John B. Cade Library
OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS
OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS
The EZProxy system allows off-campus access to information resources that are restricted to Southern University students, staff, and faculty. If you use electronic resources from an on-campus computer, your computer is identified as being on the campus network and you can access resources seamlessly. EZProxy allows your off-campus computer to be identified as a part of the university network.
If you are not on-campus you will prompted by EZProxy to enter the following:
User Name =BANNER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER
Example: U0123456
PIN=CHANGEME
Technical Support
If you have any problems accessing databases remotely please contact the Ask Here Desk at (225)771-2841,the Systems and Technology Office at (225)771-4934, or contact Ms. Payne at (225)771-2604.
General/Mutilple-Discipline Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new windowEBSCO Discovery Service offers you a single access point to searching a vast range of our library's resources. In addition to the library holdings you can search in thousands of journals and in all EBSCO databases.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
- IBIS World This link opens in a new windowIBISWorld is an industry research database. It contains reports on industries in the following markets: China, Global, and U.S. The U.S. content is further subdivided into: Industry Reports classified by NAICS (North American Industry Classification System), Specialized Industry Reports for industries not adequately covered by NAICS, Industry iExpert Summaries, Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries and Business Environment Profiles.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowSocial Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection is a trusted citation index for scientific and scholarly research. It is a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.
Can't Find an Article @ John B. Cade Library?
- Option 1: Submit a request through Ingenta Connect Ingenta Connect allows you to request journal articles not available in the library's collection. All request requires 24-48 hours.
- Option 2: Submit a request through Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan allows you to submit a request for items not owned by John B. Cade Library. If this is your first time submitting a request please click on "New User". Interlibrary Loan request takes 2-3 weeks.
Core Business Database
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
- eBook Business Collection This link opens in a new windowEBooks are selected for this collection to assist students and scholars with various business research, special project and entrepreneurial needs, and to help students understand general business concepts. The eBook Business Collection encompasses a variety of business topics, such as marketing, finance, supply chain management and entrepreneurship, with additional focus on career growth, personal development, communication and networking.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces. Key resources include newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires, with full-text content coverage spanning over 22 years. Content Includes:Full-text for 106 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications,Full-text coverage dating back to 1990.
News/Newspaper Databases
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher is your first source for information on American politics, federal and state government, American institutions, campaigns and elections, current events, and world affairs.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
- America's Historical Newspapers-Louisiana State Package This link opens in a new windowFrom Maine to California, the most comprehensive collection of U.S. newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries is America's Historical Newspapers. Now America's Historical Newspaper Select enables institutions to create a customized collection from thousands of historical newspapers published in every U.S. region or state - or any combination. When your institution's needs expand, titles from additional locations can be added at any time.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.