LibGuides: Psychology: Welcome

What is Developmental Psychology?

Developmental Psychology: Research Starters

What is Personality Psychology?

Personality Psychology: Research Starters

Electronic Books

Abnormal and Clinical Psychology by Paul Bennett
ISBN: 9780335237463

Publication Date: 2011-03-01

"This book provided an invaluable orientation to the grounding theoretical principles of clinical health psychology, how this knowledge can be applied by psychologists in healthcare settings, particular assessment and intervention approaches and issues associated with working with patients in healthcare settings ... I would highly recommend this as a key text for clinical psychology trainees and postgraduates working or researching in medical settings across the lifespan, both as a general orientation tool and a resource to refer to with reference to specific presenting issues. Fleur-Michelle Coiffait, Doctoral student, University of Edinburgh, UK "The tone of this volume is well pitched; it is written in clear English yet without being over-simplified. New vocabulary is collated into 'key terms' boxes for easy reference at the end of the chapter - a useful device for the new student. Also proffered at chapter end are 'For Discussion' boxes, encouraging the reader to critically assess and compare the contents of the chapter, along with useful suggestions for further reading. With a good level of detail without swamping the reader, this volume is an excellent introduction to students of abnormal psychology." Hayley Burgess, Psychology Graduate Extensively updated, this popular textbook includes the latest research and therapeutic approaches, including third wave cognitive behavioural therapies, as well as developments in clinical practice. The book introduces and evaluates the conceptual models of mental health problems and their treatment, and provides valuable analyses of various disorders, such as schizophrenia and paedophilia. Each disorder is considered from a psychological, social and biological perspective and different intervention types are thoroughly investigated. The new edition also features NEW case formulations to illustrate discussion of clinical work NEW chapter on recent developments in cognitive behaviour therapy NEW Key Terms boxes at the end of chapters Updated Stop and Think boxes Further reading extended with web links Abnormal and Clinical Psychology 3rd edition is an indispensable guide for undergraduate students in psychology and health allied professions.
Adapting Educational and Psychological Tests for Cross-Cultural Assessment by Peter F. Merenda (Editor); Charles D. Spielberger (Editor); Ronald K. Hambleton (Editor)
ISBN: 1410611752

Publication Date: 2004-12-13

Adapting Educational and Psychological Tests for Cross-Cultural Assessment critically examines and advances new methods and practices for adapting tests for cross-cultural assessment and research. The International Test Commission (ITC) guidelines for test adaptation and conceptual and methodological issues in test adaptation are described in detail, and questions of ethics and concern for validity of test scores in cross-cultural contexts are carefully examined. Advances in test translation and adaptation methodology, including statistical identification of flawed test items, establishing equivalence of different language versions of a test, and methodologies for comparing tests in multiple languages, are reviewed and evaluated. The book also focuses on adapting ability, achievement, and personality tests for cross-cultural assessment in educational, industrial, and clinical settings. This book furthers the ITC's mission of stimulating research on timely topics associated with assessment. It provides an excellent resource for courses in psychometric methods, test construction, and educational and/or psychological assessment, testing, and measurement. Written by internationally known scholars in psychometric methods and cross-cultural psychology, the collection of chapters should also provide essential information for educators and psychologists involved in cross-cultural assessment, as well as students aspiring to such careers.
Addictions Counseling by Dianne Doyle Pita; Diane Doyle Pita
ISBN: 9780824522629

Publication Date: 2004-05-01

This wholly revised and updated edition of Addictions Counseling is widely read by professional counselors as well as ministers, teachers, and nurses. Topics include the counselor's role in recovery, treatment approaches, and sample treatment plans.
Applied Biological Psychology by Glen E. Getz
ISBN: 9780826109224

