Welcome
Welcome to the Instruct InfoLit library learning module page. This guide was created to provide vital information in the research process. However, library research does come with assistance. If you need help with your research, Librarians can assist you!
About the Learning Modules
The modules are a good source if you need a refresher or additional help with how to do research.
To view the learning modules, or to access the library's databases for articles you will need to login if you are working off-campus. (See the instructions below).
If you are accessing the library's electronic resources off-campus, you will be prompted to login. (See the required login credentials needed to access John B. Cade Library's electronic resources.
REQUIRED LOGIN CREDENTIALS
USER NAME=BANNER NUMBER (Example: U0123456)
PIN=CHANGEME
*If you are having trouble signing into Instruct InfoLit Modules complete the Student Information Form and a librarian will contact you.
-
John B. Cade Library’s Website
- Video: How to Access the Library's A to Z List
- Video: What's my USER NAME and PIN
- Report Database Issues
- Databases A to Z List
-
Library Research Consultations with your Library Liaison. Have a research question? Library Liaisons are available to consult with you at every stage of the research process.
-
Text a Librarian at 225-475-3176.
-
Access to over 100 Databases that consist of specialized subjects, electronic references, video, etc.
-
Electronic book collections via the library’s website.
-
Interlibrary Loan Services -Services include: Get it Now and Reprint Desk. (Document Delivery Services)
-
LibChat (Librarian Chat Service)/Library FAQ
-
Library Hours
-
Research Help
Learning Modules
Directions: View the modules by clicking on the hyperlink below. (Remebers, when working off-campus you will be prompted to login. Enter the following login credenitals USER NAME=BANNER (Example: U0123456), PIN=CHANGME. If you encounter login issues, Click the link below.
This module covers why information literacy skills matter and how to get started with a research project, including understanding the process, choosing a topic, and beginning research. (Each tutorial will have a book symbol that represents the number of topics featured. Once you have completed a tutorial, click the back button to move on to the topic.
Tutorial: Why Information Literacy Matters
Video: Life in the Information Age
Tutorial: Developing a Research Focus
Video: How to Narrow Your Topic
Videos: Beginning Research with Wikipedia/Google
Tutorial: Background Research Tips
Tutorial: How To Read Scholarly Materials
Video: How to Read Scholarly Materials
This module covers the basics of searching for information, including choosing the right source, identifying keywords, and employing search techniques.
Videos: Searching as Exploration
Tutorial: Choosing & Using Keywords
Tutorial: Search Techniques, Part 1
Tutorial: Search Techniques, Part 2
Video: Refining Search Results
About this Module: This module covers the importance of academic integrity and the basics of citing sources in different styles.
Tutorial: Why Citations Matter