WELCOME to John B.Cade Library online CLINICAL MENTAL HEALTH COUNSELING resources.
These books, journals, and databases are available to you ONLINE in FREE FULL TEXT on or off campus.
To use a database, electronic journal, or electronic book, click on its title. When you are asked for a userid and PIN, type in your Banner identification number and your PIN. If you haven't yet chosen a PIN, the beginner PIN is CHANGEME, typed in all capital letters.
If you experience difficulty while logging in, go to the Library website opening screen by doing a Google search on John B. Cade Library or www.lib.subr.edu . Below Welcome to John B. Cade Library, click on Click Here to Report Database/Login Issues. Fill out the Report Database Issues/Login Issues Form. Click SUBMIT. A librarian will resolve your problem.
The next line is Click Here to Access Library Remote Services. This is a list of our services, with links to each.
If you want assistance in choosing books or articles, or it you want to make suggestions about the content of this guide, you can contact me by clicking the EMAIL ME button below the photo.
Betty Singh
Electronic Books
-
Addictions Counseling
by
ISBN: 9780824527167Publication Date: 2004-05-01This wholly revised and updated edition of Addictions Counseling is widely read by professional counselors as well as ministers, teachers, and nurses. Topics include the counselor's role in recovery, treatment approaches, and sample treatment plans. -
Career Counseling Interventions
by
ISBN: 9780826132161Publication Date: 2016-02-28This graduate text for courses in career counseling is distinguished by its emphasis on creative interventions tailored to the unique needs of diversepopulations. With a focus on career as a cornerstone of personal identity, the book explores the specific meaning of careers within different cultures andexamines the challenges faced by, and potential solutions for, individuals with diverse backgrounds and needs. It describes unique interventions that allowcounseling students to visualize and actualize career counseling with a wide range of clients and demonstrates techniques targeted to each population thatcan be put into practice immediately. The text provides demographic information regarding specific job-seeking groups including such ' traditional' populations as college graduates and workingparents, as well as groups that encounter special challenges such as stay-at-home parents returning to work, formerly incarcerated individuals, people withdisabilities, teen mothers, African American, Hispanic, and Asian males and females, older adults, LGBT individuals, and many others. Over 50 creative, innovative interventions that have been successfully applied help counselors to provide effective career development strategies with each population. Eachchapter includes a vignette representing each population, group demographics, a history of career paths and obstacles, unique needs of the group, supportsalready in place, and specific career counseling assessments and interventions. The book also provides abundant resources for further study. In addition toits value to career counselors, the text will also be useful to personal counselors who often deal with their clients' career issues during treatment. Key Features: Provides in-depth exploration of underserved populations who have unique career development needs Includes innovative career counseling interventions that move beyond standard ' job hunt strategies' or ' r√(c)sum√(c) preparation tips' Explores life stage concerns related to career development across multiple diverse identities Gives readers step-by-step details on implementing over 50 creative yet practical career counseling techniques Presents case studies that provide clear examples of the application of relevant interventions -
Causality and Psychopathology
by
ISBN: 9780199754649Publication Date: 2010-12-29Part of the new American Pyschopathological Association Series. Containing contributions from leading scholars of causal thinking in epidemiology and psychopathology research, this volume is based on presentations at the ground-breaking 2008 meeting of the American PsychopathologicalAssociation. The authors explore the meaning of causal statements that are made from statistical and experimental evidence; then, they suggest novel approaches to analyze these statements and thus make them more informative and medically rigorous. The collection of chapters uniquely includes bothmethodological contributions and detailed assessments of how causal inferences can be made when considering research results on developmental psychopathology, clinical psychopharmacology, personality disorders, post-traumatic stress disorder, and psychiatric genetics. In analyzing causalreferences, the authors examine controversies surrounding various disorders and their treatment. -
College Student Mental Health Counseling
by
ISBN: 9780826199713Publication Date: 2014-01-01Using a unique developmental focus, this clinical handbook provides college counseling professionals and trainees with strategies for addressing the most pressing and frequently encountered issues presented by college students. These problems are considered from the perspective of biological, psychological, and social development and include issues faced by the student population according to both college year (freshman, senior, etc.) and the academic calendar, such as spring and winter breaks and exam periods. The text also addresses the particular needs of non-traditional students and the impact of cultural identity on the way in which a disorder manifests or is best treated. The only text to focus on both the developmental and clinical concerns of contemporary college students, it provides detailed information on such prevalent presenting issues as major depressive disorder, anxiety, substance abuse and addiction, eating disorders, grief, self-injury, social adjustment concerns, and intimate relationships. The text examines how a disorder usually presents and manifests in college students, addressing the role of gender, cultural identify, and age. It provides best practice treatment strategies that take into account the time-limited nature of treatment in most college counseling centers, and discusses the use of individual and group counseling. The text also addresses such issues as crisis management, teaming up with faculty and staff to develop preventive care programming, and developing alliances with parents. Case studies and descriptions of symptom presentation are derived from composites of students treated by the authors. College Student Clinical Mental Health Counseling will be useful as both a text and a "go-to" reference for counselors to use when working with students. Key Features: Offers a developmental approach for understanding the psychological, emotional, and social development of students in higher education Addresses the most pressing and frequently encountered difficulties of college students with relevant treatment models Focuses on specific difficulties that may occur during different academic years and according to the standard academic calendar Covers depressive disorders, substance abuse, eating disorders, self-injury, grief, social adjustment concerns, and intimate relationships Provides intervention strategies that adhere to the brief counseling framework of most college settings -
