language of differential geometry, are elegant and general. They provide a unifying framework for many seemingly disparate physical systems, such asnOCoparticle systems, rigid bodies, fluids and other continua, and electromagnetic and quantum systems.Geometric Mechanics and Symmetry is a friendly and fast-paced introduction to the geometric approach to classical mechanics, suitable for a one- or two- semester course for beginning graduate students or advanced undergraduates. It fills a gap between traditional classical mechanics texts and advanced modern mathematical treatments of the subject. After a summary of the necessary elements of calculus on smooth manifolds and basic Lie group theory, the main body of the text considershow symmetry reduction of Hamilton's principle allows one to derive and analyze the Euler-Poincar--eacute--; equations for dynamics on Lie groups.Additional topics deal with rigid and pseudo-rigid bodies, the heavy top, shallow water waves, geophysical fluid dynamics and computational anatomy. The text ends with a discussion of the semidirect-product Euler-Poincar--eacute--; reduction theorem for ideal fluid dynamics.A variety of examples and figures illustrate the material, while the many exercises, both solved and unsolved, make the book a valuable class text."
ISBN: 9780191549861
Algebraic Approach to Differential Equations by
Mixing elementary results and advanced methods, Algebraic Approach to Differential Equations aims to accustom differential equation specialists to algebraic methods in this area of interest. It presents material from a school organized by The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), the Bibliotheca Alexandrina, and the International Centre for Pure and Applied Mathematics (CIMPA).
ISBN: 9789814273244
