What is a Concept Analysis
Steps to find concept analysis articles:
1. Identify a concept
2. Select a database and set-up your search strategy
Examples:
CINAHL, Academic Search Complete, Science Direct, Psych Info.
3.Select the advanced search choice.
4.Type terms in the different search boxes.
5.Use "Concept Analysis" in one of the search boxes. You can try limiting to "title of article" -- this will look for "concept analysis" in the article title.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full text for nursing and allied health journals, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937. Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and most effective treatment options.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is home to almost one-quarter of the world's peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. Over 15 million researchers, health care professionals, teachers, students and information professionals around the globe rely on ScienceDirect as a trusted source of nearly 2,200 journals and more than 26,000 book titles.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for hundreds of medical journals. Content Includes: Full-text for more than 2,400 journalsFull-text coverage dating back to 1865Ongoing full text and deep backfile coverage for many key journals Subjects Include: BiomedicinePre-Clinical SciencesBehavioral SciencesBioengineeringHealth Policy DevelopmentLife ScienceAnd much more…
Dictionary
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online) This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Database Search Strategies and Concept Analysis
Selection of appropriate search terms is very appropriate. We recommend connecting the term for your concept with any of these search terms using the Boolean operator AND. Also, truncate words using the * symbol to search for variant word endings. Here are some helpful search strategies to try:
Strategy #1: Identify and Name the Concept of Interest (The example below is compassion) =
Strategy #2: Find alternative words for concept analysis (philosophy, theory, definition, concept, religion, anthropology, theory and psychology)
The Truncation symbol was used below to have the databases retrieve more results.
- compassion AND "concept analysis"
- compassion AND philosoph*
- compassion AND theor*
- compassion AND defin*
- compassion AND concept*
- compassion AND (religious OR religion* OR theolog*)
- compassion AND anthropolog*
- compassion AND theor* AND psycholog*
- etc.
- A Guide to Concept AnalysisPlease read this article for a deeper explanation of Concept Analysis.