Directive Play Therapy
by
ISBN: 9780826130655Publication Date: 2016-10-15Structured, therapist-led approaches to play therapy are becoming increasingly popular due to their time-limited nature and efficacy for such specific disorders as trauma and attachment issues. This is the first book to provide comprehensive coverage of numerous directive play therapy techniques and interventions that are empirically validated and can be adapted for use in clinical, school, group, and family settings. Designed for both students and practitioners, the text addresses the theoretical bases for these approaches and provides in-depth, practical guidance for their use. The book describes how directive play therapies differ from nondirective therapies and illustrates best practices in using directive techniques. It examines such diverse approaches as cognitive behavioral, solution focused, sensorimotor, and the use of creative arts in play therapy. Each approach is covered in terms of its theoretical foundation, research basis, specific techniques for practice, and a case example. The text describes how to adapt directive play therapy techniques for use in various contexts, such as with families, in groups, and in schools. Helpful templates for treatment planning and case documentation are also included, making the book a valuable resource for both training courses and practicing professionals in play therapy, clinical mental health counseling, child counseling, school counseling, child and family social work, marriage and family therapy, and clinical child psychology. Key Features: Delivers step-by-step guidance for using directive play therapy techniques--the first book to do soAddresses theoretical basis, research support, and practical techniques for a diverse range of therapiesCovers varied settings and contexts including school, clinical, group, and family settingsIncludes case studiesProvides templates for treatment planning and case documentation -
Experiential Approach for Developing Multicultural Counseling Competence
by
ISBN: 9781412996525Publication Date: 2012-04-19This text is an ideal companion for anyone preparing for a career in counseling or mental health, applicable to all core courses in the counseling curriculum and developmentally designed to build multicultural and diversity competencies from a beginning to advanced level. As a mental health- worker-in-training you will need to learn to work effectively with clients from diverse backgrounds, and this text provides a ready-made resource of multicultural and diversity activities to enhance your classroom learning. This book is structured around the nine core areas of the Multicultural Counseling Competencies (MCCs). These competencies are designated by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) to help you learn the critical areas of personal and racial identity, develop an awareness of your own cultural values and biases (knowledge, awareness, and skills), and to build an understanding of both the counselor and client's worldviews. The book devotes three final chapters to culturally appropriate intervention strategies that again strengthen your awareness, knowledge, and skills. -
Favorite Counseling and Therapy
by
ISBN: 9780415871044Publication Date: 2010-12-22In the new edition of this highly popular book, Howard Rosenthal once again brings together a group of prominent therapists who share their insightful, pioneering, and favorite therapeutic techniques. These therapists include such well-known figures as Albert Ellis, Arnold Lazarus, William Glasser, Raymond Corsini, and Allen E. Ivey. Many of the classic entries in the previous edition are once again included, some unaltered and others updated, while several new chapters have been added to reflect the newest advancements in the counseling field. For practitioners wondering what methods to use when working with clients and what they can prescribe for them between sessions, or for those who simply are interested in gaining insight into the thoughts and minds of such eminent therapists, the more than 50 entries in this text are sure to be both highly useful and exciting reads. -
Foundations of Mental Health Counseling
by
ISBN: 9780398086350Publication Date: 2011-05-01The importance of mental health counseling has grown, including the array of mental health issues that arise in an uncertain and fragile world. It has been 25 years since the original edition of Foundations of Mental Health Counseling was published. This fourth edition expands the information in the previous editions by updating the positive changes in the field of mental health counseling including the recognition of licensed professional counselors by managed care organizations and insurance companies. There are twelve new authors that have added tremendously to the depth and breadth of the book and which offer chapters that include both practical as well as theoretical ideas and information. Presented in six sections, Section I is an overview that covers a historical perspective from which an assertive and articulate voice for the identity and advancement of mental health counseling has emerged. Section II covers the role of theory and the integration of these theories in the practice of mental health counseling, including mental health and aging, multiculturalism and diversity, career counseling, and the use of humor in counseling sessions. Section III details the expanding employment opportunities, work settings, and private practice. The issues of substance abuse and the effective counselor and intimate partner violence is addressed. Section IV presents the counselor s role in recovery and trauma counseling treatment regarding terrorism. Section V explores the licensure, credentialing, and legislation related to mental health counseling, its impact, and the counselor as a political activist. Section VI addresses assessment, research, ethics, curriculum, and trends of mental health counseling. Additionally, there are two very important segments that reflect the changing times for counselors. First, the role of counselors in dealing with disasters and terrorism, and second, the place of technology within the counselor s world and so -
Grief and Loss Across the Lifespan
