The library subscribes to over 100 databases covering specialized and multiple disciplines. As your library liaison I have assembled databases that are useful to your discipline. To begin your search click the database hyperlink to begin your search. If you are working from home, you will be prompted to enter a USER NAME and PIN.
USER NAME = BANNER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (example: S0123456)
PIN = CHANGEME
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me by phone at 225 771-0071 or email at Charlotte_Henderson@subr.edu, or you may contact the ASK HERE DESK at 225 771-2841.
On-Campus
Off-Campus
1. Identify and develop your topic.
What topic are you researching? State your topic in a complete sentence?
What are the keywords (main concepts) from your topic sentence?
What other synonyms (words that express the same idea) could be used for those keywords?
Use the list of databases suggested in the next column where you may find articles in Speech Pathology.
2. Use the Advanced Search feature on the database search page to make your search more specific to your topic.
Click on Advanced Search and type your keyword in the search box;
Use the drop-down arrow to the right of the search box to select All Text, Title, Subject, etc. (For example: "Speech Pathology" as the subject - retrieves articles on the subject of speech pathology; Speech Pathology as the title - retrieves articles that have that term in the title of the article)
Use the additional boxes to type additional keywords that are in your topic sentence. (For example: "hearing loss" and "students")
Academic Search Complete is a Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Provides full text for nursing and allied health journals, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937. Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and most effective treatment options.
The Education Resource Information Center provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. This resource contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
This resource provides over five hundred scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry and many more.
MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for hundreds of medical journals. Content Includes: Full-text for more than 2,400 journals Full-text coverage dating back to 1865 Ongoing full text and deep backfile coverage for many key journals Subjects Include: Biomedicine, Pre-Clinical Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Bioengineering, Health Policy Development, Life Science, and much more…
Many of our journals are available full-text from our databases. However, a select number are listed on our library catalog.