Library Research: The Library's Website and Services: About the Libary Website

 Instructions: This page provides an overview of the library's website. The page contains hyperlinks to resources and services featured on the library website. Please click on the hyperlinks and explore the content featured. I have also placed handouts with details on searching for resources such as books, journals, and other resources we will cover in the coming weeks.

 The library website serves as a virtual gateway to its wealth of resources and services, extending its reach to a global audience. Its primary purpose is to provide seamless and convenient access to diverse scholarly materials, including digital databases, e-books, journals, research guides, historical information, and more. Users can explore the online catalog, research, and access educational resources through the website regardless of location. This online presence enhances the efficiency and effectiveness of academic success by offering a user-friendly interface for discovering, accessing, and utilizing information resources. 

Moreover, the academic library website is an essential communication hub, informing the Southern University educational community about library services, events, and updates. It provides a platform for librarians to share important announcements, deliver virtual workshops, and offer online reference assistance. The SUBR Library website also allows patrons to renew materials and placeholds and access personalized features through the online catalog. By extending the library's reach beyond its physical walls, the website plays a crucial role in supporting the research needs of students, faculty, and researchers. 

There are two ways to begin your search for resources at John B. Cade Library.

1. By using the Discovery Feature (See the Image below)

Our university library website is a comprehensive online platform to support our university community's academic and research needs. As the digital gateway to our extensive collection of resources and services, our website is a vital tool for students, faculty, researchers, and staff.

Key Features include:

1. Online Catalog: Explore our vast collection of books, journals, multimedia resources, and more through our user-friendly online catalog. Whether you're searching for course materials, scholarly articles, or reference materials, our catalog provides seamless access to a wealth of resources.

2. Databases and E-resources: Access various electronic resources, including scholarly databases, e-books, journals, and multimedia resources. Our extensive collection of online resources is accessible both on and off-campus, offering flexibility and convenience for your research needs. *you will be prompted to enter a USER NAME and PIN when accessing any other library's electronic resources off-campus. USER NAME=Banner Number (Example: U0123456), PIN=CHANGEME

3. 

4. LibGuides (Research Guides) and Tutorials: Navigate through our research guides and tutorials to find valuable guidance on conducting research, citing sources, using specific databases, and more. These resources are tailored to support you in developing essential research skills and navigating the academic landscape effectively.

5. Library Services: Discover the array of services our library offers, including interlibrary loans, reference assistance, workshops, and library orientations. Our dedicated staff is committed to providing personalized support and assistance to help you maximize our resources and services.

6. Events and News: Stay informed about upcoming library events, workshops, exhibitions, and news through our website. We regularly host engaging events to promote literacy, research skills, and community engagement within our university community. Library Events and News is also available on the Library's Facebook Page.

Explore the Library's Frequently Asked Questions

Connect With John B. Cade Library. Review the following services available to assist you with research.

Libary's Chat Service- Our team of knowledgeable librarians is here to assist you with any questions. Whether you're seeking research help, book recommendations, or assistance navigating our online resources, we're dedicated to providing prompt and reliable support. Feel free to start a conversation with us, and let's explore the world of knowledge together! The chat service is available from the library's website. (See the image below)

Library's Text Service- Need quick assistance or have a burning question? Text us, and our team of dedicated librarians will be on hand to help. Text us at 225-475-3176

Connect with us on social media platforms (Facebook) to stay updated on library announcements, events, and resources. You can also subscribe to our newsletter to receive regular updates directly to your inbox.

Contact Us:

If you have any questions, need assistance, or want to provide feedback, please don't hesitate to contact us. Our library staff is here to support you and address any inquiries you may have.

We're Here to Support You:

Our university library website is designed to provide convenient access to a wealth of resources, services, and support to enhance your academic and research experience. Whether you're conducting research, seeking course materials, or exploring new topics, we're here to help you succeed.

I have attached copies of useful handouts that will help you locate library information for this class, and your other classes.  Click on the hyperlink of the handouts. All documents are in PDF.