by
ISBN: 9780826120281Publication Date: 2015-08-01This unique text for undergraduate and master's-level social work and counseling courses on loss, grief, and bereavement is distinguished by its biopsychosocial perspective and developmental framework. The book addresses grieving patterns and intervention strategies according to the life trajectory and provides clinical intervention tools and strategies for coping according to the developmental stage of an individual. It incorporates losses beyond death loss, with special focus on losses related to maturational development. The second edition reflects new research that has clarified and underscored the value of theories examined in the first edition√>=particularly in the areas of continued bonds, disenfranchised grief, and ambiguous grief. It describes how grieving is influenced by biological responses to stress, psychological responses to loss, and social norms and support networks. The second edition includes significant new information on trauma and resilience and addresses the use of mindfulness practices with grief and loss. It focuses on the changing role of technology including expressions of grief and loss in social media and public forums. Updated information is provided regarding hospice and palliative care as well as housing issues in aging. A completely new chapter examines grief and loss counseling with emerging adults, and updates regarding changes in the DSM-5 are included. Additional new features include chapter objectives, discussion questions, and updated resources, and an Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint slides are available for download. New to the Second Edition: New information on trauma and resilience Using mindfulness practices with grief and loss Updated theory and empirical findings The changing role of technology in grief Expressions of grief and loss in social media and public forums Transitions due to economic and health changes Changes in the DSM-5 New chapter on emerging adults (ages 18√ 25) New information on hospice, palliative care, and aging Housing issues in aging and disability New information on issues facing young and older U.S. veterans and families Updated resources Chapter objectives and discussion questions Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint slides Key Features: Uses a developmental framework for grief and loss Incorporates notions of loss beyond death, including unique maturational losses Integrates new grief theories with empirical findings and intervention techniques Utilizes neurobiological and biological information within a counseling text Focuses on nonpathologizing approaches to sadness, loss, and grief
Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
-
APA PsycINFO (Formerly PsychInfo) This link opens in a new window
From the American Psychological Association. Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 24 languages. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nursing and allied health journals, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937. Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and most effective treatment options.
-
Credo Academic Core This link opens in a new windowThousands of libraries around the world trust Credo Online Reference Service when helping students start their research, or demonstrating the research process during instruction. See what sets Credo apart from other research platforms. Over 3 million full-text entries alongside thousands of easily searchable images, audio files, and videos.
Includes vetted and notable content from over 100 publishers and the ability to seamlessly expand by adding titles from Essentials Collections or individual titles available for purchase. -
Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text offers a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works since 1997, along with selected full text works written prior to 1997.
-
E-Journals This link opens in a new window
EJS can help you quickly find the articles you need to get your research papers and other assignments done in record time. EJS puts your library�s e-journals acquired through EBSCO in a single place on the Web, so you don't have to jump to different Web sites to find the articles you need.
-
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a wide selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
-
Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new windowEBSCO Discovery Service offers you a single access point to searching a vast range of our library's resources. In addition to the library holdings you can search in thousands of journals and in all EBSCO databases.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides over five hundred scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry and many more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
-
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for hundreds of medical journals. Content Includes: Full-text for more than 2,400 journals Full-text coverage dating back to 1865 Ongoing full text and deep backfile coverage for many key journals Subjects Include: Biomedicine, Pre-Clinical Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Bioengineering, Health Policy Development, Life Science, and much more…
-
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) online provides test reviews and evaluative information on more than 3000 testing instruments. The MMY series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.
-
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) formerly Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new windowNursing & Allied Health Premium provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 1,200 titles, with over 1,050 titles in full-text, plus more than 15,700 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
-
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowPsychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to nearly 540 full-text journals.This database also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
-
Science Direct This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is home to almost one-quarter of the world's peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. Over 15 million researchers, health care professionals, teachers, students and information professionals around the globe rely on ScienceDirect as a trusted source of nearly 2,200 journals and more than 26,000 book titles.
-
SocINDEX This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
-
Violence and Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Violence & Abuse Abstracts contains more than 77,700 records, carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Child Maltreatment, Trauma and Violence & Abuse. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1995.