Publication Date: 2013-12-01

Written for graduate students and trainees in mental health, this is the only text to present neurobiology in the context of clinical issues rather than merely focusing on experimental approaches to biological psychology or structuring it along neurological systems. In clear, easily accessible language the text explains how the brain and nervous system are linked to mental disorders. It integrates information from many aspects of neurobiological research, including imaging, neuropsychology, and genetics in order to foster an in-depth understanding of the psychiatric presentation of disorders that mental health professionals encounter in their practices. To facilitate student learning and clarify the connection between neurobiological foundations and clinical presentation, the text includes case studies, cognitive data, imaging results, genetic testing results, and illustrations. It examines major psychological disorders from behavioral, emotional, biological, cognitive and neurophysiological perspectives as they relate to brain structure and the major systems. Special topic sections highlight ethical, research, and treatment concerns for mental health practitioners. Each chapter concludes with summations and review questions. Written for graduate level students in clinical, counseling, and school psychology programs, the text fulfills APA accreditation requirements for coursework in the biological bases of behavior. While the text's primary aim is to help students understand neurobiological information as an important component of a therapeutic framework, it also concisely addresses micro and macro anatomy as relates to neurobiology. Also included are such supplementary teaching materials as test questions and PowerPoint slides of illustrations. Key Features: Focuses on the connection between neurobiology and clinical presentation Presents complex information clearly and concisely Highlights special topics in neurobiology ethics, research, and treatment Integrates information from imaging, neuropsychology, and genetics testing Prepares graduate students in clinical, counseling, and school psychology for professional practice
The Emerald Review of Industrial and Organizational Psychology by Robert L. Dipboye
ISBN: 9781787437869

Publication Date: 2018-09-07

This book provides an in depth survey of the field of Industrial and Organizational Psychology (I/O), a specialized field within the larger discipline of psychology also called Work and Organizational Psychology, Occupational Psychology, and Organizational Psychology. I/O is the scientific study of how individuals and groups behave in the performance of work activities and in the context of organizations. It is also the application of this research to improving the effectiveness and the well-being of people and the organizations in which they work. It is part science, contributing to the general knowledge base of psychology, and part application, using that knowledge to solve real-world problems.
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology by Robert C. Eklund (Editor); Gershon Tenenbaum (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452203836

Publication Date: 2014-01-21

How do athletes overcome fears, slumps, mental blocks, or injuries? How do they deal with stress and anxiety, be it from competitors, teammates, audiences, parents, coaches, or themselves? What psychological techniques prove effective in mental training for peak performance, maintaining concentration, motivation, and competitive drive? How can an athlete enhance his or her commitment to a training regimen, or how might the average person better adhere to a program of fitness and exercise? Readers will find answers to these questions and more in the Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology. Features & Benefits: Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings. From personal factors to situational factors influencing performance to specific psychological techniques for enhancing performance, this work provides comprehensive coverage of the field via approximately 350 to 400 signed entries. Entries conclude with cross-references and suggestions for further readings to guide students further in their research journey. Available in print and online, this monumental work is edited by two leading figures in the field with a distinguished international Editorial Advisory Board to select and assign entries, ensuring authoritative content readers can trust. Key Themes: Career Transition Certification, Credentialing, and Roles of Sport and Exercise Psychologists Disability Emotion Exercise Health Group Dynamics History and Foundation Leadership Morality, Aggression, and Ethics in Sport Motivation Motor Control Perception and Cognition in Sport Personality and Psychological Characteristics in Sport Psychobiology Psychological Skills/Interventions Psychosociocultural Self-Concept/Self-Perceptions, and Identity Youth Sport
Learning to Use Statistical Tests in Psychology by Lord Greene; Judith Greene; Manuela D'Oliveira
ISBN: 9780335216802

