WELCOME to John B. Cade Library online THERAPEUTIC RECREATION AND LEISURE STUDIES resources,
These books, journals, and databases are available to you ONLINE in FREE FULL TEXT on or off campus.
To use a database, electronic journal, or electronic book, click on its title. When you are asked for a userid and PIN, type in your Banner identification number and your PIN. If you haven't yet chosen a PIN, the beginner PIN is CHANGEME, typed in all capital letters.
If you experience difficulty while logging in, go to the Library website opening screen by doing a Google search on John B. Cade Library or www.lib.subr.edu . Below Welcome to John B. Cade Library, click on Click Here to Report Database/Login Issues. Fill out the Report Database Issues/Login Issues Form. Click SUBMIT. A librarian will resolve your problem.
The next line is Click Here to Access Library Remote Services. This is a list of our services, with links to each.
If you want assistance in choosing books or articles, you can contact Charlotte Henderson, Library Liaison for Therapeutic Recreation and Leisure Studies, at 771-0071, or charlotte_henderson@subr.edu.
If you want to make suggestions about the content of this guide, you can contact me by clicking the EMAIL ME button below the photo.
Betty Singh
What is Recreational Therapy?
Electronic Books
-
-
Activities for Adults with Learning Disabilities
by
ISBN: 9781843109754Publication Date: 2009-07-15This valuable resource for people working with adults with learning disabilities provides over 60 sessions of fun and engaging activities that aim to entertain and stimulate the minds of people with learning disabilities. The sessions are divided into different types of activity including cookery, arts and crafts, drama and dance, and outside events. A comprehensive collection of varied and enjoyable activities, this practical book also contains useful tips to ensure that sessions run smoothly. All the activities are tried and tested by experienced practitioners and include a key advising the level of help required, wheelchair user suitability and any related health and safety issues involved. Ideal for use in social clubs or residential homes, this is an essential resource for professionals and volunteers working with adults with learning disabilities. -
The Encyclopedia of Sports and Recreation for People with Visual Impairments
by
ISBN: 9781623960407Publication Date: 2012-12-01Not long ago, most blind and visually impaired people grew up without ever playing sports; they sat on the sidelines, and kept score during gym-protected rather than included. In the 1980s, few people had ever heard of the Paralympic Games or accessible recreation. Today, promising blind athletes can receive residency at the US Olympic Training Center; runners compete for prize money and national championships, and most ski resorts offer adaptive programs throughout the year where blind people can ski, cycle, and kayak-often for free. The Paralympic movement, the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, and ever-increasing expectation for inclusion among the disabled have inspired an explosion of accessible sports, fitness, and recreation programs that accommodate the blind. The Encyclopedia of Sports & Recreation for People with Visual Impairments is the first consumer- focused, action-oriented guide to this new world of accessible activity, profiling the people, programs, and products that are helping move blind and visually impaired people from the sidelines into the game. This groundbreaking guide profiles every accessible blind sport and recreation activity with entries that outline how athletes (both novice and elite) got involved in the sport and how participation has shaped their life. The book also profiles major blind sports organizations and includes chapter and resource listings on camps and accessible recreation providers. Through this book, blind people will be inspired to embrace sports as the rest of society does-as a vital component of personal expression and human interaction that opens paths to adventure, confidence, and lifelong health and fitness. -
An Introduction to Leisure Studies
by
ISBN: 9781412918749Publication Date: 2014-12-01"There are textbooks galore, but there aren't many crafted as intelligently as this one. This book will change the way that students understand leisure. It will give them an easier entry to that place where difficult ideas fuse into something intelligible, where real understanding sits and the educated imagination is stirred." - Tony Blackshaw, Sheffiled Hallam University Peter Bramham and Stephen Wagg provide a foundation for those studying within the broad field of leisure studies. The book gives students an accessible and engaging introduction to leisure studies and leisure research, encouraging students to engage in reflexive analysis of their common sense understandings of everyday life and enabling them to develop an understanding of contemporary leisure studies and changing leisure practices. -
Recreational Services for Older Adults
by
ISBN: 9780838639443Publication Date: 2002-11-01The first three chapters of this book contain gerontological information concerning the aging process, demographics, changes in the style of living and agin persons, and vulnerabilities encountered. This volume explicates fundamental beliefs in the need for active engagement - socially, physically, cognitively, and emotionally. -
Therapeutic Recreation
by
ISBN: 9781571670328Publication Date: 1999-06-01Offering a reference source for clinicians, and a learning resource for students, this text combines information from behavioural sciences, psychiatry, education, nursing and counselling.
Try These Search Terms
Leisure studies
Recreational therapy
Therapeutic recreation
Databases
-
Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database makes essential age-related content available to gerontology researchers. Those interested in geriatrics will benefit from this resource, which includes records covering areas in geriatric studies.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nursing and allied health journals, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937. Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and most effective treatment options.
-
Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text offers a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works since 1997, along with selected full text works written prior to 1997.
-
E-Journals This link opens in a new window
EJS can help you quickly find the articles you need to get your research papers and other assignments done in record time. EJS puts your library�s e-journals acquired through EBSCO in a single place on the Web, so you don't have to jump to different Web sites to find the articles you need.
-
Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new windowEBSCO Discovery Service offers you a single access point to searching a vast range of our library's resources. In addition to the library holdings you can search in thousands of journals and in all EBSCO databases.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. This resource contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
-
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
HaPI contains a wide range of records that provide comprehensive, accurate information about a variety of measurement instruments: Checklists, Coding Schemes, Indexes, Interview schedules, projective techniques, questionnaires, rating scales, surveys, test, vignettes/scenarios.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides over five hundred scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry and many more.
-
Hospitality & Tourism Index This link opens in a new window
Hospitality & Tourism Index contains: More than 1 million records, 860 publications, Coverage dating back to 1930, Subjects Include: Culinary Arts, Demographics & Statistics, Development & Investment, Food & Beverage Management, and much more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
-
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for hundreds of medical journals. Content Includes: Full-text for more than 2,400 journals Full-text coverage dating back to 1865 Ongoing full text and deep backfile coverage for many key journals Subjects Include: Biomedicine, Pre-Clinical Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Bioengineering, Health Policy Development, Life Science, and much more…
-
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) formerly Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new windowNursing & Allied Health Premium provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 1,200 titles, with over 1,050 titles in full-text, plus more than 15,700 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
-
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowPsychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to nearly 540 full-text journals.This database also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
-
SocINDEX This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
