LibGuides: Mathematics: Databases

Finding Electronic Journals

On-Campus

Enter the library's websitehttp://www.lib.subr.edu
Locate FIND
Click Articles and Databases
Select Databases A to Z
Scroll down and locate the database of your choice
Click on On-Campus
Enter your search

Off-Campus

Enter the library's websitehttp://www.lib.subr.edu
Locate FIND
Click Articles and Databases
Select Databases A to Z
Scroll down and locate the database of your choice
Click on Off-Campus
You will be prompted to login to LOUIS Licensed Databases
Enter your Userid = Banner identification number (example: S0123456)
Pin = CHANGEME
Select Southern Universityfrom the drop-down menu
Click Authenticate

Database

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. This resource contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
PrepSTEP for Colleges This link opens in a new window
PrepSTEP® is packed with powerful resources that help students succeed in college and the workforce. Targeted learning centers meet the needs of all students learning modules include: College Success Skills, Core Math and Science Skills, Core English Skills, Career Preparation, Placement Test Preparation, Basic Computer Skill, Grad School Admissions Preparation, and Spanish Center.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet® is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.

Search Strategy Sheet

SEARCH STRATEGY SHEET

1. Identify and develop your topic

What topic are you researching? State your topic in a complete sentence.

What are the keywords ( main concepts) from your topic sentence?

_______________________ ____________________ ________________ _______________

What other synonyms (words that express the same idea) could be used for
those keywords?

Keyword: _______________ Keyword: _______________ Keyword: ______________

Synonym: ______________ Synonym:_______________ Synonym: ______________

Synonym:_______________ Synonym: ______________ Synonym:_______________

Suggested Database(s) for your search:

________________________ ______________________ ________________

________________________ _______________________ __________________

2. Create a Search Statement (How you search for results)

Boolean Connectors terms (AND-OR-NOT) will help you construct a search for
the computer to perform.

AND is used to join words or phrases when both (or all ) the terms must appear
in the items you retrieve. Example: school violence AND students

OR is used to join related terms, thus broadening your search results.
Example: high blood pressure OR hypertension

NOT is used to exclude words from your search results.
Example: Women NOT Men