Publication Date: 2005-12-01

Praise for the first edition: "An excellent textbook which is well planned, well written, and pitched at the correct level for psychology students. I would not hesitate to recommend Greene and d'Oliveira to all psychology students looking for an introductory text on statistical methodology." Bulletin of the British Psychological Society Learning to Use Statistical Tests in Psychology third edition has been updated throughout. It continues to be a key text in helping students to understand and conduct statistical tests in psychology without panic! It takes students from the most basic elements of statistics teaching them: How psychologists plan experiments and statistical tests Which considerations must be made when planning experiments How to analyze and comprehend test results Like the previous editions, this book provides students with a step-by-step guide to the simplest non-parametric tests through to more complex analysis of variance designs. There are clear summaries in progress boxes and questions for the student to answer in order to be sure that they have understood what they have read. The new edition is divided into four discrete sections and within this structure each test covered is illustrated through a chapter of its own. The sections cover: The principles of psychological research and psychological statistics Statistical tests for experiments with two or three conditions Statistical tests based on ANOVA (Analysis of Variance) conditions as well as tests for multiple comparisons between individual conditions Statistical tests to analyze relationships between variables Presented in a student-friendly textbook format, Learning to Use Psychological Tests in Psychology enables readers to select and use the most appropriate statistical tests to evaluate the significance of data obtained from psychological experiments. An errata sheet detailing the Decision Chart which is referred to can be downloaded by clicking here
Teaching to Strengths by Debbie Zacarian; Lourdes Alvarez-Ortiz; Judie Haynes
ISBN: 9781416624608

Publication Date: 2017-09-20

Half the students in U.S. schools are experiencing or have experienced trauma, violence, or chronic stress. Much has been written about these students from a therapeutic perspective, especially regarding how to provide them with adequate counseling supports and services. Conversely, little has been written about teaching this population and doing so from a strengths-based perspective.Using real-world examples as well as research-based principles, this book shows how toIdentify inherent assets that students bring to the classroom.Connect to students' experiences through instructional planning and delivery.Foster students' strengths through the use of predictable routines and structured paired and small-group learning experiences.Develop family and community partnerships.Experts Debbie Zacarian, Lourdes Alvarez-Ortiz, and Judie Haynes outline a comprehensive, collaborative approach to teaching that focuses on students' strengths and resiliency. Teaching to Strengths encourages educators to embrace teaching and schoolwide practices that support and enhance the academic and socio-emotional development of students living with trauma, violence, and chronic stress.

Databases

Abstracts in Social Gerontology

This bibliographic database makes essential age-related content available to gerontology researchers. Those interested in geriatrics will benefit from this resource, which includes records covering areas in geriatric studies.
Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
APA PsycINFO (Formerly PsychInfo)

From the American Psychological Association. Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 24 languages. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,300 journals internationally. This database contains more than 13.2 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Provides full text for nursing and allied health journals, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937. Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and most effective treatment options.
Credo Academic Core
Thousands of libraries around the world trust Credo Online Reference Service when helping students start their research, or demonstrating the research process during instruction. See what sets Credo apart from other research platforms. Over 3 million full-text entries alongside thousands of easily searchable images, audio files, and videos.
Includes vetted and notable content from over 100 publishers and the ability to seamlessly expand by adding titles from Essentials Collections or individual titles available for purchase.
Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text offers a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works since 1997, along with selected full text works written prior to 1997.
E-Journals

EJS can help you quickly find the articles you need to get your research papers and other assignments done in record time. EJS puts your library�s e-journals acquired through EBSCO in a single place on the Web, so you don't have to jump to different Web sites to find the articles you need.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

This growing subscription package contains a wide selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
Ebsco Discovery Service
EBSCO Discovery Service offers you a single access point to searching a vast range of our library's resources. In addition to the library holdings you can search in thousands of journals and in all EBSCO databases.
Gale Virtual Reference Center Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Delivers more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

This resource provides over five hundred scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry and many more.
Human Resources Abstracts

Human Resources Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains records carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journal of Human Resources, Personnel Psychology, and Work & Occupations.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) online provides test reviews and evaluative information on more than 3000 testing instruments. The MMY series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to nearly 540 full-text journals.This database also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Science Direct
ScienceDirect is home to almost one-quarter of the world's peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. Over 15 million researchers, health care professionals, teachers, students and information professionals around the globe rely on ScienceDirect as a trusted source of nearly 2,200 journals and more than 26,000 book titles.
SocINDEX
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Violence and Abuse Abstracts
This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Violence & Abuse Abstracts contains more than 77,700 records, carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Child Maltreatment, Trauma and Violence & Abuse. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1995.