LibGuides: All of Us- National Institute of Health: Resources for Researchers

Research Projects Directory

Research Projects Directory
The Research Projects Directory includes information about all projects that currently exist in the Researcher Workbench to help provide transparency about how the Workbench is being used. Each project specifies whether Registered Tier or Controlled Tier data are used.

COVID-19 Research Initiatives

COVID-19 Research Initiatives
The COVID-19 pandemic has affected us all. The All of Us Research Program has taken steps to support COVID-19 research in a number of ways. Learn more about our activities and the COVID-19 data available to researchers.

Survey Explorer

Survey Explorer
Participants in the All of Us Research Program respond to surveys spanning a variety of topics. The program has tested each survey for readability and accessibility using cognitive interviews and quantitative testing. This testing process included people from different educational backgrounds and geographic locations to capture a sample that reflects the U.S. population. After participants complete the core surveys (The Basics, Lifestyle, and Overall Health), they may complete additional surveys on other topics.

Data Dictionary

Data Dictionary
The All of Us Data Dictionary documents what data are available from participants and what modifications the program makes to protect participant privacy. It provides a description for each data field, noting whether it is a standard OMOP field or a custom field created to help capture data unique to the program. The Data Dictionary also provides information on whether the data in each field come from participant health records or from information the participants provide themselves, like survey data. The Data Dictionary details some ways we clean the data to improve data quality, as well as many of the program custom concept IDs for easy reference. This resource includes versioning data so you can see what has been changed, added, or removed since the previous curated dataset.
Registered Tier Data Dictionary
Controlled Tier Data Dictionary

All of Us Research Publications

All of Us Research Publications
There are currently 397 publications and counting.

Handouts

All of Us Survey Codebook

All of Us Survey Codebooks

Curated Datasets

All of Us Research Program data in its final format, after harmonization and refinement, are referred to as a curated dataset. Three different levels of information are available:

The Public Tier dataset displays high-level summaries of the data available for research. Through the Data Browser, one can explore anonymized, aggregated participant data and summary statistics.

The Registered Tier curated dataset may be accessed by registered researchers in the Researcher Workbench. Registered Tier data includes individual-level data from surveys, physical measurements taken at the time of participant enrollment, longitudinal EHRs, and wearables like Fitbit. This individual-level data must be analyzed within the secure Researcher Workbench.

The Controlled Tier curated dataset may be accessed in the Researcher Workbench by registered researchers who complete all necessary requirements. In addition to all of the data in the Registered Tier, the Controlled Tier data include genomic data and more detailed demographic, EHR, and survey data than the Registered Tier.

Visit the Data Access Tiers page to learn more about our tiered-data access model.