WELCOME to John B. Cade Library online PHYSICS resources.
These books, journals, and databases are available to you ONLINE in FREE FULL TEXT on or off campus.
To use a database, electronic journal, or electronic book, click on its title. When you are asked for a userid and PIN, type in your Banner identification number and your PIN. If you haven't yet chosen a PIN, the beginner PIN is CHANGEME, typed in all capital letters.
If you experience difficulty while logging in, go to the Library website opening screen by doing a Google search on John B. Cade Library or www.lib.subr.edu Below Welcome to John B. Cade Library, click on Click Here to Report Database/Login Issues. Fill out the Report Database Issues/Login Issues Form. Click SUBMIT. A librarian will resolve your problem.
The next line is Click Here to Access Library Remote Services. This is a list of our services, with links to each.
If you want assistance in choosing books or articles, or if you want to make suggestions about the content of this guide, you can contact me by clicking the EMAIL ME button below the photo.
Betty Singh
Electronic Books
-
Fundamentals of Physics
by
ISBN: 9780300206791Publication Date: 2014-03-28Professor R. Shankar, a well-known physicist and contagiously enthusiastic educator, was among the first to offer a course through the innovative Open Yale Course program. His popular online video lectures on introductory physics have been viewed over a million times. In this concise and self-contained book based on his online Yale course, Shankar explains the fundamental concepts of physics from Galileo's and Newton's discoveries to the twentieth-century's revolutionary ideas on relativity and quantum mechanics. The book begins at the simplest level, develops the basics, and reinforces fundamentals, ensuring a solid foundation in the principles and methods of physics. It provides an ideal introduction for college-level students of physics, chemistry, and engineering, for motivated AP Physics students, and for general readers interested in advances in the sciences. -
Handbook of Meteorology
by
ISBN: 9780810886124Publication Date: 2012-12-06The Handbook of Meteorology gives specialists and non-specialists alike a clear understanding of the way our weather functions. It provides scientific answers to questions that arise when looking at the world around us. It starts with the basics of weather--temperature, pressure, humidity, and wind--before moving on to cover highs, lows, fronts, and storms, and finally ending with a look at weather forecasts, cloud watching, weather tools, and much more. The Handbook of Meteorology provides a condensed but all-inclusive broad sweep of meteorology, employing several illustrations to translate detailed technical information into terms that everyone can follow and readily refer to. It is a comprehensive reference for any budding meteorologist or environmental professional in the field, laboratory, or classroom. -
Writing for Science
by
ISBN: 9780300132939Publication Date: 2008-10-01This exceptional book encompasses the entire range of writing skills that today's experimental scientist may need to employ. Detailed chapters cover every type of science writing, from routine forms, such as laboratory notes, abstracts, and memoranda, to the more complex writing required in dissertations, journal articles, and grant proposals. Using numerous extended examples, the book offers students and professionals alike the thorough, practical advice they need to optimize the effectiveness of their written communications. Robert Goldbort discusses how best to approach various writing tasks as well as how to deal with the everyday complexities that may get in the way of ideal practice--difficult collaborators, experiments gone wrong, funding rejections. He underscores the importance of an ethical approach to science and scientific communication and insists on the necessity of full disclosure. For working scientists, those seeking employment in the sciences, students taking on writing assignments or oral presentations, and professionals who hope to publish or acquire funding, this volume is an essential resource.
Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
-
Credo Academic Core This link opens in a new windowThousands of libraries around the world trust Credo Online Reference Service when helping students start their research, or demonstrating the research process during instruction. See what sets Credo apart from other research platforms. Over 3 million full-text entries alongside thousands of easily searchable images, audio files, and videos.
Includes vetted and notable content from over 100 publishers and the ability to seamlessly expand by adding titles from Essentials Collections or individual titles available for purchase. -
Dissertations & Theses @ Southern University and A&M College (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowDissertations & Theses is a service made available exclusively to universities whose graduate students actively publish their doctoral dissertations and/or master's theses with ProQuest Dissertation Publishing. Dissertations & Theses @ accounts provide participating universities and their campuses with: Free access to citations of dissertations and theses written by your graduates and published with ProQuest Dissertation Publishing, Free access to abstracts, when available (1980 and forward for doctoral dissertations; 1988 and forward for master's theses), Free access to 24 page previews and the full text in PDF format, when available (generally, 1997 and forward)
-
Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text offers a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works since 1997, along with selected full text works written prior to 1997.
-
E-Journals This link opens in a new window
EJS can help you quickly find the articles you need to get your research papers and other assignments done in record time. EJS puts your library�s e-journals acquired through EBSCO in a single place on the Web, so you don't have to jump to different Web sites to find the articles you need.
-
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a wide selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
-
Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
-
Science Direct This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is home to almost one-quarter of the world's peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. Over 15 million researchers, health care professionals, teachers, students and information professionals around the globe rely on ScienceDirect as a trusted source of nearly 2,200 journals and more than 26,000 book titles.
Hardcover Books
-
The Encyclopedia of Materials
by
Call Number: Reference TA 402 .E53 2001ISBN: 0080431526Publication Date: 2001-09-19The study of materials is interdisciplinary in nature and requires knowledge of research in many related fields, such as physics, chemistry, engineering and even biomedical science. Scientists and engineers working with materials increasingly need a medium for gathering relevant information from the growing amount of literature available. The Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology presents around 1,800 articles written by experts in their fields, resulting in a comprehensive coverage of this broad and wide-ranging subject. It is the only encyclopedia available that covers all of materials science and technology, focussing on the following areas: Functional Phenomena Structural Phenomena Fundamental Core Theory Structural Materials Polymers and Materials Chemistry Functional Materials This title is also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. Please contact your librarian for more information about access to these products within your institution. -
Introduction to Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
by
Call Number: QC 176.8 .N35 B56 2010ISBN: 9780471776475Publication Date: 2010-06-16Introduction to Nanoscience and Nanotechnology explains nanotechnology to an audience that does not necessarily have a scientific background. It covers all aspects, including the new areas of biomedical applications and the use of nanotechnology to probe the "quantum vacuum." After discussing the present state of the art in nanotechnology, the book makes estimates of where these technologies are going and what will be possible in the future. -
Mechanics of Composite Materials
by
Call Number: TA 418.9 .C6 J59 1999ISBN: 156032712xPublication Date: 1998-07-01This book balances introduction to the basic concepts of the mechanical behavior of composite materials and laminated composite structures. It covers topics from micromechanics and macromechanics to lamination theory and plate bending, buckling, and vibration, clarifying the physical significance of composite materials. In addition to the materials covered in the first edition, this book includes more theory-experiment comparisons and updated information on the design of composite materials.
