John B. Cade Library
Below you will find a list of useful databases to assist you in locating scholarly research articles, books, and reference resources. Click the hyperlink to the title of the database for quick access. Remember when you click on the hyperlink you will be asked to enter your USERID, and Pin. Your USERID is your Banner Identification Number, the PIN is set at the default CHANGEME. Please feel free to contact if you have any questions. Maletta Payne (225)771-2604. Place pointer under the database title for a complete description.
Legal Databases
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
Business Database
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces. Key resources include newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires, with full-text content coverage spanning over 22 years. Content Includes:Full-text for 106 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications,Full-text coverage dating back to 1990.
Multi-Disciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new windowEBSCO Discovery Service offers you a single access point to searching a vast range of our library's resources. In addition to the library holdings you can search in thousands of journals and in all EBSCO databases.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
Technical Assistance
Off-Campus Access
The EZ Proxy system allows off-campus access to information resources that are restricted to Southern University students, faculty, and staff. EZProxy allows your-off-campus computer to be identified as a part of the university network.
If you are not on-campus you will be prompted by EZProxy to enter the following:
USERID (or ALTID)=Banner Identification Number
Example: U0123456
PIN=CHANGEME
Technical Support
If you have any problems accessing databases remotely please contact the Ask Here Desk at (225)771-2841, or contact Ms. Payne at (225)771-2604.